Mayo v Kerry 2nd March. Beo ar TG4

Started by Farrandeelin, February 13, 2014, 08:56:13 PM

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 02, 2014, 11:09:02 PM
I listened on MWR and there appeared to be a lot of ball going into the forwards for a while which had no one to win them. Will Barry Moran have a role to play in there in the summer. Keith Higgins sounded unstoppable when running from deep, rather than dead footed as ya can be if ya have the ball coming into you.

Not true. Freeman won his fair share as did Conroy. Gallagher not so much but as I said earlier playing him in the corner was never going to work. Why not put Harrison or Higgins in there instead? Gallagher is as alien to that. Why not let a kid settle and develop confidence in a role he knows and is good at before throwing him into an unfamiliar role.

Without wanting to be negative the McLoughlin, Gallagher, and Boyle experiments were never a runner. The Higgins thing as a forward may have some merit in some circumstances. The others are just never going to work out.

Quote from: Lar Naparka on March 02, 2014, 10:47:31 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 02, 2014, 10:16:11 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on March 02, 2014, 04:30:52 PM
Quote from: Kimbap on March 02, 2014, 04:20:20 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on March 02, 2014, 04:03:48 PM
Quote from: Chimley on March 02, 2014, 03:12:59 PM
Win, lose or draw from here, Mayo look very poor today and so far this year.

Totally agree , Mayo are fooked and will not be the slightest bit surprised if we came a cropper in the Hyde in June .

Thats a typical over the top attitude that seems to effect some of our supporters.

Horan is still trying out new players.The team isnt at championship pitch yet.We bet Kerry by 5 points and you're focusing on the negative and saying we'll lose a game three months from now,ffs.

And there's the other end of the scale that never see anything wrong with Mayo under Horan.

Have Mayo been poor  in the league so far, yes they have , nothing sensationalist about it.

Today's game could of gone either way , Kerry looked far sharper for a lot of the game but as per they seem to run out of steam lately.

The hits that Kerry were putting in during the first half made Mayo look very boy like .

The elephant in the room that nobody is willing to air their opinion on is Andy Moran, he's finished as a starter .

The full back line is atrocious and a very exposed line everytime ,hennelly is not as solid as Clarke.

They are some points imo that make for my verdict of poor form, if you disagree fair enough , doesn't make you right.

June 8th v Roscommon, if you're a betting man get on the Rossie to end their thirteen year famine against the mighty Mayo.

I wouldn t despair Larry although at times today we didn t look great.

I think Andy was always mostly about leadership and cleverness in possession rather than fleetness of foot. Today he handled a sight of ball in deep positions and I thought he used it well and constructively while others just wanted to force things and we were getting dispossessed. Again today when we moved the ball quickly through the hands we cut them up. But a few continue to take too much out of the ball.

Surprised they started Gallagher in a strange position in the corner and disappointed he wasn t switched before he was taken off. Hope it doesn t damage his confidence. He s not a corner man and this trial was unnecessary. Doherty, Freeman and Varley all did very well. As did Harrison. His display was very heartening. I didn t think the fb line was bad once Higgins settled back in there and putting Higgins back was the correct decision under the circumstances.

I also felt we had a more resolute look about us at the end with Seamie and Vaughan on the pitch.

Look, the 2 points was the important bit today and a few players will be feeling better about themselves after good showings. 2 more wins and we re safe. 3 wins and we ll get a bonus game in a semi. I d take a bit of rustiness as long as the core players get back to fitness and we don t lose likes of a Boyle, Aidan, Keegan, McLoughlin or God forbid Higgins.I thought our appetite was obvious today and attitude/discipline was good too. I m not despairing yet. We might give the Rossies a game yet in Summer!
I was far happier leaving the grounds than I was going in.
For one thing, all the regulars seem to be willing and able to get stuck in again. It's early days yet but it seems they've shrugged off the disappointment of last September and are up and running. For another, lads like  Gibbons and Doherty are going to fight for places on the championship  panel instead of resigning themselves to sitting on their backsides on the subs' bench once again. Also, Alan Freeman is showing form and he was easily the best forward on view today- IMO anyway. If he keeps it up, God knows where we will wind up this year.
I'm a little bit more confident that we'll scrape past Roscommon. ;D
I thought the passing both by hand and foot was very good at times. Better than the aimless hoofing and thumping that I've seen to date.I know the outcome was in doubt right up to the closing minutes but Kerry don't want to be relegated either and they weren't there just to make up the numbers.
I'm  happy that the team is beginning to take shape and that's enough to be going on.

Ah now lads i must say i'm glad to see we are on your mind even after div one win against Kerry ;)

Quote from: ross4life on March 03, 2014, 12:11:13 AM

Totally agree , Mayo are fooked and will not be the slightest bit surprised if we came a cropper in the Hyde in June .

