RTÉ Sport: Greatest Irish Sportsperson Ever

Started by Donnellys Hollow, September 08, 2009, 05:44:33 PM

Quote from: ONeill on September 08, 2009, 11:19:20 PM
Quote from: stiffler on September 08, 2009, 11:18:44 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 08, 2009, 11:16:58 PM
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on September 08, 2009, 11:11:29 PM
Last eight in the world for a small nation, I think thats a great achievement.

They never won a feckin game. Not one. I think they scored 2 goals in the whole tournament. Catch a grip of yourselves.

They won the 2nd round game on penalties.

I was hoping some eejit would say that.

You hope you got proved wrong ???

Boxing, rugby, athletics world/European champions but don't give me the Irish soccer team as Ireland's greatest sporting achievement.

Ireland 1 England 1
Ireland 0 Egypt 0
Ireland 1 Holland 1
Ireland 0 Romania 0
Ireland 0 Italy 1

Fcuk me.

Galwaybhoy

Quote from: stiffler on September 08, 2009, 11:23:11 PM

They never won a feckin game. Not one. I think they scored 2 goals in the whole tournament. Catch a grip of yourselves.

A win on pens is considered a draw....

oakleafgael

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on September 08, 2009, 05:51:04 PM
Greatest Irish Sportsperson of all time

Vincent O'Brien for me. The only Irish person who could truly claim to be the best ever in the world at his sport (apart from Christy Ring and Mick O'Connell obviously!)

Greatest Irish Sporting Moment

Dawn Run's Cheltenham Gold Cup.

'So Near And Yet So Far' Irish Sporting Moment

1991 Rugby World Cup against Australia. The place went absolutely mental after Hamilton's try and only a minute later Michael Lynagh broke our hearts.

Tony McCoy is the greatest ever jockey to sit on a horse under National Hunt rules.

Quote from: Galwaybhoy on September 08, 2009, 11:23:50 PM

ok il lay any match you want to finish in a draw after penalties!!!

Quote from: ONeill on September 08, 2009, 11:23:31 PM
Boxing, rugby, athletics world/European champions but don't give me the Irish soccer team as Ireland's greatest sporting achievement.

Ireland 1 England 1
Ireland 0 Egypt 0
Ireland 1 Holland 1
Ireland 0 Romania 0
Ireland 0 Italy 1

Fcuk me.

Thats why its in your opinion what is,for me its Italia 90...I still have to hear what's it is in your opinion
So is it N.Ireland 1 Spain 0 or N.Ireland 1 England 0 ?

Quote from: oakleafgael on September 08, 2009, 11:26:26 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on September 08, 2009, 05:51:04 PM
Greatest Irish Sportsperson of all time

Vincent O'Brien for me. The only Irish person who could truly claim to be the best ever in the world at his sport (apart from Christy Ring and Mick O'Connell obviously!)

Greatest Irish Sporting Moment

Dawn Run's Cheltenham Gold Cup.

'So Near And Yet So Far' Irish Sporting Moment

1991 Rugby World Cup against Australia. The place went absolutely mental after Hamilton's try and only a minute later Michael Lynagh broke our hearts.

Tony McCoy is the greatest ever jockey to sit on a horse under National Hunt rules.

You obviously never seen Tommy Carberry ride at his peak. I'm a huge fan of AP but you could argue that he's not even the best jock riding at the moment. Ruby has had a far better record at the bigger meetings over the past few years.

I'm not into 'greatest' anything but there are a few contenders if there needs to be.

Grand Slam
Harrington
O'Callaghan
Delaney
Roche
Kelly
McGuigan
Best
Higgins/Taylor/Doherty
Macken
List of horse racing achievements.
Phil Babb

These people won or were instrumental in winning the highest awards available. Not drawing with feckin Romania. At least the planters in '82 went to the backyard of the hosts and bate them.

Galwaybhoy

Quote from: stiffler on September 08, 2009, 11:26:48 PM
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on September 08, 2009, 11:23:50 PM

ok il lay any match you want to finish in a draw after penalties!!!

Sorry?

Quote from: ONeill on September 08, 2009, 11:40:56 PM
I'm not into 'greatest' anything but there are a few contenders if there needs to be.

Grand Slam
Harrington
O'Callaghan
Delaney
Roche
Kelly
McGuigan
Best
Higgins/Taylor/Doherty
Macken
Phil Babb

These people won or were instrumental in winning the highest awards available. Not drawing with feckin Romania. At least the planters in '82 went to the backyard of the hosts and bate them.

Presume that's Barry and not Frank you're referring to there O'Neill!

"five with the ri..................................................................."  ;)

Grand Slam
Harrington
O'Callaghan
Delaney
Roche
Kelly
McGuigan
Best
Higgins/Taylor/Doherty
Macken
Phil Babb

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on September 08, 2009, 11:58:56 PM

Grand Slam
Harrington
O'Callaghan
Delaney
Roche
Kelly
McGuigan
Best
Higgins/Taylor/Doherty
Macken
Phil Babb

Presume that's Barry and not Frank you're referring to there O'Neill!

"five with the ri..................................................................."  ;)

it was actually only 2 with the right  ;)

Harold Disgracey

Quote from: muppet on September 08, 2009, 11:19:32 PM

We have other world champions.
IIRC the world bog snorkling champion is a wee lad from Portadown called Conor Murphy.

WeAreBlueWeAreWhite

AND A BOTTLE OF RITZ FOR ME LAC

Quote from: Harold Disgracey on September 09, 2009, 09:44:46 AM
Quote from: muppet on September 08, 2009, 11:19:32 PM

We have other world champions.
IIRC the world bog snorkling champion is a wee lad from Portadown called Conor Murphy.

The MLA Murphy ? Moved to Portadown ? For security reasons ?  ;)