Best Speech or teamtalk

Started by bennydorano, June 09, 2008, 02:25:51 PM

Sean McGourty once psyched Paul Buchanan up to bursting point in the Vocationals All-Ireland Final of 1980 by telling him Raffos were doing cowboy suppers at half price if the side won.

Quote from: Kerry Mike on June 09, 2008, 06:47:08 PM
Paidi O'Se to John Egan before the 1980 AI final.

"I suppose you're going for a few pints afterwards".  "Yerra Paidi I suppose we will"

Getting psyched up Kerry style :P

Tom Humphries has published a different version of that - apparently Paudi was an awful man for the nerves before a big game, during the parade with O'Se apopletic with nerves Egan taps him on the shoulder - "where are we going tonight Paudi"?

Not sure who's lying, Kerry Mike or Tom but I'll give you the benefit of the doubt Mike ;)

We can't forget Timmy Ryan's speech to the Glengooley hurlers before the County Under 12 final in the mid 90's :D
Some great lines
'The standard of namecalling in this club is absolutely diobolocal - there's no point running up to a fella, sticking your tongue out, calling him a sissy and running away. You insult his mother, insult his grandmother, insult his sister, insult every seed bleeding generation of him, insult the shite out of him. He hits you, you hit the deck, fourteen men versus fifteen, Jaysus lads its very easy."

'I put a big personal effort off myself this year'

'Ye'll know all about it next year when yer Under 14.'

"I don't want ye coming back in here with sweat stained jerseys, I want ye coming back in here with blood stained jerseys. Let every blow be a funeral. And lads . . .   Go out there . . . And enjoy yerselves!"

winsamsoon

Best speech ever came from Tony Scullion a few years back at my local club. Scullion came in and looked all nice and trimmed. After about 20 minutes of kicking tables, throwing bags and shouting  every lad in the changing room were ready to climb everest. Needless to say Scullion wasn't nice and trimmed when he came back out  :D :D
I never forget a face but in your case I will make an exception.

Mickey Linden

We were playing in a minor match against some Belfast team. At half time our manager said look fellas them shower dont even know each others name for fcuk sake we know each other that well we court each others girlfriends!

young anail

Must be something in the Derry air. I've heard great reports and stories about big Adrian Mc Guckin being a serious motivator.