Back to Back All Irelands are tough

Started by magickingdom, July 26, 2009, 09:37:59 PM

Quote from: Kerry Mike on August 26, 2009, 08:20:26 PM
Great sleep last night MK, woke up once and for a micro second thought that Tyrone were back in the final and then I knew I was dreaming  ;)

That makes a change, it's usually your nightmares that we inhabit!  ;)

I can see the likeness in Freddie Kruger and Ryan McMenimen alright, just like his long lost child. But like any nightmare they fade away to more pleasant thoughts

crossfire

Quote from: western exile on August 24, 2009, 07:00:57 PM
It is indisputable that Kerry have won more Sam Maguire than Tyrone this decade.
The main case being put forward by some posters  that Tyrone are better because they have beaten Kerry the 3 times that they met in the Championship.  To address this point, let me use an example of a decade from history....
In the '60s, Down could justifiably claim to be the team of the decade (hold fire please Galway posters and indulge me for the sake of making this point!).
However, when you talk to Cavan people who were around during that decade, they will all tell you that Down should have won more than 3 AI then but for the fact that Cavan consistently beat them in Ulster Final. So, were Cavan better than Down in the '60s?  Some would say that they were.  But does that make them the team of that decade? No, of course not.

Back to this decade....  It is a good record that Tyrone have over Kerry, but that feat alone does  not make them the team of the decade, no more than it would make Cavan the  team of the '60s.

P.S. The Galway 3 in a row is in no way diminished  ;D

From 1959 to 1969 Cavan and Down met in 8 Ulster finals and won 4 apiece. You could hardly say that Cavan consistently beat them. ::)

crossfire

Quote from: Trevor Hill on August 25, 2009, 10:25:36 PM
All this talk of team of the decade is nonsense. Tyrone were nowhere a decade ago, they have managed3 All Irelands in the last 6 years but they will disappear again, just like Armagh did in 2005. Whereas Kerry are Kerry. Form is temporary. Class is permanent.
Typical Downman, they do not want to see any other team from the north being successful.
I was working with a number of Down fans in 1993 and they all wanted Cork to beat Derry so that Down would still be the only team to take Sam across the border.  ???

Lamh Dhearg Alba

Quote from: longrunsthefox on August 26, 2009, 05:01:58 PM

They have absoultly been anything but gracious in defeat in recent years.. from Spillane to Sean Walsh to Jack O'Connor's book and their supporters. For years we admired Kerry here in Tyrone especially in the 70s and 80s glory years. What begrudgers they turned out to be when we started to beat them . Horrible shower.

Youre out of order there fox. The individuals you mention (and our good friend on this board Mike Sheehy ;D) are the only examples I can think of. Far outweighed by the rest of their countyfolk who took what must have been very painful championship defeats with class and dignity. I have fond memories of Ger O' Keefe in particular immediately after the 2005 final, at a time when Mickey Harte was breaking down with the emotion of winnig Sam for Cormac, speaking wonderfully and doing himself and his county huge credit. You dont tar a whole county due to the actions or words of a tiny minority. There have been a few eejit Tyrone fans on this board over the years but that doesnt mean the vast majority of Tyrone people havent taken defeats with good grace.

As for the thread topic I think outside circumstances made successful defences pretty much impossible in 2004 and 2006. This year was different and on the day Tyrone were beaten by a better side, no complaints with that. Even if Tyrone disappear for a few years though Ive no doubt that history will still judge this team as great regardless of not winning back to back titles. 3 All-Irelands in 5 years is a wonderful achievement at any time but in the light of what happened to that squad of players and what they came through their achievements were all the more special. And who knows there could be more to come still.

NaomhBridAbú

Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on August 26, 2009, 11:38:48 PM

They have absoultly been anything but gracious in defeat in recent years.. from Spillane to Sean Walsh to Jack O'Connor's book and their supporters. For years we admired Kerry here in Tyrone especially in the 70s and 80s glory years. What begrudgers they turned out to be when we started to beat them . Horrible shower.

Youre out of order there fox. The individuals you mention (and our good friend on this board Mike Sheehy ;D) are the only examples I can think of. Far outweighed by the rest of their countyfolk who took what must have been very painful championship defeats with class and dignity. I have fond memories of Ger O' Keefe in particular immediately after the 2005 final, at a time when Mickey Harte was breaking down with the emotion of winnig Sam for Cormac, speaking wonderfully and doing himself and his county huge credit. You dont tar a whole county due to the actions or words of a tiny minority. There have been a few eejit Tyrone fans on this board over the years but that doesnt mean the vast majority of Tyrone people havent taken defeats with good grace.

As for the thread topic I think outside circumstances made successful defences pretty much impossible in 2004 and 2006. This year was different and on the day Tyrone were beaten by a better side, no complaints with that. Even if Tyrone disappear for a few years though Ive no doubt that history will still judge this team as great regardless of not winning back to back titles. 3 All-Irelands in 5 years is a wonderful achievement at any time but in the light of what happened to that squad of players and what they came through their achievements were all the more special. And who knows there could be more to come still.

agree - well said
in the land of the blind, the one-eyed man is king. but he still only has one eye

we said lda, i see mickey harte quoted in todays times as saying he could see up to 6 of the minor team playing senior soon. as i said earlier tyrone will be one of the favourites next year with their 'new found' hunger after this years disappointment. .

In the Onion Bag

Quote from: magickingdom on August 27, 2009, 07:05:52 PM

well said Lda, i see mickey harte quoted in todays times as saying he could see up to 6 of the minor team playing senior soon. as i said earlier tyrone will be one of the favourites next year with their 'new found' hunger after this years disappointment. .

I enjoy the banter as much as the next one but now that this week's bragging rights have been claimed its really nice to see the above mutual respect between true Gaels come to the surface.  We have a quality game so lets enjoy it, banter and all but respect and humility are also v-important.