Ulster Senior Football Club Championship 2010

Started by drici, January 14, 2010, 11:32:19 AM

Sure it's only a matter of time till Jerome starts streaming his videos live on the internet ;)

drici

Shows the way things torun up again unexpectedly. About five of us in Cross a few years ago taking shelter from the wind and the hail and the sort of weather Pablo the Little Red Fox deals with at the start of the cartoon so we head into the club for a pint, soup and a pint and sandwiches and a pint before the match and there are no seats to get us all sitting together except beside this oul lad so we says sure he'll hardly mind and bounce over and he says aye sit down no problem. Anyway, said his name was Eugene and he was seventy eight and was great craic and knew loads of people - especially stories about union men - and we got more drink because of the weather and the craic. Had to hurry up in the end for Amhrán na bhFiann. Looks at the paper the day and sure isn't it Eugene of the same surname after emailing into them(page 52) about comments that were made last week and he's 82 now though he never said nor sounded Belfast in conversation though that's probably a way of putting things for the paper to sound distant and impartial. If you look in the shades of green box in the middle, Stuarty won a County jersey this week for doing Mise Éire http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k6qTV6D4byE and Requiem for the Croppies http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uv4ifmS7H20 on the Flying Column CD that everybody has though it would have been class if he'd done the beep-beeps on Johnston's Motor Car http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H5dg4MlHU2A as well . Glad he's keeping sound anyway and will be keeping an eye out for Eugene on Sunday. The Rangers v St Marys match will probably be on the radio  so Beo will most likely just do the St Colmcilles v Gaels match on the Latest Scores. Enough of these types of posts anyway - back to Torthaí and Cluichí.

Tis the same Eugene, a Union man all his life and an old friend of mine and my father.  Fanatical about Cross and as he said God willing he will be wherever Cross are playing.  Not a Belfast man but has lived there fore as long as I know.  Quiet around here in the build up to two big games. 

Should be a good game alright BC1, think after the last few games that have been on TV were shite, so this one should be the pick of the games. Question is should i go to Casement and watch? or stay in and watch the hurling games?

Thing is I'm a hurling man so my decision seems to be made. Is the game on Ulster radio? that will help, watch the hurling and listen to the football!! the wife will surely love me ;D

Totally missed up with predictions last week. Fancied Coleranie to be closer at the finish and thought Kilmacud would have won by more!! No clubs left in the Championship from last year, maybe one (Waterford Champions) so i expect a whole new pairing for the semi finals.

drici

Naomh Conaill's adventure continues with Coalisland test

Ulster Senior Club Championship Semi Final
Naomh Conaill v Coalisland
Brewster Park - Sunday, 2.30pm

County champions Naomh Conaill have been on a roll in Ulster

By Tom Comack

Naomh Conaill are bidding to go where no Donegal club side has dreamed to dare in close on two decades when they go toe to toe with Tyrone champions Coalisland in the Ulster senior club semi-final at Brewster Park in Enniskillen on Sunday.

Na Cealla Beaga in 1991 were the last Donegal side to experience an Ulster club final, which they lost to Castleblaney Faughs of Monaghan, with both Na Ceithre Maistirí in 2003 and Naomh Adhamhnáin in 2008 the only clubs from the county to go close in the new millennium.

A preliminary round victory over Cavan champions Kingscourt and a first round proper win over Clontibret has set Naomh Conaill up for a crack at a place in the final. Given the momentum gained in the victories over the Cavan and Monaghan champions is now under their belts, the Glenties side hope to use that to their advantage against the O'Neill County winners, who have only one game played in the province in the first outing in Ulster in 20 years. That a 1-10 to 1-7 victory over Roslea from Fermanagh.

Since they escaped from Donegal, Naomh Conaill have upped their game in a big way and have showed scintillating form in their two games to date and this is especially so when it comes to the forward division, who have clocked up 1-12 against Kingscourt and 2-11 in their game with Clontibret.

"We are in a very good place and have shown good form in Ulster so far," said Naomh Conaill manager Cathal Corey, who is a Tyrone man. "The lads have been working very hard and putting a huge effort in training and there performances have reflected the effort they have been putting in on the training pitch and hopefully we can step it up again on Sunday.

"Coalisland are a good outfit. They have only lost two games in Tyrone so far this year and are the form team in the county at present. I watched them last weekend against Dromore in the league semi-final and while they were short three or four players, they still came out on top and are now in the league final as well.

"They are a well balanced side with Johnny Curran in goals, one of Mickey Harte's three goalkeepers, Peter Donnelly at full-back is a former Tyrone senior and All-Ireland winner, centre-back Niall Kerr has played minor and U-21 for the county and Tiernan O'Hagan at full-forward is a big man and a handful and overall they are well balanced and good all over the field.

