Does Ulster always say "no"?

Started by BennyHarp, March 06, 2009, 10:27:03 AM

RMDrive

Ulster Council refutes Indo stance
07 March 2009

The Ulster Council of the GAA has hit out at a column in the Irish Independent earlier this week which detailed trenchant opposition in the province to several initiatives in recent years.

The piece, the Independent Gaelic Games writer Martin Breheny, pondered the questions of Ulster's intransigence to the International Rules series, the Players' Grant Scheme and the opening of Croke Park.

But the Ulster Council has responded in a strongly-worded statement published in the newspaper on Saturday morning.

The statement, undersigned by Ulster Council chairman Tom Daly and secretary Danny Murphy, read: "In an article published in the Irish Independent aspersions were cast as to the attitude here to GAA policy nationally. The Ulster Council of the GAA absolutely refutes the conclusion drawn.

"Once again the old "Ulster says No" analogy was used. All of this was predicated on the discussion of a motion from Tyrone in relation to the International Rules series which was properly before last Saturday's Ulster Convention, openly debated and democratically decided upon by a substantial majority. It is now a matter for Congress to consider and decide on that matter if the motion is included on the Clár.

"On the broader matter of Ulster GAA and national policy the aspersions cast could not be further from the truth. The most comprehensive statement of national GAA policy in recent decades is the GAA Strategic Vision and Action Plan 2009-2015.

"Ulster GAA were deeply involved in the preparation of this strategy. At last Saturday's Ulster Convention, Ulster GAA President Tom Daly commented: "At national level one of the most important developments for many years was the publication of the GAA Strategic Vision and Action Plan 2009-2015. The strategic planning process, which was embarked on in this province many years ago, and which has been extended with our support to our counties, has paid dividends and will pay dividends well into the future in terms of the development of the GAA in the Ulster.

"We should be positive and enthusiastic about the strategic vision set out in our national plan and pay tribute to the leadership of the GAA on its production. The third Ulster Council Strategic Plan, which will be launched next month, embraces within it all of the targets for the province set out in the national plan. With the traditional enthusiasm and dynamism of the GAA in Ulster many of the targets and objectives set will be achieved well before the target dates set out at national level.

"From an Ulster perspective, an important commitment in the GAA National Strategy is that 'the Association will move from its current non-sectarian policy to an anti-sectarian policy'.

"During 2009 Ulster GAA should, within its own structures, open an internal discussion as to what this would mean for our Association here in practical terms. With the support of this Council we should explore what support, advice and guidance our units at club, county and provincial level would require in order to move towards realising this aspiration, which has at its core the extensive nature of what "community" actually means and the capacity of the GAA to be relevant to society everywhere.

"The Ulster Council of the GAA has spent the past several months preparing its third Provincial Strategy. That strategy sets out an ambitious set of objectives in the GAA in Ulster; it embraces all of the provincial targets set out in the national plan and it includes an updated strategy for the development of hurling in the province The strategy will be launched in Belfast next week. The Irish Independent are welcome to attend and will then recognise how much in error they are in attempting to portray the GAA in Ulster in a negative light. Hopefully it will also see that newspaper dump the tired old cliche "Ulster says No" when they come to recognise that the GAA in Ulster, which comprises over one-third of the current national membership of the Association, and in fact says "yes" to a myriad of progressive development initiatives."

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=108007

Bord na Móna man is spot on. The journos who write in support of this ridiculous series don't fancy giving up their jolly to Australia. How many of them go across to Scotland to watch the Shinty compromise rules? I rest my case.

And can some you boys go easy on this perpetual Ulster/Kerry sniping? It's getting tiresome. We're all in the one organisation you know.

The GAA

I wish the Ulster council would stop trying to repesent the entire gaa participating population of ulster. They are not even an elected body

Quote from: The GAA on March 07, 2009, 11:06:29 AM

I wish the Ulster council would stop trying to repesent the entire gaa participating population of ulster. They are not even an elected body

Neither were Cusack, Davin, Power, Mc Kay, Bracken, O'Ryan and St. George McCarthy, but thank Christ they had the vision not to let that little detail stand in their way.

He must have forgot about the ulster says no to 3 in a row campaign.

well 3 in a row is something ye've never gotten close to (...and, yeah, we've heard all the excuses)

The way you lads act maybe it would be better off forming your own organization. then you can be as negative as you like. You can reintroduce the ban on rugby and soccer players, go back to 18 or 21 a side. introduce ball groping as an acceptable tackle. You can stand up in your own congress and make your usual boring "thundering disgrace" rants as you compete to see who is the most hardline. You can also continue patting yourselves on the back about good, hard Ulster football (meanwhile whinging about those big, bad Aussie rules boys).

meanwhile, down south, we will continue to run the organization in a pragmatic, democratic fashion (well, maybe you can take Cork with you altogether) where the voices of moderation aren't drowned out by every two-bit gobshite trying to get his name in the papers denouncing the president of the GAA or whatever.

Good man Mikeen  ::)
By the way Nordies I never said the GAA couldnt get by without the Croke Park rent money from the Buggers or the idiots . I asked would the  purists refuse to accept it.

