AISF Aug 23rd Tyrone v Cork

Started by cadhlancian, August 02, 2009, 07:11:38 PM

JMohan

Quote from: goh4205 on August 23, 2009, 06:25:48 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on August 23, 2009, 06:09:44 PM
Why is the standard of refereeing so bad? Today was actually worse than usual but most games now its bad. I firmly believe the refs that get the big games are reffing as they are told to (logical - the guys who do it best get the top matches). So the obvious conclusion arises - the people training and assessing referees are out of touch with how most people perceive the game. The namby pamby rules that were almost brought in are another example of this and while its another argument I'm sure they'll have another go next spring to ruin the games further. They are also completely unaccountable.

Whether Tyrone would or would have not won today is not so much the point - its obvious they didn't get fair play. Perversely, the wrong sending off will make that argument hard to make to most people. Amazing how often things like that happen.
I agree with you magpie about the Ref, but Tryone have so often got away with the other side of what happened with refereeing decisions today and injusts against opposition teams.  Usually what goes around comes around and today it did.

Nonsense

Ref was bad all round and Cork were always in control today
Even with Cavanagh I think Cork would have have won

goh4205

Quote from: JMohan on August 23, 2009, 06:27:22 PM
Why is the standard of refereeing so bad? Today was actually worse than usual but most games now its bad. I firmly believe the refs that get the big games are reffing as they are told to (logical - the guys who do it best get the top matches). So the obvious conclusion arises - the people training and assessing referees are out of touch with how most people perceive the game. The namby pamby rules that were almost brought in are another example of this and while its another argument I'm sure they'll have another go next spring to ruin the games further. They are also completely unaccountable.

Whether Tyrone would or would have not won today is not so much the point - its obvious they didn't get fair play. Perversely, the wrong sending off will make that argument hard to make to most people. Amazing how often things like that happen.
I agree with you magpie about the Ref, but Tryone have so often got away with the other side of what happened with refereeing decisions today and injusts against opposition teams.  Usually what goes around comes around and today it did.

Nonsense

I agree, but my point was no point in tryone cryin about the Ref when they've got so many calls in their favour over the years.  cork were by far the best team and would have won regardless who tryone put out.  If Kerry  beat Meath then I'd fancy Kerry but should be a dinger of a match

Quote from: goh4205 on August 23, 2009, 06:34:17 PM

Nonsense

I agree, but my point was no point in tryone cryin about the Ref when they've got so many calls in their favour over the years.  cork were by far the best team and would have won regardless who tryone put out.  If Kerry  beat Meath then I'd fancy Kerry but should be a dinger of a match

I wouldn't- if cork reproduce that they'll beat either of the other two.

Quote from: timmykelleher on August 23, 2009, 06:19:35 PM
After knocking out Derry and Galway Donegal would have been seen as live contenders for the Cork match. Yet they were swatted aside.
I don't think very many saw Donegal as real contenders in truth. No one would have predicted the margain of defeat, but neither Derry nor Galway would have stayed anywhere near that Cork team either.

Well feck it. Well enough beaten. Good job too cos if they had got it back to a score or two it would have made Bannon the talking point, which he does not deserve. We've got the breaks in Croker before, so can't have complaints.

Not the day to criticize the players or Harte, bad day all round, but they've given plenty of good ones.

Spillane with his silly mustard trousers was his usual classless self.

But hopefully 2 more good games this season to come.

QuoteReally hope Meath beat kerry, shut Spillane up, made a real ass of himself today.

fair play Joe brolly, didnt bite, just highlighted the fact that Spillane, and every other Kerry muppet, would prefer to see their arch rivals and near neighbours Cork win than seeing the Nordies win...  Pathetic

Thats rich. One thing that seems to have united Ulster over the last few years is putting the boot into Kerry and Brolly has been the chief cheerleader of that. You've danced on our grave enough times,  we've gotten the message loud and clear so dont expect any sympathy when you get beaten because you dont deserve it.

JMohan

Quote from: goh4205 on August 23, 2009, 06:34:17 PM

Nonsense

Tyrone crying about the ref?

There's not been one Tyrone person crying about the ref - sure he gave them an extra man for half the game!!!

You're confused now

Some footage on youtube for anyone that hasnt seen it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dsIcy-0qJgA
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QyEgK0UOfnk - Spillane's half time rant
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kdpQygjZL1s

Can't believe the first yellow, that's ridiculous! If you were going to bring a player down you wouldnt dive in with your legs like that! Common sense.  Second one just as ridiculous and then Dooher gets a close in free for nothing.

QuoteI think Spillane should have held his water for another week at least before having a lash at Joe.  Meath will have a big say yet and until Tyrone launch a decent defence of an AI there will always be some debate about their greatness

fixed that for you

QuoteSome footage on youtube for anyone that hasnt seen it.

Can't believe the first yellow, that's ridiculous! If you were going to bring a player down you wouldnt dive in with your legs like that! Common sense.  Second one just as ridiculous and then Dooher gets a close in free for nothing.

Mulligan diving. McGuigan trying to get Miskella sent off ....basically Tyrone up to their usual shite. Good to see them get what they deserved for their blatant cheating.

Great Leap Forward

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 23, 2009, 06:59:45 PM

Mulligan diving. McGuigan trying to get Miskella sent off ....basically Tyrone up to their usual shite. Good to see them get what they deserved for their blatant cheating.

Aidan O'Mahony?

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 23, 2009, 06:59:45 PM

Go outside to play Michael the adults are talking.

You still have that avatar up... you said you'd take it down. ...but I suppose you can never take a Tyrone man at his word. Liars as well as cheats I suppose....

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 23, 2009, 07:07:54 PM
You still have that avatar up... you said you'd take it down. ...but I suppose you can never take a Tyrone man at his word. Liars as well as cheats I suppose....

Aye fair enough, I'll take that bad boy down. We're not bad losers or whingers up here.

plenty of whinging going on here today...and , btw, with being bad losers is understandable ..being bad winners is unforgiveable though and for that alone you should hang your heads in shame.