British Army Club to compete in London Junior Championship

Started by theticklemister, September 10, 2015, 05:53:49 PM

Quote from: Zulu on September 23, 2015, 11:32:23 AM
Quote from: Snapchap on September 23, 2015, 11:27:03 AM
Quote from: muppet on September 23, 2015, 10:19:01 AM
I am just wondering how we would react, if an Irish Army or Gárdaí team was prohibited from playing Cricket (or any other sport administered from Britain) in an Irish competition.
I suppose the fact that the Irish Army does not currently occupy the north of England and the fact that it has never committed and subsequently covered up, the mass murder of English people in collusion with the Irish government; doesn't exactly mark that out as being much of a parallel scenario.

We can go on forever about the past and although I wouldn't be a fan of the British army many countries (including Britain) saw many more of their people killed by other countries in various conflicts and at some point you have to move on from it. The British don't occupy the 6 counties because they want to but because a number of people living there want then to.

Hmmmmm. I'd think you are wrong there. But not exactly worth pursuing on a GAA thread :)

I am just wondering how we would react, if an Irish Army or Gárdaí team was prohibited from playing Cricket (or any other sport administered from Britain) in an Irish competition.
I suppose the fact that the Irish Army does not currently occupy the north of England and the fact that it has never committed and subsequently covered up, the mass murder of English people in collusion with the Irish government; doesn't exactly mark that out as being much of a parallel scenario.
You may have heard of the oul good Friday Agreement and the referendums(da?) where the vast majority of the Irish voters accepted the terms of the agreement which left the 6 North Eastern Counties of Ireland under British Government jurisdiction??? You can hardly say the Brit Army is "occupying" the 6 counties in that scenario?
I know some folk up North like to live in the past behind the oul barricades of 1690 or whatever on our side but the GAA as usual gets on with the 21st Century.

Quote from: AZOffaly on September 23, 2015, 11:36:27 AM

We can go on forever about the past and although I wouldn't be a fan of the British army many countries (including Britain) saw many more of their people killed by other countries in various conflicts and at some point you have to move on from it. The British don't occupy the 6 counties because they want to but because a number of people living there want then to.

Hmmmmm. I'd think you are wrong there. But not exactly worth pursuing on a GAA thread :)

You're right AZ, not the right forum but I'd say Britain certainly have seen more of their people killed by the French, Germans or Spanish armies than we have by them. Granted, the British asked for their kickings more than we but I think the point still stands.

QuoteDo you see the contradiction? The occupation of the six counties is not in the past. And it's all well and good saying it is there because that's what people in the six counties wanted. It's there because the Irish people as a whole were threatened with "terrible and immediate war" if the treaty were not accepted.
P.S. Are they covering up their mass murder in the six counties because other people want them to, as well? Or is it their own initiative that they're using on that one?

The 'mass murders' are in the past and most countries can point to such atrocities so we all have to move on at some point. The 'occupation' isn't still ongoing under the threat of war, as in most parts of the world you could drive through Ulster and not know who was governing and you certainly wouldn't feel as if you were in an occupied state. Outside of the daftness on the unionist side I'm sure many nationalists lead a life as normal as many of those in the south or anywhere else.

Quote from: Zulu on September 23, 2015, 11:51:00 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 23, 2015, 11:36:27 AM

You're right AZ, not the right forum but I'd say Britain certainly have seen more of their people killed by the French, Germans or Spanish armies than see have by them. Granted, the British asked for their kickings more than we but I think the point still stands.

QuoteDo you see the contradiction? The occupation of the six counties is not in the past. And it's all well and good saying it is there because that's what people in the six counties wanted. It's there because the Irish people as a whole were threatened with "terrible and immediate war" if the treaty were not accepted.
P.S. Are they covering up their mass murder in the six counties because other people want them to, as well? Or is it their own initiative that they're using on that one?

The 'mass murders' are in the past and most countries can point to such atrocities so we all have to move on at some point. The 'occupation' isn't still ongoing under the threat of war, as in most parts of the world you could drive through Ulster and not know who was governing and you certainly wouldn't feel as if you were in an occupied state. Outside of the daftness on the unionist side I'm sure many nationalists lead a life as normal as those the south or anywhere else.

Sorry, I thought you meant the British have had far more of their people killed, than the British have killed other people. I'd say that would be definitely off. The Brits would be way ahead on that score, in total, I'm sure.

Of course not.

I am talking about sport.

I dare say that not one player that togs out will have ever been involved in anything you listed. Of course you will say that is not the point, in which case people will want to move the debate onto symbolic, political arguments and the usual rhetoric. As Paul Brady sang 'We've heard too much of that before'.

But of course, the one thing we won't talk about is lads just wanting to play Gaelic Football.

That's all fair enough, to a point at least, but leaving a few British soldiers have a football team and compete in a British championship has nothing to do with all that. Anyway, if Irish victims of British army murder can't get to the stage where even an Irish unit of the British army playing in a British championship is acceptable how do you expect British victims or unionist victims of Irish republican actions to ever move on? The German army can't be forever tainted by the actions of some units in WW2 and if people want a better future the past has to be let go at some point, no reason it can't be now.

Instead of berating a British GAA unit for accepting a club of British soldiers Snap should berate Gerry and Marty and the rest of the SF crew for dealing with the British Government on a regular basis.
Tell them a about 1918 and the killings by the Brits in the 6  Cos and all your other moa s
Meanwhile the GAA continues with its business in the 21st Century.

foxcommander

Quote from: Snapchap on September 23, 2015, 12:33:30 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 23, 2015, 12:25:04 PM
Instead of berating a British GAA unit for accepting a club of British soldiers Snap should berate Gerry and Marty and the rest of the SF crew for dealing with the British Government on a regular basis.
Tell them a about 1918 and the killings by the Brits in the 6  Cos and all your other moa s

You know, the other lads above are easy enough talked to, but it's very hard to be bothered with someone like yourself who's sole aims is to make himself feel like he's a champion of broadmindedness, and uses sarcasm as a means to this end.

Stand for nothing and you'll fall for anything, as they say. But you just keep looking in the mirror and telling yourself how mature you are and how those bloody stuck-in-the-past nordies don't know the craic about the British Army half as well as you do. Whatever it takes to make you feel good.

Dear Rossfan talks of subject he knows nothing about so pay no attention. He was safe in his cot.
He's following the Fine Gael lines here.
Thankfully he won't see what I wrote because he "ignores" me :D
Every second of the day there's a Democrat telling a lie

You know, the other lads above are easy enough talked to, but it's very hard to be bothered with someone like yourself who's sole aims is to make himself feel like he's a champion of broadmindedness, and uses sarcasm as a means to this end.

Stand for nothing and you'll fall for anything, as they say. But you just keep looking in the mirror and telling yourself how mature you are and how those bloody stuck-in-the-past nordies don't know the craic about the British Army half as well as you do. Whatever it takes to make you feel good.
Good gasùn - lose the argument start abusing the man.
If the 2 largest Nationalist Parties in the 6 Cos can move on so can I.

foxcommander

Quote from: Rossfan on September 23, 2015, 02:53:48 PM

Good gasùn - lose the argument start abusing the man.
If the 2 largest Nationalist Parties in the 6 Cos can move on so can I.

Get over yourself - You never had to "move on". You have no idea what you're spouting about. Tool.
Every second of the day there's a Democrat telling a lie