"But we are a brave side ourselves and they will hold no fears for us. We will respect them alright but if we play as well as we have in the last two games we are in with a great chance and realistically it is a 50/50 game but one we can win."

Coalisland are managed by former Tyrone and Ulster player Damian O'Hagan who had a moustache in 1986 and are by all accounts a well organised out and while their 0-9 to 0-7 victory over Carrickmore in the Tyrone final was not an outright shock, it was something of a mild surprise against a team that was generally regarded as the form team in the championship.

Corey has left no stone unturned in his sides preparation which included a workout in Sunday's venue Brewster Park last weekend.

"We had a 35-minute in-house game on Brewster Park on Sunday to familiarise ourselves with the ground and our free-takers got in some shooting practice and the also practiced taking penalties and it proved a very useful exercise and means that when the lads go up again this weekend the surroundings and the pitch will be familiar to them."

With the exception of squad member Hugh McDevitt, who has a hamstring injury, Corey has a clean bill of health and expects his panel to be approaching full strength when he finally puts pen to paper to name his team.

Quote from: drici on November 12, 2010, 09:52:44 AM

By Tom Comack

Naomh Conaill are bidding to go where no Donegal club side has dreamed to dare in close on two decades when they go toe to toe with Tyrone champions Coalisland in the Ulster senior club semi-final at Brewster Park in Enniskillen on Sunday.

Na Cealla Beaga in 1991 were the last Donegal side to experience an Ulster club final, which they lost to Castleblaney Faughs of Monaghan, with both Na Ceithre Maistirí in 2003 and Naomh Adhamhnáin in 2008 the only clubs from the county to go close in the new millennium.

A preliminary round victory over Cavan champions Kingscourt and a first round proper win over Clontibret has set Naomh Conaill up for a crack at a place in the final. Given the momentum gained in the victories over the Cavan and Monaghan champions is now under their belts, the Glenties side hope to use that to their advantage against the O'Neill County winners, who have only one game played in the province in the first outing in Ulster in 20 years. That a 1-10 to 1-7 victory over Roslea from Fermanagh.

Since they escaped from Donegal, Naomh Conaill have upped their game in a big way and have showed scintillating form in their two games to date and this is especially so when it comes to the forward division, who have clocked up 1-12 against Kingscourt and 2-11 in their game with Clontibret.

"We are in a very good place and have shown good form in Ulster so far," said Naomh Conaill manager Cathal Corey, who is a Tyrone man. "The lads have been working very hard and putting a huge effort in training and there performances have reflected the effort they have been putting in on the training pitch and hopefully we can step it up again on Sunday.

"Coalisland are a good outfit. They have only lost two games in Tyrone so far this year and are the form team in the county at present. I watched them last weekend against Dromore in the league semi-final and while they were short three or four players, they still came out on top and are now in the league final as well.

"They are a well balanced side with Johnny Curran in goals, one of Mickey Harte's three goalkeepers, Peter Donnelly at full-back is a former Tyrone senior and All-Ireland winner, centre-back Niall Kerr has played minor and U-21 for the county and Tiernan O'Hagan at full-forward is a big man and a handful and overall they are well balanced and good all over the field.

"But we are a brave side ourselves and they will hold no fears for us. We will respect them alright but if we play as well as we have in the last two games we are in with a great chance and realistically it is a 50/50 game but one we can win."

Coalisland are managed by former Tyrone and Ulster player Damian O'Hagan who had a moustache in 1986 and are by all accounts a well organised out and while their 0-9 to 0-7 victory over Carrickmore in the Tyrone final was not an outright shock, it was something of a mild surprise against a team that was generally regarded as the form team in the championship.

Corey has left no stone unturned in his sides preparation which included a workout in Sunday's venue Brewster Park last weekend.

"We had a 35-minute in-house game on Brewster Park on Sunday to familiarise ourselves with the ground and our free-takers got in some shooting practice and the also practiced taking penalties and it proved a very useful exercise and means that when the lads go up again this weekend the surroundings and the pitch will be familiar to them."

With the exception of squad member Hugh McDevitt, who has a hamstring injury, Corey has a clean bill of health and expects his panel to be approaching full strength when he finally puts pen to paper to name his team.

;D ;D ;D

Drici, did you add this yourself? 

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 12, 2010, 10:36:16 AM
Quote from: drici on November 12, 2010, 09:52:44 AM

By Tom Comack

;D ;D ;D

Drici, did you add this yourself?

