Senior Football Team Fundraising Initiatives

Started by DownFanatic, January 19, 2009, 08:04:34 PM

DownFanatic

Just wondering do any posters know of any good ways in which a Senior team could raise funds to cover their expenses for the incoming season? I know that the likes of a Night at the Races and Poker Nights have been utilised in this way before but is there any other events that have been used in the past that offer something slightly different?

carnaross

A club members lotto works well.
I say a members lotto because that way you don't need a license to run it. Each member paying a fiver a month and with three monthly prizes, it should work quite well, especially if subscriptions are paid by direct debit. Better that way rather than collecing it by hand.
Anyone travelling to Leeds to work/study are welcome to join St. Benedicts Harps GAA in Leeds.

goldenyears

Golf classic good for 10k, x factor / stars in their eyes massive money spinner for us, who wants to be a thousandaire got us another 10k.

Our under age lads did bag packing in sainsburys and got 1100 for 3 hours work!

DownFanatic

As it is our club's 75th Anniversary year we will be having a gala at the end of 2009. Also, we are having our Dinner Dance in respect of the 2008 season at the start of the year so organising another big gala night would be out of the question. I think it would be a bit unfair on our club members to fork out three times this year for big nights like these in light of the current economic climate.

We already run a Golf Classic every August and it has been a nice money spinner for us the past 8 years or so. I think the club are planning an X-Factor type thing this year themselves so that rules that out.

Lotto's are good in theory but they are a difficult option to maximise and to be honest we are looking to establish a money maker asap to raise a substantial sum before the season starts in April.

Any other options would be greatly appreciated!  ???

Who Wants To Be A Thousandaire is a decent one.
It may be slightly tougher now with the recession & that but you could try it

Have a think about Last Man Standing as well. Dont know how it would work picking soccer teams (with it being a GAA club), perhaps you could change it to GAA teams for the National League

DownFanatic

Quote from: DownFanatic on January 20, 2009, 01:59:04 PM
How does that Last Man Standing work?

Its normally done with the PL, but I would say you could do it in the National League

Say everyone puts in 20/30/40/50 at the start, whatever you want depending on how much you want to make give out.
Every week you pick a team to win, if they win you are through to the next week, if they draw or lose you are out. This continues every week until there is only one person left.
You cant pick the same team twice, so eventually you are going to have to pick the sh1t teams.
You would need to have everyone's selection by Saturday at lunchtime & it is the persons responsibility to select their team.
For example you could have the sheet in the club or local bar, where people can pop in any time during the week

Goldenyears has already listed some of the stuff we have done over the last few years however the big money spinner for us was the Car Draw....however it is a pretty shitty time to be running something like that where you are asking people for at least 20 quid a ticket.

It doesnt matter what you run however....its down to the effort your members put in that decides the return....

If you are running the Thousandaire ask 5 Sams for advice, top class chap

We had a 'squares' thing that we ran for the ladies and it got us a decent amount of money. We didn't see the whole thing through but still got about £700 from it but potentially you can make over a grand from it.

You have 500 squares corresponding to 500 tickets. A person draws out a ticket and they get to hold on to that square. The catch is you must pay the amount on the ticket o if you draw ticket no. 1 you pay 1p or if you draw ticket 499 you pay £4.99.

The beauty of it is if someone draws ticket 4.27 they will generally just tell you to keep the fiver so realistically you can make around £1500 if everyone rounds up but if you fill the whole square you will generallly get over £1,000.

When all the squares are filled you should have around 10-20 decent raffle prizes (A polo shirt from the club, bottle of spirits from a pub, vouchers from beauticians etc.) and then you draw 500 tickets and the corresponding square wins. The only bollix is getting someone to get 500 squares on to a piece of paper!

off the laces

Quote from: DownFanatic on January 19, 2009, 08:04:34 PM
Just wondering do any posters know of any good ways in which a Senior team could raise funds to cover their expenses for the incoming season? I know that the likes of a Night at the Races and Poker Nights have been utilised in this way before but is there any other events that have been used in the past that offer something slightly different?
what about letting the boards play our national games on your pitch on a sunday or maybe the oul car boot sale brings you in plenty of money  ;D :D
Keeps 'er' straight

T O Hare

X factor, car draw, last man standing, and lotto have been our major income these past few years but you need a lot of good sellers to help you succeed. Smaller things like a duck derby, half time draws and guess the score during the championship have collected us smaller amounts but with less work!!!!
Our club lotto currently stands at 8,000 and the sales from it our great at the minute, once you get good sellers into a routine then the tickets are easily sold!!!!
I see  that Glenn club are currently doing a jigs and reels in their club which would generate a good door and good!!!
"2008 Gaaboard Cheltenham fantasy league winner"

We've ran 3 or 4 Texas Hold 'Em nights (fairly profitbale - and doesn't take much to set up)

Quote from: T O Hare on January 20, 2009, 04:20:13 PM
X factor, car draw, last man standing, and lotto have been our major income these past few years but you need a lot of good sellers to help you succeed. Smaller things like a duck derby, half time draws and guess the score during the championship have collected us smaller amounts but with less work!!!!
Our club lotto currently stands at 8,000 and the sales from it our great at the minute, once you get good sellers into a routine then the tickets are easily sold!!!!
I see  that Glenn club are currently doing a jigs and reels in their club which would generate a good door and good!!!
would Glenn not be making their own version of 'calandar girls' - plenty of old posers still knocking round their ranks (prob retired now though).
Plus they'd have 'an evening of baladeering with Mickey' (the ex ref) to generate funds!