GAA Board Newsletter: Pleas for Hardstation Early Release

Started by pintsofguinness, November 06, 2008, 02:07:15 PM

Thats too bad about yer man evil genius - goes to show that the pen is indeed mightier than the sword.

I wonder should we have a months mind for him.

I dont think he'd appreciate a month's mind, maybe a memorial service of some sort would be appropriate  :D

What's a "months mind"

is that some form of  "equal justice for all" subversive thinking?

**************HARDSTATION BULLETIN*****************
Day 14
And thon b**tard Evil Genius was released before me. I stood at the window of my cell and watched him walk out, a free man. His followers gathered, clapped and cheered as he was ushered into an old Ford Cortina. Probably on his way back to the Braniel, for a party. I heard a cry of 'No surrender'. It didn't phase me. In fact, I chuckled and thought to myself, "He'll be back before long". I'm almost halfway through my sentence. I must admit, it has got a lot easier as the time has gone on. My 'visits' have kept me going, well, not as much as the thought of a freshly baked Belfast bap from Roger's bakery, on the Falls, at the top of the Donegall Road. Not a plug but the truth - the best baps in Belfast, apart from Orlaith McAllister. From my visits, I have come to realise that there are great people on the outside, who do their best to help. It is appreciated. As for the others, the peeler-lovers, sure, it'll keep them out of trouble. Stakeknives. As can be expected, the security forces are giving me a hammering (mostly by telling lies about me, in order to justify their ridiculous actions), when I am unable to defend myself. The batons are out but long runs the fox. Keeping my nose clean and trying to avoid all escape plans, since the last two were rumbled. Don't want to sh*t in the nest when I can see the release light approaching. Speaking of nests, no sign of the lark. I'll be out of here soon, Tiocfaidh mo la.

the green man

I saw HS today. Lads he's not in great shape, to be honest. He craves to come back. I took this picture of him onawares. Look at his frail face:

Margaret Thatcher's mantra apparently was "Never Explain, Never Complain". I have never complained about my treatment on this Board, nor shall I.

However, considering there has been some misunderstanding/misinformation about my recent ban, I shall explain.

Basically, I was previously advised by one of the Mods not to get drawn into personal spats with a certain other poster. Fine.
I then "lapsed" - nothing very serious imo - so was given a two day Ban. Again fine.
When I subsequently enquired who it was had reported me for the offending remark, the Mod concerned told me he couldn't remember. Again fine.
Some time later, when debating with Donagh, the subject of "touting" arose. We both agreed that this is not something either of would do ourselves, which in passing caused me to make a derogatory (but not obscene) remark about "whoever it was had informed on me last time" (or somesuch).
I did not therefore abuse personally any specified individual; indeed, I could not have, since I genuinely was not certain who it was had complained to the Mods. Moreover, the only person who could be certain who was being referred to by me was the complainant his/herself.
Then a little later when I went to log on, I received an onscreen message informing me that I had now incurred a two week ban for "engaging with XYZ".
Further, my IP Address must have been locked, since I could no longer even Log On to read threads, never mind contact any of the Mods for more information.
I note earlier in this thread that a (different) Mod stated that Hard Station's IP Address had been blocked following his latest ban, since he had been logging on under different identities. I have no idea whether he had or not, but I know I certainly have never even attempted to do any such thing, indeed would hardly know how to, even if I were so inclined.
There you have it.  

All I would add is that in the past on here I have been called all sorts of things, directed towards all sorts of places, and advised to conduct various practices on myself when I got there, all of it broadly based around a familiar theme.

None of this has ever bothered me in the past, nor will it in future, so if it makes other posters feel better about themselves to carry on in that vein, so be it. As I said above, I won't be complaining.

Quote from: Evil Genius on November 21, 2008, 05:37:44 PM

Basically, I was previously advised by one of the Mods not to get drawn into personal spats with a certain other poster. Fine.
I then "lapsed" - nothing very serious imo - so was given a two day Ban. Again fine.
When I subsequently enquired who it was had reported me for the offending remark, the Mod concerned told me he couldn't remember. Again fine.
Some time later, when debating with Donagh, the subject of "touting" arose. We both agreed that this is not something either of would do ourselves, which in passing caused me to make a derogatory (but not obscene) remark about "whoever it was had informed on me last time" (or somesuch).
I did not therefore abuse personally any specified individual; indeed, I could not have, since I genuinely was not certain who it was had complained to the Mods. Moreover, the only person who could be certain who was being referred to by me was the complainant his/herself.
Then a little later when I went to log on, I received an onscreen message informing me that I had now incurred a two week ban for "engaging with XYZ".
Further, my IP Address must have been locked, since I could no longer even Log On to read threads, never mind contact any of the Mods for more information.
I note earlier in this thread that a (different) Mod stated that Hard Station's IP Address had been blocked following his latest ban, since he had been logging on under different identities. I have no idea whether he had or not, but I know I certainly have never even attempted to do any such thing, indeed would hardly know how to, even if I were so inclined.
There you have it.  

All I would add is that in the past on here I have been called all sorts of things, directed towards all sorts of places, and advised to conduct various practices on myself when I got there, all of it broadly based around a familiar theme.

None of this has ever bothered me in the past, nor will it in future, so if it makes other posters feel better about themselves to carry on in that vein, so be it. As I said above, I won't be complaining.

You're not complaining just minimising guilt.
Most ofthe  GAA board, their dogs and cats as well were aware of that HH and yourself were both warned to lay off each other.

Unless you had been abusing posters as a daily ritual it would not have even taken a Doctor Watson to work out that the poster you personally abused was the very same poster you had been warned not to.
And obviously if you refer to the that  supposedly unknown person as  a xxxxxxxxxxx  (words too abusive to type)
then you are still breaking the same rule.
Feigned ignorance is not a defense , a dishonourable defense maybe.

Im glad you fixed that little typo. Im sure it was just a lack of match practice.

Welcome back EG (Im away to cancel the months mind now that you've risen like a literary pheonix from the flames).

Welcome back EG, i must admit i was expecting a couple of pages of prose to be built up for yuor first post back!

Quote from: Main Street on November 21, 2008, 06:08:46 PM
You're not complaining just minimising guilt.
Most ofthe  GAA board, their dogs and cats as well were aware of that HH and yourself were both warned to lay off each other.

Unless you had been abusing posters as a daily ritual it would not have even taken a Doctor Watson to work out that the poster you personally abused was the very same poster you had been warned not to.
And obviously if you refer to the that  supposedly unknown person as  a xxxxxxxxxxx  (words too abusive to type)
then you are still breaking the same rule.
Feigned ignorance is not a defense , a dishonourable defense maybe.

I explained/interpreted it as I saw it. You may accept or reject my explanation/interpretation as you wish. I couldn't care less either way.

My attitude to posting on this Board is exactly the same as it was e.g. when I used to play soccer. If you can't take it, don't dish it out. If you do dish it out, don't be too surprised if you have to take it back. And if the referee should choose to intervene at any stage, so be it. Above all, when he blows the final whistle, that's an end to it.

P.S. When you quoted from my original post, this presumably must have been just before I edited it, to add the following: "Moreover, the only person who could be certain who was being referred to by me was the complainant his/herself". Perhaps unlike others, I did not automatically assume who it was had informed on me to the Mods the second time, even if I did have my suspicions.

Go on ye oul barstard, away back te the mainland and feck yerself.

Margaret Thatcher's mantra apparently was "Never Explain, Never Complain". I have never complained about my treatment on this Board, nor shall I.

Nor can she, now  ;)

Welcome back, you cantankerous, long-winded git.