Battle of the Boyne - Meath Vs Louth - Leinster Final 11/7/2010

Started by thejuice, June 29, 2010, 06:21:56 PM

Quote from: hardstation on July 22, 2010, 12:12:27 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 22, 2010, 12:09:22 AM
What happened to page 100 & 101, somehow I have ended up as the first poster on page 100.
I can only assume that some poster has deleted previous posts in an attempt to make himself the first poster on page 100.

Was it you?

No, but they must have deleted a rake to do it and they did a crap job. I though someone said something dodgy and I missed it.

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 22, 2010, 12:09:22 AM
What happened to page 100 & 101, somehow I have ended up as the first poster on page 100.

Now my post look ironic, who is fcking with the thread.

Hoi! Don't you start looking at me, mister!
He did it; not me. Right?

Quote from: Hardy on July 21, 2010, 02:56:39 PM
Lar, I'm not being facetious or disparaging, but stating a fact when I say I can't distil your substantive point from your entertaining and thoughtful contributions. Is your case simply that the Meath players are going to get a lot of stick for some time to come? If so, I agree with you. But so what? As I said, it wouldn't be the first time and I honestly think it will, or at least could be a positive motivating factor in giving a team that's been knocking unconvincingly on the door for a while the impetus to kick the fuckin thing down. And it will galvanise the supporters as well. Again, as I said, we're perverse enough to enjoy our victories ten times more when we know they annoy so many people.

Wait'll you hear the roar that greets the team when they run out for the QF.

In turn, I have found your contributions to be well worth a read at any time. I accept what you say about mine as true praise from the master. No sarcasm intended here or elsewhere, btw.
However, as all things must come to an end or so 'tis said, I feel our present discussion has run its course and it may be best to await future developments on the field of play—or anywhere else for that matter.
Having said that, I've no problem with keeping her lit if you have anything to discuss, debate or debunk.
Like the feast of Easter or the goals in front of a Mayo forward, my substantive point(s) have moved from post to post as the subject matter changed. I think our present discussion began when I posted my reaction to Colm O'Rourke's column on Sunday last. I rate him highly as an analyst and commentator but in this instance he was going a hypothesis or six too far when he posed a sequence of loaded questions.
If it happened the other way around, would there have been any call for a replay? If it happened against Dublin in Croke Park, would there be a replay?
I really don't want to rehash old arguments as I've quoted this pair of them before but my substantive point is stressed in my reaction to them and the other related ones.
"Bullshit" was, and still is, my reaction. I guess I was thinking of the old saying, "Nearly never bulled a cow."
If Colm wanted a 'no' answer from me, he'd need first to come up with some hard evidence. My substantive point then and now is that I see no evidence of an anti-Meath campaign anywhere; either in the media in general or from the public at large.
I never said at any time that Meath deserve a bashing but it seems that plenty of others feel they do. Again, and it's pure conjecture of course, I feel your shower have gone out of their way to draw controversy down on themselves at every opportunity but I'd never state that as a fact.
I don't accept that all the media and general public backlash can be put down to a prevailing anti-Meath sentiment. Maybe a lot of commentators are reacting to what they've seen and heard and reacting accordingly.
My concern for Joe Sheridan's welfare is genuine alright but it is not my main concern. He's a consenting adult and the same goes for all others on the Meath side of the barricade. AZO made a good point in one of his posts that caught my eye but that all others here seem to have missed:
In the midst of the race to 100, nobody answered my question re. Joe Sheridan. Has he given an interview since the one under the Hogan Stand? If not, he's getting an awful caning for something said in the heat of the moment nearly 2 weeks ago.

Joe is an honest victim of circumstance and I'd feel the same if he played for any other county in the land. But he did 'score' that goal and he did make that statement and he has to accept whatever consequences may follow. That's up to him.
I sincerely wish him well.
PS. If we ever meet at the Last Chance(r) Saloon, I'll opt for feather dusters, if you don't mind. I wouldn't stand a chance if it came to head butting and that's for sure.

