South Belfast North of Ireland Supporters Club

Started by T Fearon, August 10, 2009, 12:18:25 PM

Chrisowc

it's 'circle the wagons time again' here comes the cavalry!

carribbear

Quote from: Maguire01 on August 11, 2009, 06:08:36 PM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on August 11, 2009, 05:41:03 PM
Regardless of whether or not FIFA attempt to verify the validity of a particular flag, they have recognised it.

FIFA is a group of football associations...the UN it ain't!
I do apologise - i thought the discussion was about soccer...

So if the IFA said the moon was made out of cheese you'd believe them? :D

Roger

Private social and international supporters club displays national flags shocker  :o :o

This thread is ridiculous, started by the biggest joker of all who annually posts the same inaccurate nonsense. 

fred the red

Quote from: Roger on August 11, 2009, 09:39:08 PM
Private social and international supporters club displays national flags shocker  :o :o

This thread is ridiculous, started by the biggest joker of all who annually posts the same inaccurate nonsense. 

Do you not fell it is ironic that it claims to be a northern ireland supporters club, yet flies a Scotland flag?  ???

Roger

Quote from: fred the red on August 11, 2009, 09:41:33 PM

Do you not fell it is ironic that it claims to be a northern ireland supporters club, yet flies a Scotland flag?  ???
In the week before they played Scotland? No irony at all. Same goes for all the other opponents flegs they display in the run up to a game.

fred the red

Quote from: nifan on August 11, 2009, 02:32:26 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on August 11, 2009, 02:02:43 PM
Quote from: fred the red on August 11, 2009, 01:58:33 PM
I took a look at this club on google maps to see what tony is on about.

In the pic there is a SCOTLAND flag flying outside. Is this normal practise?
Check the thread from last year. Scotland where NI's next opponent is the explanation the OWC lads gave.

That was my understanding - I mentioned the german flag that caused some contention at the time as well.
However seems like the scotland flag is now a permanent fixture

no not just in the week before the scottish game  ::)

Quote from: hardstation on August 11, 2009, 10:01:23 PM
This theory needs to be put to the test. A game with the Republic would be a great test.

I dont know if they do it anymore - last couple of games they havent flown the visiting nations flag (or i havent noticed it) and the scotland flag now seems to be there all the time.
Dont know why its there, but it may not be something sinister.

Some idiots on this threads.

Quote from: dublinfella on August 11, 2009, 05:45:08 PM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on August 11, 2009, 05:32:57 PM
The GAA exists to strengthen the national identity in a 32 county Ireland etc ...the GAA does not have any opinion on what is the best form of government for Irish people and nowhere in the rules does it say we should live in a 32 county socialist republic! And I presume were the political map to change in Ireland and the island was divided into 7 different jurisdictions this aim would allow the GAA to continue to run the All Ireland Championships.  The GAA allows London and New York to enter the Championship...I can't see the IFA allowing Bohemians to enter the Irish Cup ;)

Spurious. The IFA can't let Bohs into the Irish Cup because FIFA won't let them. The GAA can do what they like.

Derry City?

Quote from: dublinfella on August 11, 2009, 05:54:03 PM
I ask again. What flag and anthem should the IFA use to appease you?

A flag bearing the IFA crest and nothing else.

An anthem that isn't GSTQ - possibly Danny Boy  or Roddy McCorley or The Gem of the Roe or Dylan's Blowin in the Wind. Or Dana's "When Yer Man gets the ball".

Quote from: dublinfella on August 11, 2009, 04:35:47 PM
Quote from: carribbear on August 11, 2009, 04:33:51 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on August 11, 2009, 04:28:01 PM
the white red hand of Ulster flag.
Generally the unionist community, but is the recognised flag of the 6 counties in sport.

By whom? First time I've heard of it.

Sure don't the ulster representatives on the rugby team, David Humphries, Rory Best and pals line up with the tricolour and amhrann na bhfiann? It's going that way so you might as well get used to the song.

Not when they are playing for Ulster, which is what we are discussing here....

Tommy Bowe?

In fairness, it's mostly one twit.

OnTheLine

Quote from: Roger on August 11, 2009, 09:58:19 PM
Quote from: fred the red on August 11, 2009, 09:41:33 PM

In the week before they played Scotland? No irony at all. Same goes for all the other opponents flegs they display in the run up to a game.

What about the "Faugh a Ballagh" flag that's being flown at the minute? When's the match against the UDR?

MW

I await Tony's opinion on the NI shirt being Irish emerald green, bearing an IFA badge made up of a Celtic cross and four shamrocks... :)

Quote from: Gnevin on August 11, 2009, 06:05:37 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on August 11, 2009, 05:52:51 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on August 11, 2009, 04:56:36 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on August 11, 2009, 04:52:19 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on August 11, 2009, 04:43:53 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on August 11, 2009, 04:40:39 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on August 11, 2009, 04:32:46 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on August 11, 2009, 04:19:50 PM
I shall re-iterate my prev answer to you, slowly this time .

