Leinster final Wexford v Dublin

Started by boro, July 04, 2008, 09:07:13 PM

Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on July 20, 2008, 08:24:08 PM
Wexford with 2 wins over Fermanagh in the league so can't be that bad

Amazing. Jackeens never fail to amuse me.

redhandluke

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 21, 2008, 12:17:56 AM
Quotedefinitely the team to avoid in the Qtrs apart from Kerry

chickens**ts

Is that spelt with a ti or a sh?
:o :o ;D

Good win against a team which by all accounts forgot to come out for the second half but all they can do is keep winning. Won't be home till the final so hope the bandwagon keeps rolling till then.

Hard to judge Dublin on that. Overall did very well. Good to have Griff get an hour under his belt. Whelo and Ryan were totally dominant in midfield (surprised he didnt give Fennell a run for the last 10 mins or so). I thought Cahill and Moran had good days. Poor start from the forwards - 5 balls into the keeper's hands after 4 mins and 40 seconds! But clearly they improved, Brogan in particular excellent. I thought Quinn was poor, hides from any challenges and while he is very good from short range frees, he is totally unreliable from frees outside 35m.

Team selection for the next day will be interesting. Shocko in for Nolan will leave us very small at the back. The defensive forward position is up for grabs, Bonner did better than Flynn but was hardly spectacular. Be nice to go really positive and swap Bernard for Bonner and play Keaney deep.

Hard to know what to make of this game.  Great performance overall by Dublin , thought the ref was a moany **** in the first half and blew more than a sea breeze

whatever way you look at it its a great day for Dublin 4 - in - a - row for leinster lets just hope we can push on this year. Alot of positive feeling that this could be the year, lets just hope those over emotial supports can contain themselves but i can see that someone could easly be swept with emotion on a day like yesterday!

Nice to see that eegit Stafford getting nowhere after his antics yesterday.
Whats the story with that cowardly little knee off the ball to Whelan? sneaky little f**k of a thing to do.

I saw someone else do the same a few weeks back. Cant remember who.

Good to see Whelan not react to that (or the elbow to the face right in front of the linesman who "didnt see it") and instead play a stormer.

One of the best moments of the game was his interception of the forward pass from none other that Stafford.

Made a show of himself yesterday that lad.

Wexford in general made a show of themselves, very disapoointing to see all the Wexford fans going with 15mins to go in the game, no wonder their team got worse and totally gave up the fight. but what can you expect from a yellow belly i guess ;)

Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on July 20, 2008, 08:24:08 PM
An exceptional performance in the 2nd half against Wexford who put it up well for the first half....That is the League 2 winners and the League 3 winners beaten now (Wexford with 2 wins over Fermanagh in the league so can't be that bad) and a beating of Louth at nearly double what Tyrone beat them.....If Dublin have a tight game it is cause they are rubbish a la Westmeath, if Dublin win well its cause the opposition are rubbish....

In my finest Ted Crilly accent, "No, you didn't win Cyril!!!!".

Was recovering from the night before in the Glenview Hotel yesterday morning and who pulls in but the Wexford team for their pre match meal. They looked very relaxed and no signs of nervousness. Mattie made a young yellow bellies day with a wave and a pat on the head. Game went as I expected for the first half but didn't think Dublin would pull away by as much in the end. Wexford lost it in midfield and their backs were never gonna be able to cope with the pressure they came under.

I think you're misreading that Croí. He's saying that the Dubs have beaten the League 2 and 3 winners. Ye can't even take credit where it's given :D

Quote from: AZOffaly on July 21, 2008, 02:29:03 PM
I think you're misreading that Croí. He's saying that the Dubs have beaten the League 2 and 3 winners. Ye can't even take credit where it's given :D

:-[ Shows what a weekend of boozing does to one, God be with the days when you could drink for the week without so much as a headache...

Quote from: Tankie on July 21, 2008, 02:10:03 PM
Wexford in general made a show of themselves, very disapoointing to see all the Wexford fans going with 15mins to go in the game, no wonder their team got worse and totally gave up the fight. but what can you expect from a yellow belly i guess ;)

I'd never say that about a team of intercounty players after a poor result. They give their all Tankie.
I agree re the fans leaving early, hate to see that, but I wonder how many Dubs would be heading off were the scores reversed?

QuoteI agree re the fans leaving early, hate to see that, but I wonder how many Dubs would be heading off were the scores reversed?

Ye see, I told yis all that parenthood would make a grown-up of him, and ye laughed at me.   ;)

Quote from: Billys Boots on July 21, 2008, 04:12:21 PM
QuoteI agree re the fans leaving early, hate to see that, but I wonder how many Dubs would be heading off were the scores reversed?

Ye see, I told yis all that parenthood would make a grown-up of him, and ye laughed at me.   ;)

:D :D