Thats a typical over the top attitude that seems to effect some of our supporters.

Horan is still trying out new players.The team isnt at championship pitch yet.We bet Kerry by 5 points and you're focusing on the negative and saying we'll lose a game three months from now,ffs.

And there's the other end of the scale that never see anything wrong with Mayo under Horan.

Have Mayo been poor  in the league so far, yes they have , nothing sensationalist about it.

Today's game could of gone either way , Kerry looked far sharper for a lot of the game but as per they seem to run out of steam lately.

The hits that Kerry were putting in during the first half made Mayo look very boy like .

The elephant in the room that nobody is willing to air their opinion on is Andy Moran, he's finished as a starter .

The full back line is atrocious and a very exposed line everytime ,hennelly is not as solid as Clarke.

They are some points imo that make for my verdict of poor form, if you disagree fair enough , doesn't make you right.

June 8th v Roscommon, if you're a betting man get on the Rossie to end their thirteen year famine against the mighty Mayo.

I think Andy was always mostly about leadership and cleverness in possession rather than fleetness of foot. Today he handled a sight of ball in deep positions and I thought he used it well and constructively while others just wanted to force things and we were getting dispossessed. Again today when we moved the ball quickly through the hands we cut them up. But a few continue to take too much out of the ball.

Surprised they started Gallagher in a strange position in the corner and disappointed he wasn t switched before he was taken off. Hope it doesn t damage his confidence. He s not a corner man and this trial was unnecessary. Doherty, Freeman and Varley all did very well. As did Harrison. His display was very heartening. I didn t think the fb line was bad once Higgins settled back in there and putting Higgins back was the correct decision under the circumstances.

I also felt we had a more resolute look about us at the end with Seamie and Vaughan on the pitch.

Look, the 2 points was the important bit today and a few players will be feeling better about themselves after good showings. 2 more wins and we re safe. 3 wins and we ll get a bonus game in a semi. I d take a bit of rustiness as long as the core players get back to fitness and we don t lose likes of a Boyle, Aidan, Keegan, McLoughlin or God forbid Higgins.I thought our appetite was obvious today and attitude/discipline was good too. I m not despairing yet. We might give the Rossies a game yet in Summer!
For one thing, all the regulars seem to be willing and able to get stuck in again. It's early days yet but it seems they've shrugged off the disappointment of last September and are up and running. For another, lads like  Gibbons and Doherty are going to fight for places on the championship  panel instead of resigning themselves to sitting on their backsides on the subs' bench once again. Also, Alan Freeman is showing form and he was easily the best forward on view today- IMO anyway. If he keeps it up, God knows where we will wind up this year.
I thought the passing both by hand and foot was very good at times. Better than the aimless hoofing and thumping that I've seen to date.I know the outcome was in doubt right up to the closing minutes but Kerry don't want to be relegated either and they weren't there just to make up the numbers.
I'm  happy that the team is beginning to take shape and that's enough to be going on.

Ah now lads i must say i'm glad to see we are on your mind even after div one win against Kerry ;)

Well, it could be Leitrim, Sligo or Galway, but it s Roscommon we play first in championship this year. And Championship is the only show in town. If championship doesn t get ye nervy forget about it.

Quote from: moysider on March 03, 2014, 12:21:10 AM
Well, it could be Leitrim, Sligo or Galway, but it s Roscommon we play first in championship this year. And Championship is the only show in town. If championship doesn t get ye nervy forget about it.
Thanks for the vote of confidence but we have to beat Leitrim first.

Quote from: ross4life on March 03, 2014, 12:41:47 AM
Quote from: moysider on March 03, 2014, 12:21:10 AM
Thanks for the vote of confidence but we have to beat Leitrim first.

Right. And if Leitrim take ye then we ll have them to worry about. 2006 they nearly done us.

Kimbap

I'd prefer Clarke and just one free taker in o Connor,all likely by the start of the championship.Calm down after we just bet Kerry on the first days of march.Dont be giving off the comical mayo supporter going bertie when everything goes wrong and off the charts when it works out.Show a bit of intelligence g'lad.

Quote from: Kimbap on March 03, 2014, 10:23:42 AM

I'd prefer Clarke and just one free taker in o Connor,all likely by the start of the championship.Calm down after we just bet Kerry on the first days of march.Dont be giving off the comical mayo supporter going bertie when everything goes wrong and off the charts when it works out.Show a bit of intelligence g'lad.

Erm it would seem I'm doing the opposite in fact .

Kimbap

You're not a genius or prophet telling us they havent been "Sensationalist" in the league so far.Good performance against  a wound up Kerry team in March.We won it as well,lots of lads off championship pace.Only way is up,Horan knows a bit how to motivate and time his troops to be primed more than you id wager.

