USFC Final 2010, Clones, Sunday 18th July: Tír Eoghain vs Muineachán

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, June 20, 2010, 05:15:16 PM

Banty's Monaghan have always taken something from Armagh's style of play and Grimley's arrival means that there is a lot of experience from a period when Tyrone found it harder to beat Armagh than Kerry. Tyrone may beat Monaghan, but I don't think they will have it easy. 
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Have been busy today so only reading through the thread now
I'm amazed myself at the overwhelming positive attitude of my fellow county men & women.

I may have said a few things tongue in cheek the other evening but I meant most of it
Monaghan like Tyrone struggled in the league but difference was we were experimenting heavily with our large panel and have  no real interest in the league any more

We were upset at getting nailed by Cork last summer who didnt have the b&lls to go and finish the job off.
Likewise I sense Monaghan will have this fear also that they will pay us too much respect and not have a clue who to double mark or where to build their defensive wall. How will they cope when we get a man sent off and the pressure of who becomes the spare man.

Will they double team up on Justy or Joe in case they push forward for scores or just play 2 keepers?

In fairness Tomboy Freeman & yer man at 11who's name escapes me right now are good players & will no doubt score if given good supply. Outside those two are ye depending on yer old Dick to get ye 5 points from play from outside the 40?
I'd say Hub just loves playing with against Dick.

Will ye be wearing Blue this time or do ye fancy another wee fine?

Quote from: Redhand Santa on June 29, 2010, 11:29:38 PM
It is a home draw for Monaghan and they will find it easier to get motivated than Tyrone which will both work in their favour. That's why I'd give them a slight chance.
Motivated? What are you on?  if there are doubts about Tyrone getting motivated for an Ulster final, then they're already dead.

QuoteNot sure why Paddy Power has the betting so close though, I'd say there's a few Tyrone posters here who will be out to make a few pound.
You would think that at 5-4 on Tyrone with PP, that Tyronies would be pouring thousands on them wouldn't you?  ;D
Place a Eur 100 bet and you are certain to win Eur80

But the reality is, the blind bluster here is about a Tyrone dream team, a team that might materialise in Clones and not about what we have seen so far, a good Tyrone team who will be defending their Ulster title. And maybe Armagh are in a better shape than Down. 

Quote from: Main Street on June 29, 2010, 06:24:28 PM
Lynchbhoy, nobody here has mentioned that beating Derry had even happened, never mind an event of any significance,
not even beating Tyrone (sure who didn't beat them?)  in the league has any significance.

We haven't gone through the gears yet never mind revved high enough to tickle  the turbo charge into action, been stuck in cruise controlt in all the test runs  ;D
But, if not your vote, I'm sure we at least have your good will.

Actually in the league two wee teams called Cork and Kerry didn't manage to beat Tyrone, but who cares about the league anyway, not much room in the trophy cabinet at this stage for an old NFL cup. 

On the match, its probably a bit early to be naming teams, hopefully no Tyrone players pick up injuries with the clubs in the run up to the Final.  Its good to see Monaghan into the final again, its good when you see the lesser teams like themselves and Fermanagh getting a bit of exposure and even better to see their fans getting a wee day out (although it didnt last long in 2007 when Philly Jordan set the tone with the early goal).  I just don't know what to expect from Monaghan, as in reality they have beaten a poor Armagh team and a terrible Fermanagh side and seem to think they are world beaters all of a sudden.  The way the revered Banty operates smacks of desperation at times, what with sticking full backs in at full forward in 2007 and sticking defenders in goals in 2010, are Monaghan that stuck for players?  Maybe Rory Woods can talk his uncle into lining out for the final.

GrandMasterFlash

Quote from: sandwiches_in_the_boot on June 30, 2010, 12:01:47 AM
Let's stop being silly and be serious for a minute...

Who will Monaghan want to avoid in the qualifiers?

Tyrone, when Tyrone are on their way back from a few trips down the country in the qualifiers!  :P

Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on June 30, 2010, 09:14:23 AM
Quote from: sandwiches_in_the_boot on June 30, 2010, 12:01:47 AM
Let's stop being silly and be serious for a minute...

Who will Monaghan want to avoid in the qualifiers?

Tyrone, when Tyrone are on their way back from a few trips down the country in the qualifiers!  :P

That only says that you want to avoid Tyrone.

Lynchbhoy, nobody here has mentioned that beating Derry had even happened, never mind an event of any significance,
not even beating Tyrone (sure who didn't beat them?)  in the league has any significance.

We haven't gone through the gears yet never mind revved high enough to tickle  the turbo charge into action, been stuck in cruise controlt in all the test runs  ;D
will have all the good will I can muster, but it generally doesnt do Derry much good - so dont think that Monaghan will do much from it !!

I received a €100 paddy power bet for a pressie last weekend, will prob stick it on tyrone, will nearly double my money , not bad for a 'safe bet' !!

OverThePostsAWide

What''s the craic with Hughes/Duffy? Is Duffy still injured or is he really that bad under the high ball?

Hughes was a stop-gap. He plays goal like a full back and that will cost Monaghan in the long run. He wasn't at fault for the two Fermanagh goals but he didn't even make a shape at them which doesn't bode well for the more saveable shots to come. If Hughes had been in goal for Tyrone against Down would they have won?

Sloppy goals notwithstanding, Monaghan by 4  ;)

Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 30, 2010, 09:29:31 AM

will have all the good will I can muster, but it generally doesnt do Derry much good - so dont think that Monaghan will do much from it !!

I received a €100 paddy power bet for a pressie last weekend, will prob stick it on tyrone, will nearly double my money , not bad for a 'safe bet' !!

At least you are braver than these Tyrone lads - or more foolish  ;D

On Betfair, there hasn't been a bet laid on Tyrone in ages.
I suspect that the bluster here is just the rattling of empty pockets. 

sandwiches_in_the_boot

Quote from: Main Street on June 30, 2010, 10:16:14 AM

Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 30, 2010, 09:29:31 AM

At least you are braver than these Tyrone lads - or more foolish  ;D

On Betfair, there hasn't been a bet laid on Tyrone in ages.
I suspect that the bluster here is just the rattling of empty pockets.

"Oh the credit crunch is killing me..."

Plenty of empty pockets around Tyrone indeed, but we're all saving the diesel money for the trips to Croker. Diesel money is about the only thing Monaghan will get off Tyrone this summer.  :P
"A cynic is a man who, when he smells flowers, looks around for a coffin."
H. L. Mencken

dropped short

Reports are Ryan McMenamin has missed a couple of training sessions as of late.

talktothehand

Quote from: dropped short on June 30, 2010, 10:42:05 AM

he's been locked in a cage and mickey harte has been poking him with a stick. he's getting released on 18th july in clones!!

Quote from: dropped short on June 30, 2010, 10:42:05 AM

It's true and he's not the only one. In fact nobody is training for this one they just meet and play pool and stuff.

The losing mentality is never far away.
The excuses are already being set in advance, 'we didn't take Monaghan serious enough' 'we thought we would up the schedule after Clones' 'we thought there was no point in peaking too early for the likes of the Monaghan plodders'.

I doubt any excuses will be needed, will the old heads in the Monaghan team be able to keep up with the ferocity of their younger Tyrone counterparts?