Kerry Reg Car Spotted in Monaghan

Started by REDCOL, September 03, 2010, 08:00:35 PM

Quote from: Kerry Mike on September 05, 2010, 05:29:42 PM
QuoteTime for Micko to go to the museum................this is a joke......

Lets see you giving any level of commitment to the GAA when you are 70+ never mind what Micko has been doing for 50 odd years.

and all for the love of the game too  ::)

Lets see you giving any level of commitment to the GAA when you are 70+ never mind what Micko has been doing for 50 odd years.

I will do it to Im 80 for the same readdies he has coined over the years.
This man sickens my happiness a total mercenary.

Actually, scratch that I will still be making a contribution when I am older (maybe not 80) for my club because thats what people do and not look a cent in return.

Will be a sad boring world when you bucks get your version of purity. Giving out about a man that had raised the profile of our games wherever he goes, couldn't pay the man enough for what he has contributed.
I've no idea what he gets paid, more than entitled to expenses anyways.

MCMLX

Quote from: pintsofguinness on September 05, 2010, 05:36:53 PM

I dont think there are too many who have put as much into the game as Micko.

As player
Kerry
Munster Senior Football Championship:
Winner (12): 1958, 1959, 1960, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964 (sub), 1965, 1968, 1969, 1970, 1972
Runner-up (4): 1956, 1971, 1973, 1974

Four All-Ireland Senior Football Championships
Eight National Football League Championships
Twelve Munster Senior Football Championships
One Railway Cup
Three Kerry Senior Football Championship finals with Waterville as player-coach

As manager
Eight All-Ireland Senior Football Championship titles
Three All-Ireland Under-21 Football Championship titles
Six Railway Cup titles
Two Leinster Senior Football Championship titles with Kildare
One Leinster Senior Football Championship title with Laois
One Leinster U21 Football Championship titles with Kildare

Put as much into the game or who has had more sucess?

The GAA is full of people who have put their whole lives in to it and without the rewards (financial or otherwise) that Micko has got. 

MCMLX

Quote from: pintsofguinness on September 06, 2010, 01:45:54 PM

The GAA is full of people who have put their whole lives in to it and without the rewards (financial or otherwise) that Micko has got.

He has put more in than you or I. Typical Irish begrudgery. He is getting a few quid out of it, its not the end of the world and anyone employing him knows what they are getting. The fact that a 73 year old is still in big demand tells you all you need to know.

Quote from: MCMLX on September 06, 2010, 12:05:27 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on September 05, 2010, 05:36:53 PM

I dont think there are too many who have put as much into the game as Micko.

As player
Kerry
Munster Senior Football Championship:
Winner (12): 1958, 1959, 1960, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964 (sub), 1965, 1968, 1969, 1970, 1972
Runner-up (4): 1956, 1971, 1973, 1974

Four All-Ireland Senior Football Championships
Eight National Football League Championships
Twelve Munster Senior Football Championships
One Railway Cup

As manager
Eight All-Ireland Senior Football Championship titles
Three All-Ireland Under-21 Football Championship titles
Six Railway Cup titles
Two Leinster Senior Football Championship titles with Kildare
One Leinster Senior Football Championship title with Laois
One Leinster U21 Football Championship titles with Kildare

Thats is some of what he has gotten out of the game

Logan

Fair play to him I say

Plenty of begrudgers on here.

As for Monaghan, it's a terrible step backwards if they go for Micko.

I think it's sad that so many people are willing to run down a true legend of football like Dwyer. To suggest that he's a freeloading mercenary is pure nonsense and downright insulting. You will rarely come across a more sincere and humble individual in the GAA.

The man was minted long before he came to Kildare in 1990. His managerial record has no equal and I doubt it will ever be bettered.

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on September 06, 2010, 03:48:02 PM
I think it's sad that so many people are willing to run down a true legend of football like Dwyer. To suggest that he's a freeloading mercenary is pure nonsense and downright insulting. You will rarely come across a more sincere and humble individual in the GAA.

The man was minted long before he came to Kildare in 1990. His managerial record has no equal and I doubt it will ever be bettered.
Well said.

del_carroll

Here Here

Logan

I have nothing but good thoughts about the man, however, a good sized belly is a prerequisite to manage in Monaghan.

Quote from: MCMLX on September 06, 2010, 02:17:47 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on September 06, 2010, 01:45:54 PM

He has put more in than you or I. Typical Irish begrudgery. He is getting a few quid out of it, its not the end of the world and anyone employing him knows what they are getting. The fact that a 73 year old is still in big demand tells you all you need to know.
He got a lot more out of it than you or me too. 

Well said