Injuries

Started by ck, December 31, 2010, 12:34:43 AM

Quote from: ballinaman on July 04, 2011, 03:13:17 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 04, 2011, 02:56:16 PM
Something wrong with my knee. Was a little stiff and weak after a couple of hard training sessions in the last couple of weeks but thought it was just one of those things. Yesterday in a game I put the brakes on when going full pelt and got a sharp pain. Played on but didn't feel right throughout, particularly when doing anything but running straight. Iced it immediately I went home but no swelling. Most of the time I wouldn't know anything about it but going up and particularly down stairs is bad and its awkward driving. Am hoping its nothing too serious but have a bad feeling. What should I do?
Sounds like it could be your mesiscus(cartliage in the knee). How is it when ya straighten out your knee fully?? Any clicking? Can you bend it fully? Where excatly do you get pain in the knee

OK - when I go to straighten its really sore when I get to approx 45 degree angle from straight then its fine. No clicking noise but something moving about below and to the right right of the patella (its my right knee so towards the outside) when I pull leg back under me. I have full range of movement and only pain at the point I mentioned above.

Quote from: magpie seanie on July 04, 2011, 03:24:31 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on July 04, 2011, 03:13:17 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 04, 2011, 02:56:16 PM
Something wrong with my knee. Was a little stiff and weak after a couple of hard training sessions in the last couple of weeks but thought it was just one of those things. Yesterday in a game I put the brakes on when going full pelt and got a sharp pain. Played on but didn't feel right throughout, particularly when doing anything but running straight. Iced it immediately I went home but no swelling. Most of the time I wouldn't know anything about it but going up and particularly down stairs is bad and its awkward driving. Am hoping its nothing too serious but have a bad feeling. What should I do?
Sounds like it could be your mesiscus(cartliage in the knee). How is it when ya straighten out your knee fully?? Any clicking? Can you bend it fully? Where excatly do you get pain in the knee

OK - when I go to straighten its really sore when I get to approx 45 degree angle from straight then its fine. No clicking noise but something moving about below and to the right right of the patella (its my right knee so towards the outside) when I pull leg back under me. I have full range of movement and only pain at the point I mentioned above.

Might have pinched cartliage at tibiofemoral joint by the sounds of it or else strained your lateral collateral ligament in the knee. Stairs is a give away for cartliage. Do your standard RICE until you get seen by a Physio, doctor will only send ya to a physio anyways. If its a bad tear, you might need a scope to trim back the torn cartliage, its a v quick op and with decent rehab ya'll be flying. If just a pinch, you'll be grand with rest, knee streghthening and balance exercises. Hope goes ok!PM me there if ya have anymore questions...ps..i'm a physio.

Fair play to you, that's very helpful. I'm going to send you a pm.

Didn't know you can pinch cartliage, that must be what I done a couple of years ago to my hip. Hip flexor felt tight during a game and that night every time I moved my leg in bed I woke myself up with the pain. Doctor thought it was cartliage alright but MRI didn't show up anything and he certainly didn't mention anything about pinched cartliage. It's been grand since.

You have me worried about my knees now though, they've always clicked when I straighten them and if I keep repeating that motion (like starting a motorbike) they will eventually loudly click and then stop clicking altogether (well for about 10 mins). Don't suffer from pain in the knee though, am I likely to suffer knee/cartliage problems down the line?

Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 04, 2011, 04:01:39 PM
Didn't know you can pinch cartliage, that must be what I done a couple of years ago to my hip. Hip flexor felt tight during a game and that night every time I moved my leg in bed I woke myself up with the pain. Doctor thought it was cartliage alright but MRI didn't show up anything and he certainly didn't mention anything about pinched cartliage. It's been grand since.

You have me worried about my knees now though, they've always clicked when I straighten them and if I keep repeating that motion (like starting a motorbike) they will eventually loudly click and then stop clicking altogether (well for about 10 mins). Don't suffer from pain in the knee though, am I likely to suffer knee/cartliage problems down the line?
Cartliage is softer than bone so it can be compressed(talking fractions of a millimetre), can give the symptoms of a tear..ie sore as f**k. Just need to unload it,ie rest,lengthen, strengthen,foot biomechanics. You could have had an inflamed hip flexor tendon by the sounds of it also. GAA is rife for hip injuries compared to soccer and rugby. I wouldn't worry too much about knees clicking if they always have and don't produce pain. Its akin to cracking knuckles, no evidence to show that it can predispose you to arthritis or cartliage problem.
Clicking in the knee with pain and with no history of previous clicking is what you shoould be mindful of.

Thanks ballinaman, another victory for the gaaboard.

Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 04, 2011, 04:49:01 PM
No bother! :D This goes for every player on the board, get those gleuts firing and stronger to take pressure off hamstring and hip because you wouldn't believe how many players i see with the same problems!

Quote from: ballinaman on July 04, 2011, 04:54:35 PM
No bother! :D This goes for every player on the board, get those gleuts firing and stronger to take pressure off hamstring and hip because you wouldn't believe how many players i see with the same problems!

Any advice on backs.  I fractured a bone in my lower back about 5 weeks ago and could hardly walk until about 10 days ago.  I'm mostly pain free now except when I am stretching or on long car journeys.  Im due to head to Orlando on 16th and would like to be ok if possible to try the roller coasters

Quote from: David McKeown on July 04, 2011, 05:37:25 PM

Any advice on backs.  I fractured a bone in my lower back about 5 weeks ago and could hardly walk until about 10 days ago.  I'm mostly pain free now except when I am stretching or on long car journeys.  Im due to head to Orlando on 16th and would like to be ok if possible to try the roller coasters
Depends on the severity of the fracture. Bone healing usually takes about 6 weeks,months to regain full strength so I would be cautious with the rollercoasters, fair amount of G force generated on the bigger ones and you don't need that going into your spine.

supersub

Just a note on meniscus, if it is just pinched, what is the recommended rest period? And should you not do any form of cardio during this time?

Quote from: ballinaman on July 04, 2011, 05:56:17 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on July 04, 2011, 05:37:25 PM

Depends on the severity of the fracture. Bone healing usually takes about 6 weeks,months to regain full strength so I would be cautious with the rollercoasters, fair amount of G force generated on the bigger ones and you don't need that going into your spine.

Cheers they had suggested it wasnt overly severe and should have healed within two to three weeks

take_yer_points

Lads

I've been doing some running (on a treadmill) and circuit training since new year and a week ago I felt a pain in my groin and thigh – since then it has moved down to the knee. My knee feels weak when I put weight on it and I need to limp a bit while walking – the pain isn't really noticeable when I'm sitting down. The pain sometimes returns to my thigh but nothing like what it was before. I've bought a strap and have been keeping the knee elevated at night and they are helping a bit but it's just not right. Any ideas what could be going on? I'm mad looking back into the gym but I'm afraid of doing more damage.