Armagh Club football & hurling

Started by holylandsniper, November 09, 2006, 10:44:31 PM

Ethan Tremblay

Would it be weird to assume the harps have problems that stem deeper than the ogs result on thursday?  Iv heard quite a few senior players have left,

Jp Donnelly being the most famous example, would have been the lynchpin of the harps back line, and general old head leader the harps may now crave after Collie Holmes retired. 

All in all, i think the harps have bigger problems than getting a major beat down which counts for nothing.  Well, except pride  ;)

<Edited Mod 3> - See post below.
I tend to think of myself as a one man wolfpack...

Scarface

Ethan it sounds like you are trying to do a bit of stirring here....digging up some dirt so to speak. I dont have any for you.

You would like to think that there would be some boys to come into the setup and that the team that lost heavily the other night would not be the one that will play out the league campaign...all in all it was still a dismal result.

regal

Who are the 3 county players with the Harps - Vernon, Swift & ? Is Martin Grimley still manager?

Quote from: regal on April 11, 2011, 10:55:32 AM
Who are the 3 county players with the Harps - Vernon, Swift & ? Is Martin Grimley still manager?

Declan McKenna

regal

Ethan Tremblay

Not stirring atal, heard from legit sources that if the minors didnt get a turnout at training a few weeks back they were going to pull the plug!  <Edited by Mod3> - That sort of unfounded gossip is not appropriate here. That's a serious enough comment to make against members on a committee, and one they could quite rightly cause trouble over. Plus, they don't necessarily have the ability to see or hear things on here, and so don't have an automatic right of reply. I'd suggest that sort of comment is better brought up internally in the club, so they have a chance to address.

Assuming you are a Harps 'supporter' take your 'concerns' to any Committee member. Posting rumours on an internet forum is not really the way to go is it?  Other than that, it can be safely assumed that your only reason for posting is to stir shite as has already been suggested.  Most clubs have had anonymous stalkers in some shape or other who love nothing better than posting mallicious nonsense, you're nothing new.

winsamsoon

Very concerning to see and hear of a lot of teams losing huge numbers of players. My own clubs lost 8 or 9 players a couple of years back but fair play to the younger lads that came in they managed to keep the team up in top tier league football.

I know the rumour mills are rife but what are the reasons for these players leaving their clubs. Obviously there are lads that have little choice and are moving away to find work in this tough economical climate. There are other lads that simply cannot give the committment for the modern game and therefore have other family committments that are far more important. But it seems to me that players have a far shorter career now than a decade ago. If you look at the majority of teams they will now be made up of mostly new blood and a crop of maybe 10 at most players between the ages of 25-30 . There aren't many players in the county playing top flight football over the age of 32. Even the average age of the B teams is way lower than a decade ago. I remember going to watch my dad playing b football and there were few young lads around the age of 20 on the team and that's not a million miles away.
I never forget a face but in your case I will make an exception.

Ethan Tremblay

No not a harps supporter, unfortunatly.  Just heard some 'rumors' regarding fallouts etc.  Just after a bit of clarification.  Where better to ask? Well aside the harps thread of course.

Right who's gonna be first this year for the predictions for this weekends games...ME

Granemore v Maghery - Granemore by 3pts.
Pearse Og v Dromintee - Ogs by 4pts advantage to swing it for Ogs.
Cullaville v St.Patricks - Draw
Sarsfields v Crossmaglen - Crossmaglen by 6pts.
Carrickcruppin v Whitecross - I was going to tip Cruppin but i was told Cruppin have lost half of their team from last year??? if thats the case Whitecross by 2pts
Clan na Gael v Ballymacnab - Clans by 2pts

Heard tonite that we may see Ronan Clarke in a few club games over the next month

IVEDECIDED

Quote from: naka on April 13, 2011, 07:47:55 PM
Heard tonite that we may see Ronan Clarke in a few club games over the next month

Really?? I think I just shit myself with exitement! If possible can you forward me the dates, times and location of these games? Cheers...

winsamsoon

Very good saan. Clarke will never return to his best lads, unfortunately

CountyMan

Quote from: winsamsoon on April 14, 2011, 06:02:20 PM
Very good saan. Clarke will never return to his best lads, unfortunately

That may be true... But I wouldn't write him of yet, you never know ::)

winsamsoon

I wish the lad all the best he is a clinking footballer on his day and a sound lad into the bargain