Battle of the Boyne - Meath Vs Louth - Leinster Final 11/7/2010

Started by thejuice, June 29, 2010, 06:21:56 PM

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on July 11, 2010, 03:48:41 PM
53 YRS OF HURT is what caused those grown men to go mental. I certainly dont blame them, them umpires and sludden should be banned from GAA, cheating shower of c*nts. They all saw it especially the 2 umpires.

so your condoning a crowd of drunken pr!cks attacking a referee after a game? you're as bad as them

the most disgraceful decision ever in GAA match, i remember frankie Dolan once telling me the umpires use to drink loads before the game & those guys had to be drunk not to see that today

Quote from: Mac Eoghain on July 11, 2010, 03:44:46 PM
is what Joe Sheridan did not the same as what Maradona did or Thierry Henry - could he not have stood up and said - actually I just carried that ball over the line it was no score?
I doubt you'd find 3 players in the whole of intercounty GAA who'd tell the ref that it was no goal. In fact, I doubt you'd find one.

We don't have an honour system in GAA, in common with most field sports, so you can't blame the Meath lads.

But I doubt there has ever been such a clearcut robbery in a final in GAA history. Bad decisions happen all the time, but not to have a chance to rectify it, and given how long Louth have had to wait, well its a right hollow "victory" for Meath. I don't see how this can be replayed. What the GAA should do is publicly announce that those umpires will never officiate at intercounty level again. And the ref wasnt blameless either. He should have ensured he understood exactly what happened, rather than just accept the umpire saying it was a goal. 

Quote from: stibhan on July 11, 2010, 03:49:13 PM
Quote from: Mac Eoghain on July 11, 2010, 03:48:00 PM
So Sheridan didnt cheat?

Did the lad who fielded the ball in the square beforehand cheat?

Players throw the ball all the time, its just a free against them, where was the refs that give a jillion frees in the NFL for not handpassing the ball correctly (WHEN THE PASS WAS PERFECT) today.

Schkite

Those Louth fans really are a disgrace - not one of them could land a punch or shoulder on the ref!

Cosmo Kramer

I'd say those idiot Louth fans will have done damage to their chances of getting a replay. Their best hope is Meath offering them one. Wouldn't have said that would be a Meath thing to do - they're a win at all costs type of county.

Interesting pictures of O'Brien on the phone on the pitch as the trophy was being presented, he will have been told what had happened and will have feared that the presentation he was watching would be meaningless. Did we see any pictures of Sheridan and was he celebrating after the game? Difficult to know whether to blame him or not. Shocking from the umpire.

A very bad day all round, don't think either side will come out of this with much credit - maybe a replay might save the day in PR terms...
A few Mayo GAA videos if anyone is interested - www.youtube.com/CosmoKramer100

Quote from: Archie Mitchell on July 11, 2010, 03:50:31 PM
Can't blame Sludden that much, its the umpires who should be to blame.

Did he carry it over the line of throw in over the line? Is carrying the ball over the line illegal? What's the difference in carrying it over the goal line (either by attacking or defending player) and carrying it over the endline or sideline?

Yes it is illegal. The difference  is over the goal line is a free out, over the end line is a goal kick and over the sideline is a sideline ball.

Lady GAA GAA

THere's just no f**king words.  Our sport made a joke of AGAIN! a complete embarrassment. 

Ban the ref and umpires from ever officiating again, complete joke. 
My question is if the umpires thought it was a goal why didn't they raise the green flag? They stood with their hands behind their backs and I was sure they weren't going to give it, yon other bollocks ran in to speak to them and the goal was given?

wtf?

I'd be utterly ashamed of that title if I was a meath man. 

tyroneboi

Sure Brian White had enough chances of his own to win it for Louth before the goal - he just didnt have the balls to drag them over the line I'm afraid.

And sure aye Joe Sheridan should have owned up alright  ::) ::) ::)

what a terrible finish to a good game, terrible refering decisions, terrible umpireing secision and thuggery form the fans who attacked the ref. It also loked as if one of the stewards was out cold.

Armaghgeddon

The whistle should have been blew long before the goal. 3 minutes of added on time and there was almost 4.

Turlough O Carolan

Would imagine when Meath see that, they will offer a replay, the GAA will agree, and that's how this will play out.

In fairness, ref gave Louth a lot up until that terrible decision at the end. But Louth were by a long shot the best team. Some of their supporters let them down. Right rough looking gurriers, too. It didn't look like their first time throwing a punch. The booing of free kick takers has crept into the game in a big way this year. Hope we don't see it in McHale next week.

Quote from: muppet on July 11, 2010, 03:51:06 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 11, 2010, 03:47:24 PM
You could see Sheridan throw it in real-time. The ref should have seen it. Full stop. The umpires are even worse. They are standing right in line beside it. They are either blind or don't know the rules.

It was so obviously a throw it is unbelievable. The ball left his hands and never changed direction. It was also the 4th minute of the 3 minutes injury time. Carney even pointed out that it was a square ball as well. I'm not surprised Louth fans feel hard done by.

Muppet, you're getting dangerously close to condoning the scenes after the match. Of course Louth were robbed, and if right was right Meath would offer Louth a replay. *But* I will listen to no watery justifications for yobs to hit a ref. If we accept that as a rational action, then the GAA is truly fucked. If that happened in Dalymount Park, we'd all be going on about the Ultras or whatever.

bridgegael

were was the escort for the ref after the match??  why did one gardai do nothing when the ref was getting attacked??

louth were robbed big time! 
"2009 Gaaboard Cheltenham fantasy league winner"