Justice for Phoebe Prince,Clare teenager harrassed into suicide in the US.

Started by BallyhaiseMan, March 30, 2010, 09:51:51 PM

Quote from: hardstation on March 30, 2010, 11:39:57 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on March 30, 2010, 11:36:17 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on March 30, 2010, 11:30:54 PM
Quote from: hardstation on March 30, 2010, 11:22:15 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on March 30, 2010, 11:18:02 PM
Quote from: hardstation on March 30, 2010, 11:11:38 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on March 30, 2010, 11:09:57 PM
Quote from: boojangles on March 30, 2010, 10:28:57 PM
Was someone filling me with shite or did I hear that some of the bullies were caught by some local Irish gang, tortured and killed after this poor girl committed suicide??

RIP Pheobe

Unfortunately its not true boojangles.
Nice. What is in the water around Fermanagh/Cavan?
Poor comment.

Not at all,HS
if you read different articles concerning the topic,you would know about how those responsible mocked Phoebe at some sort of school function days after and laughed and took joy in their role in her death.
Not to mention their disgusting comments on a facebook memorial set up for her.
it would be hard to have sympathy should something terrible happen to any of those scumbags.
What they did was horrible and they should be held accountable for her death. They shouldn't be tortured and killed. What would that make those killers?

Poor comment.

If this was your daughter HS what you do, I know what id do, now bear in mind this world NEVER really punishs the perpurtraitors enough, not to the extent they tortured this girl. If they were killed, the killers would be heroes in my eyes. The Law and prison is far to good for them scum.

May she rest in peace.

I was typing out a reply when i seen your response Sligonian.
You put it perfectly in my opinion.
They should be tried as accessories to murder,but no doubt they will get off with slaps on the wrist.
Not exactly what you said. Torturing and killing were involved in your first post. Don't back away from your comment.

Sligonian, people who murder 17/18 year old girls are heroes? I do despair.

Maybe I need to be more specific, its the 2 rapists/murderers/torturers i was referring too. This is a very sensitive subject, please refrain from spinning my words or putting words in my mouth.

Quote from: hardstation on March 30, 2010, 11:51:31 PM
I didn't spin your words or put words into your mouth. Stop bullshitting. You entered the discussion, made a comment and now you 'have to be specific'. Fcuk all to do with me.

Yeah, sure kill them, that'll help everyone.

Well its you thats full of shit, the 2 most serious charges are against 2 men 17 and 18. You wrote "Sligonian, people who murder 17/18 year old girls are heroes? I do despair". All the girls mention are all on the lesser charge and i was not reffering to them.

If you werent trying to be vindictive you would of put "Sligonian, people who murder 17/18 year old men who RAPE/TORTURE/MURDER a young innocent Girl are heroes? I do despair"... well I dont, despair, i say I can understand someone close to that poor girl doing that and I wouldnt punish him/her for doing so.

Can you see the difference? HS..

Thats irrelevant HS where i came in on the thread, theyre being charged with Rape etc..., it says that in the first post which is what the thread is about. Ballyhaise and I are referring to the retribution to the acts against this girl and it wasnt just merely bullying. 

HS your an absolute disgrace tonight to be honest, Im not going to engage with on this anymore as its pointless and futile.

Im not here to split hairs - but the charge of statutory rape in this instance is in my opinion not one of their crimes.

A 17 year old sleeping with a 15 year old? Or even an 18 year old - we'd be kidding ourselves if we thought that this wasnt happening in every town in Ireland (not to mention the entire western world). If it was rape - they wouldnt be throwing the statutory bit in front of it - so it was evidently pretty consentual sex. Many people have sex before they are the legal age.

Calling them rapists therefore is a tad sensationalist.

Quote from: Puckoon on March 31, 2010, 12:48:12 AM
Im not here to split hairs - but the charge of statutory rape in this instance is in my opinion not one of their crimes.

