The end of christmas

Started by ludermor, November 01, 2007, 12:36:19 PM

Quote from: J70 on November 01, 2007, 04:26:05 PM
Quote from: stew on November 01, 2007, 03:27:18 PM
[ You're entitled to your opinion. I see nothing whatsoever embarrassing about "happy holidays" - its a nice, neutral inclusive greeting and I think people who are riled by it must have little else to worry about!

I am entitled to my opinion and it is completely contrary to yours. People who swan around making things nice and neutral sicken me and I don't worry about too much because worrying doesnt do any good now does it?

Nice, neutral inclusive??? it's Christmas ffs. what gets on my goat are those people who feck around trying to make sure others are as comfortable as posible and everything they stand for is nice and neutral. If a Muslim or Jew comes into Ireland and is offended by the term Christmas he is well within his rights to feack away back to where he came from, good luck getting nice and neutral in a Muslim Country. You do gooders do my head in.

Its not just Christmas in the states though, is it?

So what if it's not. I would have no problem saying happy Hannikka to a Jewish person and at least that is real unlike the happy holidays claptrap. I have a mate from Cyprus and he is Muslim, a Doctor and we played football together up until last year, he has no problem wishing me a happy Christmas and I have no problem wishing him all the best when his Religious days roll around but at least we acknowledge it and not dance around it.

I havent got the time nor inclination to worry about being PC, I just try and be civil to everybody I meet and if we disagree that is ok too but I am not going to try and appease everybody and worry if I have offended them.

Who's saying you need to dance around it with people you know?

Unless you expect businesses, government etc to use greetings for christmas, hanukkah, new year, kwanzaa etc., what is wrong with using "happy holidays" or "season's greetings" or whatever to cover the lot of them?

QuoteI'm just waiting on Pints to come on here and say Ba humbug!! 

Why would I do that  ???

Right

so we get rid of Christmas to please the PC brigade, then what next? St Patricks day, what becomes of that? I have friends who are non christians and they have no problem with us celebrating Christmas, the only thing that annoys them is that the entire place comes to a hault and doesnt take into acount that they are not being catered for. personally, i love it, but then again I have kids.

Do we do away with the St Patricks day and replace it with something else.

Quote from: Square Ball on November 01, 2007, 06:55:27 PM
Right

so we get rid of Christmas to please the PC brigade, then what next? St Patricks day, what becomes of that? I have friends who are non christians and they have no problem with us celebrating Christmas, the only thing that annoys them is that the entire place comes to a hault and doesnt take into acount that they are not being catered for. personally, i love it, but then again I have kids.

Is someone suggesting getting rid of Christmas?

Quote from: supersarsfields on November 01, 2007, 12:39:26 PM
Retailers killed Christmas along time ago!!

And video killed the radio star. Neither have been charged :(

Quote from: J70 on November 01, 2007, 06:59:41 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on November 01, 2007, 06:55:27 PM
Right

Is someone suggesting getting rid of Christmas?
No, I took it a bit, well more than a bit out of context.

Quote from: ziggysego on November 01, 2007, 03:08:26 PM
Quote from: ONeill on November 01, 2007, 02:48:07 PM
I see they dug up a man in Kildress last night. Great to see old Hallowe'en traditions alive and well in some parts of the country.

They did that in Broughderg a few years ago. Some depraved people about.

I have to be honest here Ziggy and say these types of festive practices need to be preserved. It's like the Irish language and packing turf in creels.

What ever about trying to be PC surely this is just madness!!

SYDNEY (AFP) - Santas in Australia's largest city have been told not to use Father Christmas's traditional "ho ho ho" greeting because it may be offensive to women, it was reported Thursday.

(Advertisement)
Sydney's Santa Clauses have instead been instructed to say "ha ha ha" instead, the Daily Telegraph reported.

One disgruntled Santa told the newspaper a recruitment firm warned him not to use "ho ho ho" because it could frighten children and was too close to "ho", a US slang term for prostitute.

"Gimme a break," said Julie Gale, who runs the campaign against sexualising children called Kids Free 2B Kids.

"We are talking about little kids who do not understand that "ho, ho, ho" has any other connotation and nor should they," she told the Telegraph.

"Leave Santa alone."

A local spokesman for the US-based Westaff recruitment firm said it was "misleading" to say the company had banned Santa's traditional greeting and it was being left up to the discretion of the individual Santa himself.

Fcuk I never cease to be amazed at the PC rubbish that emanates from that country - US that is.  >:(

I'll start by saying PC CAN f**k OFF!!!  >:(

Now Ireland is traditionally a christian country, we celebrate christmas. If you dont want to live in a country where only YOUR culture is celebrated, otherwise none at all, then dont move to Ireland.
If I moved to Iran I wouldnt complain about people celebrating muslim holidays, I chose to move there, I would accept their customs.

Also Its been said that in the UK some companies dont put up decorations in case they offend people  ???
How in the name of f**k can christmas decorations offend someone?

I really despair as to where we are going sometimes. This sort of shite is sickening

>:( >:( >:(