When did you first join gaaboard.com?

Started by Farrandeelin, October 24, 2007, 05:00:02 PM

QuoteI'll meet ye in The Welcome Hotel in Rozelle, Sydney tomorrow night

I can't even say I'd make it to the Welcome Inn Hotel these days. What about the Mercantile or the KCH, are they still there?

I'm on since May 2003. Jaysus feels like longer but I was a lurker for a year or two before that. How time flies. ;D

GBB what about your former teacher taking the maroon helm?

Must note that on that web archive, some of the threads can be accessed (not all unfortunately, "book the hotels now" etc.), but the "Things I love about the GAA" thread is there in all its glory. (April 2004 FWIW)

I checke that old archive site. There was a lot of posts from seafoid. Sadly, he too seems to be gone from us.

stpauls

Quote from: passedit on October 25, 2007, 10:04:47 PM

Oh sorry nearly forgot, played a season of sacar many moons ago on the the same team as the mighty Antoine Fearon who actually wasnt too bad in a pseudo Tony Galvin straight line running type of way. (i'd say i'm one of the few people on the planet told to quit slabberin by the great mouth himself  :o

why doesn't this surprise me!!!  ;D

Quote from: ONeill on October 26, 2007, 12:01:25 AM
Who was the foul-mouthed Meathman who threatened to plaster the county with landmines if a certain neighbouring county were visiting during an NFL game?

Was it this fella?

next time a western cowboy walks across meath i blow you up with a landmine

Posted by pat pigeoin f**k off back home on October 04, 2001 at 05:15:26:

i have no problem with anyone who supports meath or plays with meath with western roots the problem i have is the numerous of families in south meath who originally come from kerry,mayo, clare, galway, sligo etc who lived for many years in meath but hate meath with a passion and rear their kids to hate meath. im not the only one who thinks these f**kers are ungrateful c##ts.

Posted by Barna Bee on October 04, 2001 at 06:03:07:
   In Reply to: next time a western cowboy walks across meath i blow
   you up with a landmine
posted by pat pigeoin f**k off back home on
   October 04, 2001 at 05:15:26:

Do you think that anyone here cares about your inbred yokel mentality.
   Your letting your county brethern down .
   Hardy , Reilly etc any of you shares this muppets views ?
   Barna Bee

Posted by Hardyarse on October 04, 2001 at 14:42:33:
      In Reply to: Re: next time a western cowboy walks across meath i
      blow you up with a landmine
posted by Barna Bee on October 04, 2001
      at 06:03:07:

Yeh we're all intolerant xenophobes here, didn't yeh know?

Do you not think we'd be better to ignore this chimp who's clearly a poorly
      disguised and badly constructed, not to mention illiterate agent provocateur,
      put up by the retarded anti-royal axe grinders around here. Why give it
      credibility by responding?

Just in passing - my parents used to refer to some of the stuff that happened
      when the "gaeltachts" as the locals called them, arrived from the West in the
      thirties to take up land commission farms on the divided estates. There were a
      few barn burnings and stuff like that, perpetrated by locals who thought that if
      there was land gettin gev out it should go to locals. Certainly the locals had
      worked the land for the landlords for generations and I wonder about the
      mixture of Soviet style policy and wild west frontierism that led to this
      redistribution. But of course the lads doing the burning were the ones who
      wouldn't do a day's farming to warm themselves - the same bowsies who'd be
      at some other mischief if they hadn't this to occupy their intellects.

Typically, the generation born in the West continue to support their native
      counties, as you might expect. Though there's not many of them left there were
      still a few Mayo flags out in '96. Apart from that they're well integrated now and
      you'd hardly ever see them pouring their tay into the saucer!

The generation born in Meath supports the Royals, in my experience and, as has
      been mentioned, many of them have worn the green and gold with pride.

Posted by dupey on October 05, 2001 at 03:11:08:
posted by Hardyarse on October 04,
          2001 at 14:42:33:

As recently as the 50's there was a large influx of families from Kerry,Clare
          and Galway under the land commisson,however as previously stated they
          have added considerably to the social fabric of the county and many families
          contributed greatly and their sons/daughters have been a major addition to
          the GAA scene especially in rural parts of the county.Its not uncommon to see
          both a meath flag and a galway flag flying from houses in September(wish I
          could say the same about the Mayo feckers,at least their still keeping their
          head down from '96).
          As an aside..jaysus if I was a young lad tending Lord Layabouts estate and
          heard that it was being divided up amongst a load of families from the west
          I'd be a bit worried about my place on the minor team but that would be more
          than compensated by the fresh influx of buxom young lassies!!

Posted by Barna Bee on October 05, 2001 at 02:39:24:
posted by Hardyarse on October 04,
          2001 at 14:42:33:

Thanks for the insight , never new this type of thing went on

Barna Bee

Posted by Ken Reilly on October 04, 2001 at 10:12:03:
posted by Barna Bee on October 04, 2001 at
    06:03:07:

Nope.

Quote from: muppet on October 26, 2007, 01:56:39 AM
GBB what about your former teacher taking the maroon helm?

Ah sure we'll give him a chance anyway. He's a very good coach but a bit of an unknown quantity as far as coaching an intercounty team goes.

bailestil

Been here since Dec 01 according to the EzBoard one. Never posted on the really old threaded board, it was hard enough to read it with ONeil and TF according for 90% of posts on it!

Can still be seen it all its past glory at Archive.org
http://web.archive.org/web/20011004010645/www.gaaboard.com/board/index.html

Frank Casey

Found a few old ones on the archive from 2001. What an angry young man.
KERRY 3:7