Brendan Smyth - a betrayal of trust

Started by micko12368, March 13, 2011, 09:53:56 PM

Quote from: Orior on March 14, 2011, 12:58:51 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on March 14, 2011, 12:38:41 PM
I know that priests who have committed abuse have went before the courts but has anyone from the catholic church been prosecuted for not reporting the crimes, with holding information and evidence stood trial yet?  As someone else pointed out, this is nearly as bad.  Terrible things happen when good people do nothing

That's been going on for centuries - think of the Inquisition.

Would you envisage setting up a team to hunt the culprits out - a bit like the Nazi hunters?

They will not be punished because there is no spine to the law in this country. Just the same as with the bankers. Our only cardinal thinks it is ok to make kids swear an oath to stay silent about these things. You watched the program, make up your own mind whether that is right or wrong. If you want to punish them stop going to mass, pray to God at home and whatever money you put in the tray on a Sunday give it to a charity of your choice. Money and power is all that the catholic church rule makers are interested in so thats what you use to punish them.

HiMucker

Im not just on about the abuse in Ireland by priests, but world wide.  If the chairman of a football club knew that one of the coaches was abusing kids, but did not report it, apologised to the parents, and then moved him to another underage team were he abused more children, he would be placed before the courts and righty so.  The punishment they would get form the courts would be disgracefully lenient anyhow. 

Banana Man

watching part 2 of this now and the acting is that bad it is actually doing a dis service to the story, absolutley shocking the quality or sorry lack of quality

btw the hoor needs castrated

Quote from: Banana Man on March 14, 2011, 09:56:34 PM
watching part 2 of this now and the acting is that bad it is actually doing a dis service to the story, absolutley shocking the quality or sorry lack of quality

You'd have to dig him up first.

Banana Man

Quote from: mylestheslasher on March 14, 2011, 10:12:29 PM

good point actually myles, oops

brings on another point, where they buried him and covered in concrete to stop him being dug up and all done in the middle of the night, disgusting

Quote from: Banana Man on March 14, 2011, 10:30:51 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on March 14, 2011, 10:12:29 PM

good point actually myles, oops

brings on another point, where they buried him and covered in concrete to stop him being dug up and all done in the middle of the night, disgusting
True, he is buried in ballyjamesduff where his grave has been vandalised numerous times.

Quote from: redhandloo on March 13, 2011, 10:22:51 PM
Quote from: micko12368 on March 13, 2011, 09:53:56 PM
Is anyone watching this programme on BBC 1 at the minute? It would make your skin crawl as to what he got up to, i pity the poor children.

Harrowing stuff. Would make you seriously question your faith

Bollocks, it would make me question the Catholic Church but it would never make me question my faith.

he was one evil bastard who will get his just reward.

I just watched the 2 parts tonight.
The acting doesn't concern me so much, I'd regard it as more of a docu drama. The story is what matters and the drama told the story,
substance over style. If somehow the story goes over some people heads, no amount of direction or acting can smash that level of denial or cynicism.
This is not about Smith, it is about those in the Catholic Church who were fully complicit in his sex abuse crimes, the cover up which brought down a government and it was about all those who were abused. There is a sense of another small victory that the story has been dramatised and broadcast.
Those kids  and young adults who acted the abused in the drama did well enough for my sense of artistic tastes and portrayed what they had to portray with effect and sensitivity.

Jesus lads but this is tough watching. What a proper bastard ! Hope he's rotting in hell if there's such a place.

Quote from: stew on March 15, 2011, 03:11:43 AM
Is anyone watching this programme on BBC 1 at the minute? It would make your skin crawl as to what he got up to, i pity the poor children.

Bollocks, it would make me question the Catholic Church but it would never make me question my faith.

he was one evil b**tard who will get his just reward.

And what about his victims?

Cold tea

It's would have feck all to do with your faith, you can believe in God and look upon the Catholic Church for what it is, a corrupt institution which only has it's own vested interests at heart.  The fact that these bastards were allowed to do what they did, aided by the hierarchy by covering it up and moving them on so they could continue to rape and abuse small children, in what is suppose to be a Christian organisation speaks volumes for the Catholic Church.

I am amazed at the lack of comments on the programme. It was sickening in the extreme. It is beyond me how anyone can defend Cardinal Brady. If he had a conscience he would go voluntarily.

4 years in jail is all he got at the time.

Remember we have only had 3 dioceses investigated properly. Considering the abusers we know of publicly were moved around, that alone should be sufficient cause to cast the net wider. Anyone think that Ferns, Dublin and Cloyne is the end of it........or the tip of the iceberg?

Quote from: muppet on August 03, 2011, 12:16:30 PM
I am amazed at the lack of comments on the programme. It was sickening in the extreme. It is beyond me how anyone can defend Cardinal Brady. If he had a conscience he would go voluntarily.

Remember we have only had 3 dioceses investigated properly. Considering the abusers we know of publicly were moved around, that alone should be sufficient cause to cast the net wider. Anyone think that Ferns, Dublin and Cloyne is the end of it........or the tip of the iceberg?

Claerly he's more interested in making sure the gaa don't fix matches that clash with mass time as opposed to allowing his conscience to resign his post in shame - peiople would have much more respect for him if he left office.

I wonder how the Friday penance is going these days ( they set aside a Friday in the month to atone for their failings ) ?. What planet are they living on ?

The Catholic Church in Ireland has pledged an extra €10m for a counselling and helpline service for child abuse survivors.

It is part of a number of initiatives to mark the first anniversary of Pope Benedict's Pastoral letter to Irish Catholics.
Church-goers are being given a pastoral response Towards Healing and Renewal, while Bishops are to set aside each first Friday as a day of fasting and prayer in reparation for the abuse.

All-Ireland Primate Cardinal Sean Brady said the moves were "tangible signs" the Church was working to ensure all children were cared for

I just watched the reinactment on RTE player. No words to express my compassion to the Victims.

How could the Judge justify a 4 yr sentence? Fck Sake its heartbreaking stuff, youd think the Judge would want to nail him but no 4 yrs, Do judges just make up sentences as they go along?

My anger towards the catholic church was ragful watching this, these fellas go to maynooth, what the fck happens there, what if this is the tip of the iceberg, i did altar boy for 4 yrs in the 90s and its only luck i was spared, in fairness the priest in our parish was one of the good ones.

TBH i dont know how the Victims go on with there lives, how they didnt kill him, my heart goes out to them. I wish them all the strength and love in the world. May they find as much peace in there hearts as a snowflake landing on leaf.

Quote from: muppet on August 03, 2011, 12:16:30 PM

Of course it's only the tip of the iceberg muppet. ALL dioceses should be investigated in my opinion.