The Association is a National Organisation which has as its basic aim the strengthening of the National Identity of a 32 County Ireland through the preservation and promotion of Gaelic games and pastimes."
do you hear or see this often? The first time I heard of this was on this website a few months back.
Maybe it is dredged up in your club and if so then your club do have over-political leanings, but this line dates back to the origial charters of the GAA and is I suppose kept for historical purposes more than anything else.
Unless you can tell me differently - that the GAA do enforce and follow this creed, I would have to say that this is pants and is effectively non-existent in the GAA.

so please come back with some ACTUAL political GAA-centric evidence. Otherwise its just rehashed nonsense.

do you see this enforcement often (of the above statementor 'aim' as you put it),
if so where and when!

I think all credit to vocal projection must be to yourself as I dont expect an answer to either!
Get proved wrong so move the goalpost typical of you .
Not moving anything. It either exists in usage/reality or it doesnt.

so you cant/wont answer he question - or is it that you have been proven wrong !

The rule exists and no about of news-speak by you will change this fact .
http://www.gaa.ie/files/gaa_official_guide2003.pdf
where and when have you ever seen/heard this being enforced - is the question that was put to you.
We all know it exists in print. But does it exist in reality.

(e.g. rem the death penalty exists in print for anyone that kills a copper - which means those guys released the other day should have been shot/hung)

so in your own time....

1 The death penalty no longer exists in any way shape or form in Ireland or the UK .
2 Your just attempting to deflect from the content of this rule by saying it's not enforced. If it's so unimportant why is it listed second after the GAA's name ?
I brought up the death penalty example toshow you that even when enshrined (written) in law the death penalty was not used or followed.
Thats legislative criminal law , not the charter of a sports organisation where 'aims' matter less.

so with that point made, please refrain from avoiding the question yet again and tell us where , when and who it was that you saw following this 'aim'.
Or is it as we all know a load of c**p from you again (admittedly with better spelling at long last)
You brought you the death penalty and where wrong as to its legal status
Would you join an organisation who's basic aim was

"The Association is a National Organisation which has as its basic aim the strengthening of the National Identity in a 6 County Northern Ireland through the preservation and promotion of Gaelic Games and pastimes."

I'd better off discussing this with a 2 year old .
OK try to make it easier for you to understand
WHEN the legislation was in place and a garda was killed, there was no one executed for his death.
That depicts how something written is not always cast in stone (and thats from our legal system)

so given that even the most serious of legislation doesnt always mean it has to be followed, then some small part of an ancient charter in the early beginnings of the GAA could hardly be most definitely applied at all times?

Anyhow back to your answer,
When have you heard, seen and who was it that have enforced , implemented or followed up on this 'aim'

Still waiting for an answer despite your attempts to squirm out of answering it and proving my point correct!

And for the forth time it's not from ancient time or the early beginnings as I posted the original aims of the association .

The fact it's not implemented is not the point , answer my question with a simple yes or no please .
no you brought up that the GAA were political and that this 'aim' is the complete and only point you offer as some sort of evidence.
However you still refuse to tell us where, when and by who this 'aim' is pushed/enforced or acted upon.
Until you can (which obv you cannot) then your point is moot and your accusatin is completely false.

as the irrelevant digressions of gnevin and roversfella have come to naught , back then to the topic and that the ni soccer supporters club in shaftsbury (if not indeed in a myriad of places) are prone to flying dodgy flegs or flegs of other nations such as israel or scotland - but some try to masquerade this as only happening when these teams are being played....

Have to say that our competition winning colleague has not been disproven yet !

Quote from: MW on August 11, 2009, 10:25:44 PM
I await Tony's opinion on the NI shirt being Irish emerald green, bearing an IFA badge made up of a Celtic cross and four shamrocks... :)

So GSTQ and the discredited Ulster banner are all about equalising?

You are a more worthy contributor than that.

too lame
how about a harp with something else in the background
a mountain or the sea

an traditional fry or pint of guinness/glass of whiskey are also too lame..
maybe a red hand?

MW

Quote from: saffron sam2 on August 11, 2009, 10:30:02 PM

So GSTQ and the discredited Ulster banner are all about equalising?

You are a more worthy contributor than that.

Nope, just posting my now-traditional (and due to be traditionally ignored by Tony) reality check on Tony's traditional "using the symbols of only one community exclusively" post.

(not all traditions are good, eh ;))

MW

Quote from: lynchbhoy on August 11, 2009, 10:31:31 PM
too lame
how about a harp with something else in the background
a mountain or the sea

an traditional fry or pint of guinness/glass of whiskey are also too lame..
maybe a red hand?

...this tradition however has a fair old amount of class and style so I wouldn't be up for changing it :)