Muineachán V Ard Mhaca USFC

Started by Main Street, May 16, 2010, 06:27:25 PM

cant believe the amount of peole who think that the red card was the correct call!
:-\

never a  red in my opinion, slightly late, yellow card.
far too many cards all round today, but suose thats sludden for ye

Quote from: Sam of the Sarsfields on June 06, 2010, 03:58:58 PM
Quote from: Boycey on June 06, 2010, 03:57:21 PM
Quote from: stew on June 06, 2010, 03:49:41 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on June 06, 2010, 03:48:40 PM
what a great day. could not have happened to a worse shower of bastids.  ;D

w**ker

Ur a wild man. U were on an another thread goading someone all got all righteous when he responded with personal abuse but it's ok for u to call someone a w**ker.... Double standards??

Sure he doesn't even live in this country.
A lot of people on this board don't live in ireland, what's your point?

Armaghgeddon

Congratulations Monaghan, completely blew Armagh away. Biggest defeat we have had in a few years.

Armagh REALLY missing out on Grimley, bet the county board are reeling, and so they should be!

Fair play to Monaghan, blew us out of the water. I'd have fancied them to do well before today and after that they should be there or there abouts come September. Was worried that we showed no fight when the chips were down, its bad enough getting beat but when the heads drop so easily it makes it that we bit worse. Need more runners in the team, direct ball is good but today further highlighted the over-reliance on McDonnell.

Good luck to Monaghan would like to see them win it now!

Quote from: anportmorforjfc on June 06, 2010, 03:47:49 PM
Quote from: Catch the high ball on June 06, 2010, 03:37:36 PM
Great win for Monaghan, look like real contenders for Ulster.

On the basis of a 5 minute spell before armagh were down to 14 and 35mins with an extra man? They won't play as well this year again. IMO they wont beat tyrone or down (assuming they beat cavan or fermanagh).
Monaghan don't necessarily need to play as well as they did today to win Ulster. They don't need to win games by 12 points to progress through the Championship. Monaghan may not win Ulster (although that should definitely be the priority) although I'm not sure what you've seen from Down or Tyrone to make you think that Monaghan aren't in there with a very good chance.

Great game from Monaghan and given the number of wides in the second half, the final score didn't flatter them in the slightest. Roll on the semi-final!

guevara

Armagh are in no means as bad as what todays scoreline suggests! As a neutral the sending off definitely had a bearing on the game but im not sure if Armagh wouldve even coped with Monaghan having 15!
Stop Stevie McDonnell & you will beat Armagh. They badly need Ronan Clarke back fit as apart from McDonnell they have nobody outside Jamie Clarke who asks questions of defences.
Brian Mallon definitely was unlucky to walk Yellow Card if anything but Aaron Kernan was probably not sent off because Martin Sludden realised he wouldve got a lot of abuse after sending Mallon off in the 1st half.
Armagh struggled at someone actually playing on there sweeper & thought Ciaran McKeever had a very off day , Finlay ran the show.
O'Rourke will be wondering why his team dissapeared after the sending off but in my opinion Armagh are still a team in transition.........If you took McDonnell out of that team you would struggle to see where the scores would come from.
"Some people want it to happen, some wish it would happen, others make it happen"

Michael Jordan

Any craic

http://www.youtube.com/user/UlsterGAA// - 'Goalkeeper' Darren Hughes is interviewed right at the final whistle after his debut between the sticks. Remarkably, Darren kept a clean sheet against Stevie Mac & Co. Here, he salutes his defence and the Farney Army who were chanting his name. Interestingly, Darren does not rule out wearing the No 1 jersey again..

sandwiches_in_the_boot

Quote from: Any craic on June 06, 2010, 05:33:12 PM
http://www.youtube.com/user/UlsterGAA// - 'Goalkeeper' Darren Hughes is interviewed right at the final whistle after his debut between the sticks. Remarkably, Darren kept a clean sheet against Stevie Mac & Co. Here, he salutes his defence and the Farney Army who were chanting his name. Interestingly, Darren does not rule out wearing the No 1 jersey again..

To be fair a FB already possesses most of the key GK skills, as Hughes showed today. He came out at the right time to meet the ball, knocked it down to his own players, made his presence felt. Still did very well considering though.
"A cynic is a man who, when he smells flowers, looks around for a coffin."
H. L. Mencken

You have got to feel for the sub goalie today who was dished the ultimate dirt.
Training hard all year and then to be told by your manager that an outfield player would make a better goalie than you!!!!
He had no choice other than walk.
Why did Banty have him in the panel when its now clear he had little intention of ever playing him?

The Marshes in March all over again. No doubt beaten by the better team on the day, but a raping from Sludden culminating in a ridiculously harsh red card made sure we were never in the game.

Just like that game in Newry, the management have to hold their hands up. There were bad selection decisions, which left the defense unbalance with too many mismatches. It was obvious from 10 minutes in that certain players weren't at the races, yet they waited until half time, when the game was all but gone, to do anything about it. But at the same time there's not a lot you can do when there isn't a half forward worth a shite about the place. Rory Grugan can't grow up quickly enough.

We're nowhere near that bad, and although impressive today, Monaghan are nowhere near that good. That said, we're definitely a good distance off the top table. Watching those two teams in Kerry on TV, I wouldn't say with any confidence that we'd be within single figures of either. The accepted wisdom around the county at the end of last Summer was that the road back to the top was going to take a few years, but maybe a lot of us may have lost sight of that after a bit of decent form this Spring. It'll probably take the injection of new blood from last years minors to get us back near where we want to be.

At least this year's minors look half decent.

Quote from: Gaffer on June 06, 2010, 05:50:42 PM
lYou hae got to feel for the sub goalie today who was dished the ultimate dirt.
Training hard all year and then to be told by your manager that an outfield player would make a better goalie than you!!!!
He had no choice other than walk.
Why did Banty have him in the panel when its now clear he had little intention of ever playing him?

A low blow alright, must have been a hard pill to swallow.

Down South

Armagh looked to be cruising in the first quarter of this game, McDonnell was his usual self and POR seemed content enough on the line. Armagh supporters can blame McGurn, O`Rourke,Sludden or even Grimley for their hammering today, but the truth is that they have nothing other than Stevie. They were very lucky to finish with 14 players, Kernan should surely have got the line for his challenge on Woods. Their fantastic supporters must have been in a hurry to get home to see the Kerry game, they left early enough.  :D
Monaghan must surely be odds on favourites for Ulster now, that was an awesome display. They have an easy enough semi and should be too strong for either Tyrone or Down.

fan01

Quote from: charlieTully on June 06, 2010, 03:48:40 PM
what a great day. could not have happened to a worse shower of bastids.  ;D
just shows what kind of supporters DOWN have 

QuoteThe Marshes in March all over again. No doubt beaten by the better team on the day, but a raping from Sludden culminating in a ridiculously harsh red card made sure we were never in the game.

the 2005 delusionalism lives on!  ;D

Down South

Quote from: under the bar on June 06, 2010, 06:00:29 PM
QuoteThe Marshes in March all over again. No doubt beaten by the better team on the day, but a raping from Sludden culminating in a ridiculously harsh red card made sure we were never in the game.

the 2005 delusionalism lives on!  ;D

What was the ref at? Sending a man off for elbowing an opponent in the head  ::)