Sean cavanagh moans about footy

Started by Orchardman, January 26, 2012, 09:24:02 PM

Quote from: ballymac on January 30, 2012, 12:11:18 PM
I think you will get to hear and see a bit more of Sean, I believe he is going to be a pundit on tv3 (just a rumour) but I agree with what he is saying. If you seen Derry play on Saturday night (Peter Robinson did) you would have seen at least 12 players behind the ball when they had lost a player. They were slow coming out of defense, going sideways and backwards. Strangely when the played directly into their forwards they got great reward.
Tyrone when they played puke football was the opinion of an overrated pundit, a great player but a bitter pundit who helped to alienate Kerry. Jack O Connor has also helped him in this matter, although he has directed his fury at Tyrone. Kerry great footballers that they are have shown themselves as poor losers in recent times, but that is why they are winners. They talk about the way that they win things but do not like it when they lose.
Sean might be better sticking to football but he is well qualified to speak about it. Even Kerry people agree he is one of the best about, but the way teams now have 12 in defense it is very difficult for players of hios ability to get room to run at players.

I think if you watch the game closely you will see that Derry were not the only side to play so many players in defence!
Derry's system broke down completely with the sending off and that is something they need to work on IMO. What to do if they do go a man down...they seemed a bit clueless on this occasion.
Stones, glass houses, pots, kettles and all that...you'd think tyrone dont play defensive football to listen to some people though.

ballymac

Hi tbrick18 Derry lost their way with the loss of their midfielder, but even before that they played a very defensive style, even the Derry supporters beside me were bemoaning the fact that the ball was moved sideways and then backwards. Derry may have made 20 passes to move forward 10yrds and indeed on numerous occassions were well inside the Tyrone 45 line only to pass backwards and sidewards again and again. Yet when they moved the ball quickly out of defense into attack they made good inroads with only 2 forwards. The problem for them was when the ball was played long out of defense the runners had too far to run to get up with the play.
As for Kettle and glass houses etc don't believe everything that Pat Spillane would want you to believe  ;)

sheamy

Lads, every team plays defensive football. Are there any left who don't drop both midfielders at least two half forwards back to defend? Don't think so.

Derry lost their shape because they lost a man and their main ball carrier was taken out of the game. They posted 1-5 to 0-2 in the first 30mins. Now if they can repeat that for 70mins I don't care if they go backwards, sideways or round the back of the stand to be honest.

Cavanagh's teams probably helped make it fashionable to be honest. They also played some of the best football I've seen in 2005 and 2008. This is Sean doing what he does best (apart from diving) and that's looking attention. Poor soul not had much media coverage lately. He's getting back on the saddle now though.

What's this 'footy' craic about anyway?

It's youngsters reared on Hoime 'N' Awoy and Noibas.

Two Hands FFS

Regardless of the opinion here on Cavanagh...he's telling the truth!!!!

Moortown Spuds

Quiet GAA day? Ring Sean;

Sean Cavanagh has called on the GAA to copy the international rules model and use two referees to help clean up Gaelic football.

The four-time Tyrone All Star and former Ireland captain believes radical change is needed to address a game that is in danger of becoming 'ugly'. He also supports the introduction of a video referee to speed up disciplinary proceedings and a restriction on the number of consecutive handpasses to ensure kicking doesn't become a dying art.

"In international rules, you've always got a second referee at the other end of the field watching out for off-the-ball incidents and he can call a free," he told Philip Lanigan in the Irish Mail on Sunday.

"I honestly believe the GAA at some stage could look at reducing the number of umpires or linesman or whatever they have to do in order to engage another referee. You know as a player that one, you're getting protected - you're not getting thrown around or messed around off the ball - and two, nothing is going to be missed."

With the fall-out from the brawl that marred the All-Ireland junior club final between Dromid Pearses and Derrytresk still continuing, he claims such a move could help avoid such flashpoints.

"If there was a second referee there who would look after the off-the-ball stuff, it would leave less rows on the pitch.

"In the rules series as well there was the video referee and everybody knew they couldn't step out of line so it gave the players a real sense of security."