GAA star dies of suspected sudden adult death syndrome

Started by Eamonnca1, January 06, 2012, 06:50:25 PM

maigheo

Quote from: muppet on January 10, 2012, 12:04:56 AM
Quote from: stephenite on January 09, 2012, 11:59:57 PM
Lar-Maigheo is correct. Different Morley, obviously an honest mistake

They are brothers (as in the lad was Gordon's brother).
Jason Morley was a brother of Tony Morley who played for mayo back in the early 90s amd not Gordan Morley.

Geoff Tipps

Quote from: muppet on January 10, 2012, 12:04:56 AM
Quote from: stephenite on January 09, 2012, 11:59:57 PM
Lar-Maigheo is correct. Different Morley, obviously an honest mistake

They are brothers (as in the lad was Gordon's brother).

Jesus lads will ye read the article. He's no relation to Gordon but is Tony Morley's brother.
RIP Jason

I'm afraid I goofed here. Sorry about that.
I first heard the news of Jason's death from my brother in Ballina when we were chatting on the phone. He told me he heard that Gordon was the person in question. As Eamonn quoted the news report and quotes on this board are a damn nuisance to read at the best of times, I just glanced through it, assuming the bro had his facts correct.

Glad to know Gordon is still very much with us but that doesn't lessen the tragedy for Jason's family and friends.
God comfort them all.

What is going on here? This is getting very scary at this point. It seems to be we hear about at least 4 or 5 a year. I hope someone is putting work in trying to investigate is there something about the way we are preparing, eating or societal that is contributing to this. Obviously deepest condolences to his family, his friends and his club. RIP.

Farneylawd2011

My 4 year old niece was in for a heart operation a few weeks ago as the consultant said she'd likely drop dead in her 20s or 30s without warning if not sorted. The docs only knew she needed surgery as she had a routine heart scan as a baby due to being premature. The consultant said that loads of people are born with minor abnormalities in their heart but these are exacerbated in adulthood due to the sheer size of the body and if put under stress regardless of how fit the individual is.

NaomhBridAbú

in the land of the blind, the one-eyed man is king. but he still only has one eye

Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 24, 2012, 01:10:49 AM
My 4 year old niece was in for a heart operation a few weeks ago as the consultant said she'd likely drop dead in her 20s or 30s without warning if not sorted. The docs only knew she needed surgery as she had a routine heart scan as a baby due to being premature. The consultant said that loads of people are born with minor abnormalities in their heart but these are exacerbated in adulthood due to the sheer size of the body and if put under stress regardless of how fit the individual is.

A very good friend of mine has the same problem, by chance he found out he had the defect which can cause the sudden death syndrome.

With more people playing sport and with training methods evolving these deaths may happen a lot more. Screening needs to be done a lot earlier. My friend for years always complained with palpitations after game but put it down to effort being put into the game (I should have recognised early on cause he lacked effort  :D :D)

Had he continued to play and train with knowing, he could have died, he went for the operation, they thought there was one hole in his heart but found two. A year on and he's fine but still gets the odd palpitations but hopefully everything will be grand.