Mayo V Cork. 16/03/13. McHale Park

Started by moysider, March 11, 2014, 10:15:21 PM

Quote from: Syferus on March 17, 2014, 12:42:32 AM
Quote from: Zulu on March 17, 2014, 12:32:59 AM
But if Mayo are good enough (manager and everything else) "to beat Dublin in a semi but not a final. Good enough to beat a Cork/ Donegal in a quarter or semi but not a final." Then why is it so illogical to suggest it's lack of real quality forwards as opposed to decision making by the sideline. Why is Horan making poor decisions in a final when, if Mayo are winning, he is not in semi and quarter finals?

The decisions he made in the final were bizarre and some even had no precedent. Dublin was really the only team that could have beaten Mayo last year and the margin for error was pretty huge in all their other championship games. Jamesy's mistakes got exposed on the worst stage possible last year.

I think Horan is an exceptional manager and the best Mayo have had in my time watching Connacht football. He's not perfect, though, and if Mayo have any chance this year he needs to learn the lessons of last year's final. The team have to perform too but they did that to a good enough level (against a sub-par Dublin performance) that Horan not having a 'mare would probably have sealed the deal.

That's sport, it's cruel. You can do a mountain of good work and see it undone because of a few poor choices. To ignore that very real facet and blame it on something as nebulous as 'the forwards not being there' doesn't really wash in my eyes.

Correct Syferus.
James has been great for us but not perfect. Who is?
There was the Dublin comeback in 2012 when we were out of sight. He didn t shore things up. It was like watching a car crash.  The Tyrone squeeze last year when we just prayed our way out of trouble and Alan Freeman came up thrumps but somebody did not take it on board. What I realise now is that we are still learning. Even today as Bunker pointed out we watered out the team with subs too early. That s grand now after we won.

But there were positive things with the subs. Seamie for Aidan instead of the soft option. But I d have left Gibbons and Freeman on for the full because they deserve it. Freeman got a great ovation from the crowd and rightly so. Mikey Sweeney got a good hour and rightly so. Great vision again. His size at this level might go against him but he can play.
In fairness to Horan his team had to learn fast because he inherited a mess. Good players but players that couldn t beat Longford and Sligo within weeks of each other. 24 months later play in an AI. And yes we were naieve both on the line and on the pitch.

Anyway today we were 5 points down and flat. Then the crowd got impatient, but expressed it in a positive way and the players responded and put in a seriously impressive 40 mins. The Cork lads lost their strutt and sense of entitlement that comes with their peerage.
Not writing this county off yet >:(

Cork didn't give a toss about the game today. Mayo are in decline and will have to rebuild after 2014 under a new manager . We will not beat Roscommon in Hyde park in June . Too many forwards that are simply shite , how in the name of Christ that Garrymore lad still gets a run , the excitement surrounding that agahamore forward is bordering madness ,he'll be hiding come summer time and how is drake even classed as a footballer the man can't even kick a ball.

Not one find since 2012 , it will be the same shitebags out there again this year.

Quote from: larryin89 on March 17, 2014, 02:03:57 AM
Cork didn't give a toss about the game today. Mayo are in decline and will have to rebuild after 2014 under a new manager . We will not beat Roscommon in Hyde park in June . Too many forwards that are simply shite , how in the name of Christ that Garrymore lad still gets a run , the excitement surrounding that agahamore forward is bordering madness ,he'll be hiding come summer time and how is drake even classed as a footballer the man can't even kick a ball.

Not one find since 2012 , it will be the same shitebags out there again this year.

Larry I have to say i agree with you. It looks like we will not find anybody new this year! Looks like it will be the same old crew when championship arrives. There are a couple of lads on the panel that Horan did not trust to bring on last year when Cunniffe got injured in the AI final and there are a couple of forwards he has put too much trust in. But change in a players form can be like finding a new player and the bonus is that he has been with the panel already, has a bit of experience, knows the system and knows the way things work. A new player is not properly conditioned and only learning the ropes. So it's not as negative as you may think?