A 17 year old sleeping with a 15 year old? Or even an 18 year old - we'd be kidding ourselves if we thought that this wasnt happening in every town in Ireland (not to mention the entire western world). If it was rape - they wouldnt be throwing the statutory bit in front of it - so it was evidently pretty consentual sex. Many people have sex before they are the legal age.

Calling them rapists therefore is a tad sensationalist.

Interesting conclusion, that would mean she was consenting to have sex with 2 of the bullies who are also charged with bodily harm and criminal harassment? Something doesnt add up there.

Id find it hard to believe she did consent tbh, its a lesser charge and would be very hard to prove if it was consentual or not without the poor girls testimony. Thats maybe why theyre gone down the statutory route the prosecution.

Id be pretty sure they are going down the statutory rape avenue - because thats what it was. She is not sexually independent until shes at least 16 (depending on the state), so she was still a minor.

It says on one of the reports that she had a brief relationship with one of the accused. Unfortunately in these times - 15 year olds in brief relationships are having sex.

Such is the world we live in.

Poor girl, they will have to live with themselves and then rot in hell after their miserable lives.Their families must be proud.

And people wonder why every couple of months some disaffected male teen opens up on his school with a gun. And always, the parents and the teachers know little about what had been going on, or if they did, the powers that be shrugged their shoulders. I really fear for my young nephews and nieces with all of this cyber stuff piled on top of the traditional bullying.

Spot On J70. Bullying is insidious and the victims, unfortunately, generally try to cover it up. Parents and responsible adults need to be very vigilant for signs of it and this tragedy is an illustration of why that's so important and why it should be addressed aggressively wherever it's found.

A lot of shite is spouted about "kids will be kids" and "it'll toughen them up". That's dangerous nonsense. It's not taken nearly seriously enough by school authorities and the useless guards, either, in my experience, though that was a few years ago. On two occasions, I had to take situations into my own hands as teachers in one case and guards in another couldn't be bothered.

In the case where my wife made a report to the guards of a serious assault on one of my family, the response was - "ah we know them lads - we try to stay on the right side of them". That's a direct quote from a law enforcement official in our republic on being appraised of a crime. It's that experience that inclines me to think that if Phoebe's case had happened here, the little b**tards responsible would never have seen the inside of a copshop.

Terrible story, heartbreaking stuff.  As pointed out bullying seems more prevalent than ever nowadays and technology only seems to serve to magnify it.

Quote from: Hardy on March 31, 2010, 11:30:04 AM
In the case where my wife made a report to the guards of a serious assault on one of my family, the response was - "ah we know them lads - we try to stay on the right side of them". That's a direct quote from a law enforcement official in our republic on being appraised of a crime. It's that experience that inclines me to think that if Phoebe's case had happened here, the little b**tards responsible would never have seen the inside of a copshop.

Unbelievable. You apprise Irish law enforcement officers about crime, and they don't want to get on the wrong side of the criminals. The most trusted and powerful (religious) guardians of society soddomise little children; the (elected) custodians of the state curse it to oblivion; the regulators of finance finance the financiers; the (union leading) champions of the working class crucify the ordinary joe; the champions of rampant (bankrupt) capitalism embrace taxpayers' socialism...

Great little place (not uniquely, as Phoebe's harrowing death is testimony to).

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 31, 2010, 12:32:28 PM
Quote from: Hardy on March 31, 2010, 11:30:04 AM

Unbelievable. You apprise Irish law enforcement officers about crime, and they don't want to get on the wrong side of the criminals. The most trusted and powerful (religious) guardians of society soddomise little children; the (elected) custodians of the state curse it to oblivion; the regulators of finance finance the financiers; the (union leading) champions of the working class crucify the ordinary joe; the champions of rampant (bankrupt) capitalism embrace taxpayers' socialism...

Great little place (not uniquely, as Phoebe's harrowing death is testimony to).

I meant "apprised" of course.  :) Better, I could have been less precious and said "informed".

Some of the comments from the start of this thread are nothing but sensationalist crap. Yes, it's an absolute tragedy, but the bloodlust on here for some teenagers (who Phoebe Prince's father requested not be tried) is shameful.