Drici grew Damian O'Hagan's moustache for him?

drici

By KEVIN CARNEY

Ballybofey may have proven a killing ground for Clontibret's Ulster club SFC ambitions but Doohamlet and Corduff press on. They say two out of three ain't bad and the success achieved by the O'Neills and the Gaels in their provincial intermediate and junior sorties has again left at least a sizeable part of the county heavily pregnant with expectation. This year's IFC and JFC winners have both located enough freedom outside of the confines of the county for their supporters to start sniping glances at their respective club annals. In that latter regard, Corduff have form. On October 6th, 2002 the black and amber brigade claimed the county JFC title courtesy of a 0-10 to 0-5 win over Aughnamullen in the county final.

The win over the Sarsfields paved the way for the club's annexation of the Cremartin Shamrocks-sponsored Ulster JFC subsequently on March 17th.

Gerry Mee, Corduff's captain this year, was on hand for the tail-end of that provincial club success after returning home from a stint in Australia.

Back then the Farneysiders' bid for a place in the all-Ireland final was halted by Meath and Leinster champions Nobber.

But even though Corduff cruised into this year's Ulster JFC semi-finals by dint of their none-too flattering 1-8 to 0-6 win over Naomh Colmcille (Donegal) in Clones, the aforementioned Mee is a planet away from looking at another odyssey to the all-Ireland play-off stages:

"We're playing Grange in the semi-finals and that's as far ahead as we're thinking at the minute," the sadly
crocked Mee declared.

"There's a fair bit of water under the bridge already this year and we'd like to think we've a good run ahead of us yet but we're not taking anything for granted and it's definitely just a case of one game at a time.

"We don't know anything really about Grange other than they're the Armagh champions but the way we're playing at the minute, we wouldn't be afraid of any opposition."

Mee saw his chances of figuring against the Donegal champions last Sunday jettisoned by an injury he suffered in Corduff's 1-10 to 0-7 first round victory over Tyrone's Killyman.

Torn ligaments in his ankle aren't likely to stop him being available for selection though in Sunday's upcoming last four battle with the Orchard County kingpins.

For the match against Naomh Colmcille, Mee was his team's water carrier. However frustrating that was, he would have experienced more angst had his team-mates not been on song and on cruise control for practically all of the match.

"The lads were in control of the match from the word go," the Corduff captain enthused. "It took them 29 minutes to get their first score. "We had a lot of wides in the second half which wasn't good and should have won by more than five points in the end but there's more to come.

Ok call the matches today and why?

I'm going for Cross by 2/3 points. On their performance against us last time. Burren may have tradition but have been missing from this stage for a while. Frank will surely have them ready, Osin might not get the same space provided to him last time, the County players for Burren will be fitter than most players. Cross will get the men behind the ball, play good ball and don't miss frees, i feel Cross will also get the major calls from Pat to win this game ;).

Coalisland against Naomh Conaill is harder to call, both teams are hungry and will look to secure a rare final appearance for their counties in a club final. The Tyrone club championship seems stronger than Donegal's but Naomh Conaill beat a good Clontibret last time out who could have beat us last year had they taken their chances, and already beat Kingscourt. two games behind them. Goals win championship games and Naomh Conaill have scored a few so far so I'm going for them to come through.

In the Onion Bag

Couldn't argue with Miltown Row
On the Cross v Burren game.  Only chance of an upset will be if Burren deliver an above par game that is matched with a sub par game from Cross.

I would also favour Glenties in their game. Not only did they beat a v.good Contibret but have also come through 3 ry tough and testing games in the Donegal semi, final and final reply.  This is theh best best preparation possible and I feel that will hold them in good stead today. 

Quote from: In the Onion Bag on November 14, 2010, 12:17:17 PM
Couldn't argue with Miltown Row
On the Cross v Burren game.  Only chance of an upset will be if Burren deliver an above par game that is matched with a sub par game from Cross.

I would also favour Glenties in their game. Not only did they beat a v.good Contibret but have also come through 3 ry tough and testing games in the Donegal semi, final and final reply.  This is theh best best preparation possible and I feel that will hold them in good stead today.
I fancy Glenties to beat Burren in the final.  I don't know if Cross are as good as they're being made out to be.  Clarke and Hanratty are big misses and Burren will not be scared of them.

Hanratty playing!!!

when is a player sent off not going to contest it?

Referees should just not bother turning up really

Probably when the ref gets the sending off right.

Cross superb in first half. Very poor refereeing for Burren goal. O'Callaghan taken out in the build up to the goal. Referee allows play to continue even though Burren have the ball then books the offender after burren score