As for Cork not giving a toss. Maybe! But could the same be said of Mayos first two league games v Tyrone and Kildare? It's gas when we beat a team then its the opposition who don't give a damn. But when we lose it just down to being useless?

maigheo

jeez Larry come back from the edge.It still amazes me that we have so many supporters who constantly see the glass as half empty.And come to think about it you should withdraw those comments about those players you have just named as they are an absolute disgrace and have no place on this or any forum.I doubt you have kicked a ball in your life and you are  probably one of those so called supporters who think the Mayo team owe you some thing when in realty they have ,in a sporting context, given us some of the best days of our lives.For me the simple reason we have not won the all ireland in the last 2 years is that Donegal and Dublin have been better than us and there is no shame in that.

Some people will laugh but from what I've seen so far this year we'll win gbe AI.
Two marque forward in freeman and COC.

sans pessimism

shitebags you say....you're a real hero
"So Boys stick together
in all kinds of weather"

Quote from: sans pessimism on March 17, 2014, 09:57:47 AM

shitebags you say....you're a real hero

He's obviously fishing for a reaction. Or was pissed writing the post, which still doesn't make him anything more than a shitebag himself.

Quote from: maigheo on March 17, 2014, 02:25:21 AM
jeez Larry come back from the edge.It still amazes me that we have so many supporters who constantly see the glass as half empty.And come to think about it you should withdraw those comments about those players you have just named as they are an absolute disgrace and have no place on this or any forum.I doubt you have kicked a ball in your life and you are  probably one of those so called supporters who think the Mayo team owe you some thing when in realty they have ,in a sporting context, given us some of the best days of our lives.For me the simple reason we have not won the all ireland in the last 2 years is that Donegal and Dublin have been better than us and there is no shame in that.
Bang on, maigheo, Most of that is so elf-obvious that I see no reason to add anything to it.
However, I've bolded your last sentence because, when all is said and done, that's the truth of the matter. There's no shame in being beaten by a better side and as long as the team and management give their best, I won't complain.
Without pointing the finger at anyone in particular, the lack of scoring power up front was the main reason why Mayo came up short on both occasions. In the 2012 final, only two forwards scored from play; Kevin Mac and Mickey C got 3 points between them.
In last year's final, Keith got 0-1 and Andy got 1-2   and no other forward scored from play, including the four subs who cam on.
These sort of returns don't win All Irelands.
Now, whether we need new forwards or new tactics or whatever, we'll haven't a hope of winning this year either unless the forwards can up their performance. There's no escaping from that reality.
There's no point in blaming Horan for poor match ups or the forwards for choking oneach occasion or the cranky oul' priest in Foxford either.
If lessons can be learnt from the past experiences and moves are made to remedy them, I'll accept the result whatever  it may be.

Bod Mor

Dublin were a better team than us last year but had an off day in the final, it was their worst performance of the year and the mistakes we made on the sideline handed them the game. It's as simple as that.
We have to learn and move on. Horan definitely is the man for the job and he's a man that means business this year, unfinished business.
Ó chuir mé 'mo cheann é ní stopfaidh mé choíche
Go seasfaidh mé thíos i lár Chondae Mhaigh Eo.

I keep saying 'if Richie Feeney had played more than he had done in 2 AIFs, we could have won both. Ach sin scéal eile. He mustn't be a good forward...

So after the club final I would say 1) Patrick durcan is a fantastic footballer and should be called up, 2) Barry Moran shouldn't threaten Freeman for ff, 3) Tom cunniffe will add a lot to mayo full back line, 4) eoghan o'Reilly has earned another chance.

Quote from: Tubberman on March 17, 2014, 08:32:05 PM
So after the club final I would say 1) Patrick durcan is a fantastic footballer and should be called up, 2) Barry Moran shouldn't threaten Freeman for ff, 3) Tom cunniffe will add a lot to mayo full back line, 4) eoghan o'Reilly has earned another chance.

You're some chancer! ANd you know what I'm talking about!!!!! ;)

Quote from: Mayo4Sam on March 17, 2014, 02:59:15 AM
Some people will laugh but from what I've seen so far this year we'll win gbe AI.
Two marque forward in freeman and COC.

Clearly posted at about 3am on St.Patrick's Eve ;D