Mano

Any craic

Louth DID win a Leinster title that fateful weekend... towards the end here Voureen Quigley explains...  http://vimeo.com/13733657//

3 to face criminal charges. They can have few complaints.

From www.bbc.co.uk/ni

Fans facing charges after Leinster final incidents

The Irish police has completed its investigation into the scenes that marred last year's Leinster football final between Meath and Louth.

Tyrone referee Martin Sludden was attacked by a number of Louth fans after he awarded Meath a controversial late goal which ensured their victory.

The Irish DPP is understood to have recommended that up to three people should face charges.

Louth were making their first Leinster appearance in 50 years.

Sludden had awarded Meath a goal deep into injury-time which gave the Royal County a 1-12 to 1-10 victory.

TV replays showed that the score should have been disallowed as Meath's Joe Sheridan threw the ball over the line.

Sludden was struck at least three times by different Louth fans as he attempted to make his way off the field.

One Garda attempted to escort Sludden off the field but the protection proved woefully inadequate.

Louth players and fans were infuriated by Sludden's decision, which came after the referee consulted with his umpires.

For the week that is in it can we leave sleeping dogs lie? It is at times like this that people should put things into perspective! A far more grievous injustice was carried out on a Tyrone woman this week, that makes any actions taken on the 11th July last year pale in comparison.

Lock this thread or just don't post on it until that poor woman is laid to rest and if you all want to bring out your vitriol after that then do so! This is not a week for GAA folk to be arguing!

Are you serious?

There is no doubting that Micheala McAreavey's death was a terrible tragedy, indeed probably one of the darkest days in the GAA's history but are you really suggesting that we shouldn't be allowed to discuss anything else?

Quote from: Franko on January 12, 2011, 02:24:10 PM
Are you serious?

There is no doubting that Micheala McAreavey's death was a terrible tragedy, indeed probably one of the darkest days in the GAA's history but are you really suggesting that we shouldn't be allowed to discuss anything else?

No I am not.

Just something as contentious and provocative as this! This thread ran on for 100 for a reason. You already have unsavoury comments posted. Maybe its that I just don't have the heart to argue with Meath men at the moment, or make comments on the actions of the referree. I've said my piece I'll leave it at that, say what you want!

Ah that's oul nonsense LE. I've no interest in this thread at this stage but lads should be able to discuss all things GAA on this forum without fear of reprimand

All of a Sludden

These idiots deserve to be charged,  but the biggest culprit gets away scot free.
I'm gonna show you as gently as I can how much you don't know.

mattockranger

lets be realistic here.....and show some common sense

what happened to the ref was brought upon himself.....and what he received was not warranted but you'd see far worse on a saturday night about the town

to charge them for a bump and a grind is reidiculous
will to win is important the will to prepare to win is vital

Quote from: mattockranger on January 12, 2011, 06:57:05 PM

lets be realistic here.....and show some common sense

what happened to the ref was brought upon himself.....and what he received was not warranted but you'd see far worse on a saturday night about the town

to charge them for a bump and a grind is reidiculous
And that makes it ok? It was thuggish behaviour and the message has to be sent out - it should not be tolerated.

mattockranger

Yes I firmly believe this is the case

If you were charged for it out on the town you'd cry false imprisonment....

there wasn't one strike enforced on the man....it was a highly emotional charged moment and they still had the sense not to strike him that tells you something

common sense needs to be applied

will to win is important the will to prepare to win is vital

Quote from: mattockranger on January 12, 2011, 07:10:17 PM

Yes I firmly believe this is the case

If you were charged for it out on the town you'd cry false imprisonment....

there wasn't one strike enforced on the man....it was a highly emotional charged moment and they still had the sense not to strike him that tells you something

common sense needs to be applied

Its a common assault, rightly punishable by law.

Are they violent merciless thugs who pose a real risk to society? Probably not.

Is it fair that if Martin Sludden wishes to press charges then they should be held accountable for their deplorable actions on the day in question? Absolutely