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on March 07, 2009, 06:22:49 PM
well 3 in a row is something ye've never gotten close to (...and, yeah, we've heard all the excuses)

The way you lads act maybe it would be better off forming your own organization. then you can be as negative as you like. You can reintroduce the ban on rugby and soccer players, go back to 18 or 21 a side. introduce ball groping as an acceptable tackle. You can stand up in your own congress and make your usual boring "thundering disgrace" rants as you compete to see who is the most hardline. You can also continue patting yourselves on the back about good, hard Ulster football (meanwhile whinging about those big, bad Aussie rules boys).

meanwhile, down south, we will continue to run the organization in a pragmatic, democratic fashion (well, maybe you can take Cork with you altogether) where the voices of moderation aren't drowned out by every two-bit gobshite trying to get his name in the papers denouncing the president of the GAA or whatever.

You take yourself way too seriously

You's are doing a great job down in munster all right. The attendances were terrible at the football championship last year and I wouldnt be suprised if more people watched rugby in munster last year than gaelic football. Hurling attendances were also down and now Cork went on strike. Meanwhile up in Ulster the championship attendances remain strong and in terms of player numbers and attendances gaa is certainly number 1 sport. Maybe before things get much worse down there you's should start asking what ulster is doing right instead of worrying about kiss assing and accomadating other sports. The Ulster Councils role is to promote gaelic games in ulster and thats what they're doing. Instead of spending their time wondering about were ulster will play their next rugby match they are putting in place strategic development plans to strengthen gaelic games in Ulster.

You
Quotetake yourself way too seriously

ha, thats a good one. Nordies, the dryest, dullest, lets-bring-everybody-down-by-politicizing-everything telling me I take myself too seriously. God, maybe you bies do have a sense of humour after all.

QuoteYou's are doing a great job down in munster all right. The attendances were terrible at the football championship last year and I wouldnt be suprised if more people watched rugby in munster last year than gaelic football. Hurling attendances were also down and now Cork went on strike. Meanwhile up in Ulster the championship attendances remain strong and in terms of player numbers and attendances gaa is certainly number 1 sport. Maybe before things get much worse down there you's should start asking what ulster is doing right instead of worrying about kiss assing and accomadating other sports. The Ulster Councils role is to promote gaelic games in ulster and thats what they're doing. Instead of spending their time wondering about were ulster will play their next rugby match they are putting in place strategic development plans to strengthen gaelic games in Ulster.

well, thats the thing isn't it...you couldn't give two shites about football in Munster or anywhere outside your own parochial little patch..yet you expect the rest of us to make decisions based on your petty concerns.....as for hurling, jesus..an Ulsterman pontificating on hurling  is like the pope pontificating on contraception, like, what the f**k would you know about it !

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on March 08, 2009, 02:27:23 AM
QuoteYou's are doing a great job down in munster all right. The attendances were terrible at the football championship last year and I wouldnt be suprised if more people watched rugby in munster last year than gaelic football. Hurling attendances were also down and now Cork went on strike. Meanwhile up in Ulster the championship attendances remain strong and in terms of player numbers and attendances gaa is certainly number 1 sport. Maybe before things get much worse down there you's should start asking what ulster is doing right instead of worrying about kiss assing and accomadating other sports. The Ulster Councils role is to promote gaelic games in ulster and thats what they're doing. Instead of spending their time wondering about were ulster will play their next rugby match they are putting in place strategic development plans to strengthen gaelic games in Ulster.

well, thats the thing isn't it...you couldn't give two shites about football in Munster or anywhere outside your own parochial little patch..yet you expect the rest of us to make decisions based on your petty concerns.....as for hurling, jesus..an Ulsterman pontificating on hurling  is like the pope pontificating on contraception, like, what the f**k would you know about it !

I wouldnt call losing ground to our competitors petty concerns. Its about time you's realised in Munster that gaa is in direct competition to soccer and rugby. Up in Ulster we realise that and concentrate on promoting our own games. Unlike the Munster Council we haven't had to resort to offering 2 for 1 into our championship final. When Tyrone and Armagh the 2 biggest teams in Ulster played in the final a few years ago there was 60,000 at it and there were no 2 for 1 offers. I'll not even mention the crowds at the earlier rounds in the Munster Championship. Instead of taking petty digs at Ulster maybe you should look at what we're doing right and start to ask questions about the decline in interest in Munster.

boojangles

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on March 07, 2009, 07:00:53 AM
QuoteThe North began,the North held on, God bless that Northern land....while the rest of the country appear happy to put every ideal the association stands for up for auction, to earn short term financial gain and a pat on the head from the anti G.A.A. brigade, the gaels of Ulster are not for sale and their wise council will yet save the day

God you Ulster bies talk some awful shite.

Hi less of the generalisations there boy.Cavan voted to open up Croke Park.But I have to agree with the motion being talked about, I think we should scrap the International Rules series. they had the f**king cheek to try and hold a trial in Breifne Park last summer and then played dumb as if they had done nothing wrong when at the same time trying to coax away some of our best talent.We have enough sports to compete with(and thats exactly what we are doing) without shooting ourselves in the foot and promoting another 'Competitor Sport'. For Martin Breheny that would mean a sport that is in competition with the GAA for members ie Rugby,Soccer,International Rules, Cricket

Malvinas

Its always amusing when a southerner lets the mask slip to show the partitionist mindset that exists in certain parts of the 26 counties. While you'd expect it around the pale its sad that it also seems to be prevalent in Kerry aswell.
"It was a bit of handbags stuff. I suppose the cameras caught it?"

To be fair, of all the Kerry posters on here, Mike's the only real fool.