RTÉ Sport: Greatest Irish Sportsperson Ever

Started by Donnellys Hollow, September 08, 2009, 05:44:33 PM

Quote from: full back on September 09, 2009, 04:41:30 PM
Quote from: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on September 09, 2009, 03:15:14 PM
How could a man who turned his back on his country be considered?

Player

Nottingham Forest
Full Members Cup: 1992

Manchester United
Premier League (7): 1994, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2003
FA Cup (4): 1994, 1996, 1999, 2004
FA Community Shield (4): 1993, 1996, 1997, 2003
UEFA Champions League: 1999[66]
Intercontinental Cup: 1999

Celtic
Scottish Premier League: 2006
Scottish League Cup: 2006

Individual
FWA Footballer of the Year: 2000
PFA Players' Player of the Year: 2000
English Football Hall of Fame: 2004
FIFA 100

Not a bad haul
Hard to look past him to be fair

Impressive club record alright
but IMHO Keane isn't even Irelands greatest soccer player so I dunno how he could be Irelands greatest sports man

Quote from: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on September 09, 2009, 03:32:35 PM
he walked out then when he had his little sulk he decided to come back and tell his boss what he thought of him and was then rightly sent home but was asked back but refused he is a w**k stain of the highest order

C'mon now, there is no need for that sort of thing. Roy did feck all wrong and shure it was all that english cnuts fault not Roys, Roy is like Chuck Norris, there is nothing he can do wrong. (in the eys of some muppets)

Quote from: stew on September 09, 2009, 09:09:46 PM
he walked out then when he had his little sulk he decided to come back and tell his boss what he thought of him and was then rightly sent home but was asked back but refused he is a w**k stain of the highest order

C'mon now, there is no need for that sort of thing. Roy did feck all wrong and shure it was all that english cnuts fault not Roys, Roy is like Chuck Norris, there is nothing he can do wrong. (in the eys of some muppets)

That is like me arguing that everything bad is his fault from the financial crisis to swine flu. But that would be idiotic.

Galwaybhoy

And in the eyes of others he is Satan himself who went and ended another players career which is not true.  Not condoning that tackle, it deserved a long suspension but some people like to ignore the facts.

Quote from: Galwaybhoy on September 09, 2009, 09:14:30 PM

And in the eyes of others he is Satan himself who went and ended another players career which is not true.  Not condoning that tackle, it deserved a long suspension but some people like to ignore the facts.

He deserved to go to jail for that tackle on Alf, it was premeditated thuggery and did in fact end his career, he did come back but was unable to come close to the level of play he needed to and the injury effectively ended his career.

Saipan was not all Keanes fault, he had valid points however he let himself, his team and every supporter down and he effectively killed morale single handedly on the eve of the world cup, that takes some doing.

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 09, 2009, 07:25:08 PM

Player

Nottingham Forest

Manchester United

Celtic

Individual
FIFA 100

Not a bad haul

but IMHO Keane isn't even Irelands greatest soccer player so I dunno how he could be Irelands greatest sports man

John Giles was a better player than Keane, Paul McGrath was a better player than Keane, George Best was ten times the player Keane ever was so how can Keane ever be considered Irelands greatest sportsperson ever, he isnt even top three in his own sport ffs.

Galwaybhoy

Quote from: stew on September 09, 2009, 09:19:44 PM

He deserved to go to jail for that tackle on Alf, it was premeditated thuggery and did in fact end his career, he did come back but was unable to come close to the level of play he needed to and the injury effectively ended his career.

Saipan was not all Keanes fault, he had valid points however he let himself, his team and every supporter down and he effectively killed morale single handedly on the eve of the world cup, that takes some doing.

I agree with that part Stew.  Disgraceful challenge.  Now I'm open to correction here, but as far as I know it was an injury to Haalands other knee that ended his career.

Quote from: stew on September 09, 2009, 09:19:44 PM

You are light on facts there again stew. Haaland retired because of injury to his other knee but hey when you hate some one so much what has truth got to do with it.

Quote from: stew on September 09, 2009, 09:29:06 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 09, 2009, 07:25:08 PM

Player

Nottingham Forest

Manchester United

Celtic

Individual
FIFA 100

Not a bad haul

John Giles was a better player than Keane, Paul McGrath was a better player than Keane, George Best was ten times the player Keane ever was so how can Keane ever be considered Irelands greatest sportsperson ever, he isnt even top three in his own sport ffs.

Thats what I just said

Giles, McGrath & Best combined don't have his CV.

McGrath & Best missed enough matches to make a career for some players. One destroyed his own career and the other was a walking miracle for Ireland, but Ireland won nothing.

Quote from: muppet on September 09, 2009, 09:41:34 PM

McGrath & Best missed enough matches to make a career for some players. One destroyed his own career and the other was a walking miracle for Ireland, but Ireland won nothing.

If thats the case John O'Shea must be the 2nd greatest ever  ::)

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 09, 2009, 09:42:30 PM

Why because some else doesn't view Keane the way you do?

Quote from: muppet on September 09, 2009, 09:43:26 PM

If your going on the fact that Keane is the greatest by his cv of winning medals with a club team then you must think O'Shea is the 2nd greatest Irish soccer player ever? Would that be correct?

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 09, 2009, 09:46:19 PM

If your going on the fact that Keane is the greatest by his cv of winning medals with a club team then you must think O'Shea is the 2nd greatest Irish soccer player ever? Would that be correct?

I pointed out that his CV was better than Giles', better than Best's and better than McGrath's all who were let go by the same successful club while all with good years ahead of them.

If you had any cop on you would have suggested Ronnie Whelan or even Denis Irwin as a reasonable counter argument against my point on CVs but then argument is not what you are about, it is your hatred of anything to do with Roy Keane.

Quote from: muppet on September 09, 2009, 09:50:53 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 09, 2009, 09:46:19 PM

I pointed out that his CV was better than Giles', better than Best's and better than McGrath's all who were let go by the same successful club while all with good years ahead of them.

If you had any cop on you would have suggested Ronnie Whelan or even Denis Irwin as a reasonable counter argument against my point on CVs but then argument is not what you are about, it is your hatred of anything to do with Roy Keane.

If I had any cop on  ::) You do love yourself sometimes don't you... ::)

I certainly don't hate the man,I think he was wrong in Saipan and was one of the best footballers ever to come out of this country,but he let himself and his country down to many times to be considered one of Irelands greatest ever sportsmen..
Or are you just incapable of seeing any wrong in him.
In my opinion there has been no greater player for Ireland than Paul McGrath..
His performance against Italy in USA'94 is the greatest by any player ever to play for Ireland,and while injury and the bottle ruined what could have made him into the best player in his position in the World I believe there has been no greater servant to the Irish team..
But thats my opinion maybe you don't like someone not picking the lord almighty Keano

btw O'Shea has just as many medals as Whelan or Irwin