Are Sligo Promoted

Started by Peter Solan the Great, April 11, 2010, 04:44:30 PM

Peter Solan the Great

Are Sligo promoted to Division 2. I see from the leage tables that Antrim, Wexford and sligo are level on 10 points. I;m not sure of the head to heads. fair play to Sligo. A Brilliant manager in Walsh and a fine club system to boot. Great for Connacht football to see them progress. The Championship in Connacht will be an exciting one with Galway, Sligo and Mayo on the the same side of the draw.

boro

Unfortunately yes. Despite Wexford beating both Sligo and Antrim, it came down to points difference, and as Sligo whopped the already relegated Roscommon today they go up. Not great from a yella belly perspective :(

i not Sure you need a thread for this?

sligo boys i guess will be happy with us & Wexford will be disappointed by us fielding a weakened team,

but blame the under 21 success & our Relegation for that i guess

Tatler Jack

Congrats to Sligo and it shows what happens when you get a bit of momentum - hopefully our soujourn in DIV 4 will give us a similar chance to regroup. I dont think the fact that we were without some recognised players should detract from SLIGO'S win as it would be hard to say what is a strong or weak ROS team these days.

Maybe we will meet in the Connacht final!!!

Thanks lads, Sligo are going well at senior. The management and players have done a great job.

We won all our home games and have turned Markievicz into a fortress, Sligo V Mayo is going to be a humdinger if we have a fully fit squad.

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on April 11, 2010, 07:42:35 PM
Thanks lads, Sligo are going well at senior. The management and players have done a great job.

We won all our home games and have turned Markievicz into a fortress, Sligo V Mayo is going to be a humdinger if we have a fully fit squad.

Would be great to see you turn them over but the Mayo Boys are in some Serious form themselves hard to see past them in connaught at the moment ::)

Tatler Jack

Quote from: ross4life on April 11, 2010, 08:12:17 PM

Would be great to see you turn them over but the Mayo Boys are in some Serious form themselves hard to see past them in connaught at the moment ::)

John Fintan Daly who was analyst in Cork 103 for todays game said he was golfing in Killarney over the weekend and the Kerry folk feelthis tears AI is between Cork and Mayo with Mayo most likely winners.!!!

I think Mayo shouldn't turn up at all for the Sligo game...particularly after another hiding in Croker and Sligo winning Division 3 final against Antrim!

Cosmo Kramer

Quote from: Tatler Jack on April 11, 2010, 08:26:39 PM
Quote from: ross4life on April 11, 2010, 08:12:17 PM

John Fintan Daly who was analyst in Cork 103 for todays game said he was golfing in Killarney over the weekend and the Kerry folk feelthis tears AI is between Cork and Mayo with Mayo most likely winners.!!!

If they gave us All Irelands for our form in March and April we'd be weighed down in silverware. Typical Kerry cute hoorism, pre season only starts for them after the Munster Final. Any Mayo man that looks beyond Sligo in June at this stage is an idiot, that should be some battle.
A few Mayo GAA videos if anyone is interested - www.youtube.com/CosmoKramer100

so will that be the new tactics from ye mayo guys this summer, playing down your chances?

Quote from: ross4life on April 11, 2010, 10:00:06 PM
so will that be the new tactics from ye mayo guys this summer, playing down your chances?

What bloody chances, seems Cork even manufactured a defeat so they could get to play us in the NFL Final.

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 11, 2010, 11:23:26 PM

What bloody chances, seems Cork even manufactured a defeat so they could get to play us in the NFL Final.

14/1 with paddy powers for sam worth a bet?

Quote from: ross4life on April 11, 2010, 11:29:16 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 11, 2010, 11:23:26 PM

14/1 with paddy powers for sam worth a bet?

Eh no. If we were 6 points up with ten to go in an AI final, Mayo people would still find it hard to put down a bet.

Fair play Sligo,  2 years on the trot promoted.

Well done to Sligo and fair play to their hard core supporters on here, it is a great day for ye all and I hope you enjoy it.

Good luck in the championship the year lads, and win the connaught cship again on the way.

Rossie11

Well done to Sligo. Great to see the form they showed in the Kerry game last year
was carried through and they went up. Hope ye can finish the job in the final.
No offence to Antrim but have Sligo backed at 6/1 since the league started  :)
Cmon the Magpies..