Look, the 2 points was the important bit today and a few players will be feeling better about themselves after good showings. 2 more wins and we re safe. 3 wins and we ll get a bonus game in a semi. I d take a bit of rustiness as long as the core players get back to fitness and we don t lose likes of a Boyle, Aidan, Keegan, McLoughlin or God forbid Higgins. I thought our appetite was obvious today and attitude/discipline was good too. I m not despairing yet. We might give the Rossies a game yet in Summer!

Good post and critical point in my mind.

Ahh will ya stop talking shite man and if you want to reply to a post at least read it. Kimbap

Kimbap

Quote from: larryin89 on March 03, 2014, 01:57:42 PM
Ahh will ya stop talking shite man and if you want to reply to a post at least read it. Kimbap

Think i did read it,you dont seem to be able to judge a game or situation on its merits,its either boom or bust looking down into you pint.

Two points is a result.Performance wasnt great,this game will have no bearing on a game in 3 moths,do you know anything about football?

QuoteAnd there's the other end of the scale that never see anything wrong with Mayo under Horan.

The hits that Kerry were putting in during the first half made Mayo look very boy like

Larry, some of your points are well observed but you seem to get confused and muddled and then people can't respond properly.
You say,
"Kerry looked far sharper for a lot of the game but as per they seem to run out of steam lately."

Does that mean they were sharper for a while but then they became tired so they actually weren't sharper at all or do you mean lately as in the last few months?

You say,
"The hits that Kerry were putting in during the first half made Mayo look very boy like" .

Does this mean that we became men in the 2nd half? Calling or alluding to our inter county footballers as boys when hiding behind a web forum is boyish in the extreme on your part. You should be ashamed.

Again you state,
"The full back line is atrocious and a very exposed line everytime ,hennelly is not as solid as Clarke."

Did you miss the point blank save by Hennelly? Are you on about kick outs? The full back line is a work in progress. I wouldn't think there is a county team in the country with a settled full back line. These new rules don't favour backs either so I would wait and see after another 2 games where we are going. I thought holding Kerry scoreless in the 2nd half for almost a 20 minute spell was an improvement and young Harrison did very well all things considered.

You state,
"The elephant in the room that nobody is willing to air their opinion on is Andy Moran, he's finished as a starter ."

Andy would be the first to admit he was off pace yesterday. You have to remember its the first week in March and the lads have a busy training schedule. Andy is far from finished.

Finally, you slated Horan on here a few weeks back and were concluding that some sort of vendetta was in place by him for not starting Freezer. It's a pity that you couldn't acknowledge some positive aspects from yesterday like a fresh Freezer blowing Kerry apart.

Woohoo shtall the digger there buck.

Far sharper in the opening exchanges , I thought Kerry looked like  winning until around the 50 th minute give or take a min. They seemed to score with relative ease in comparison to we did too.

The hard hits I referred to was just the way I seen it , maybe I'm wrong , I just felt we were being overpowered in the first half in all 50/50 ball and shoulder to shoulder exchanges .

Hennelly v Clarke, I feel more secure with Clarke , is that such a biggy .

Andy Moran , I'm not sure and it's a tough one but he slows play down too much imo of late . I did say he is finished as a starter but he still has a lot to offer . When you're losing a 20 metre sprint with an aging aom , alls not well.

Finally, I couldn't give two fooks for personal shite about freemangate/feeneygate or any other . For me the cause of Mayo football is far bigger than any of that nonsense , players and managers will come and go , I'll still be in the stands roaring  them on long after.

Quote from: larryin89 on March 03, 2014, 04:53:13 PM
Woohoo shtall the digger there buck.

Far sharper in the opening exchanges , I thought Kerry looked like  winning until around the 50 th minute give or take a min. They seemed to score with relative ease in comparison to we did too.

The hard hits I referred to was just the way I seen it , maybe I'm wrong , I just felt we were being overpowered in the first half in all 50/50 ball and shoulder to shoulder exchanges .

Hennelly v Clarke, I feel more secure with Clarke , is that such a biggy .

Andy Moran , I'm not sure and it's a tough one but he slows play down too much imo of late . I did say he is finished as a starter but he still has a lot to offer . When you're losing a 20 metre sprint with an aging aom , alls not well.

Finally, I couldn't give two fooks for personal shite about freemangate/feeneygate or any other . For me the cause of Mayo football is far bigger than any of that nonsense , players and managers will come and go , I'll still be in the stands roaring  them on long after.

Have to agree with points 1,2 4 and 5 , not sure on 3.

Having to address the potential impact Andy and Alan will have this year will be a big issue. Both have been great servants to Mayo football and have put their hearts and souls into it.