All-Stars 2008

Started by Real1995, September 21, 2008, 07:16:31 PM

gortnaleck

Puckoon  Try sfgaa.com  There is some info there.It's only a short spin down the road for you

Think Im going to go alright.
Looking forward to it.

gortnaleck

Think they arrived today and are down in Johnny Foleys tonite.The Banquet on Sunday nite in the Irish Center is supposed to be a sellout.If youre driving stay in the left hand lane on the Bay Bridge.Bring the dog and I'll know you

I'm not coming down til Saturday afternoon. Heading to the plough and stars unless you can suggest a better spot for a bit of mingling.

gortnaleck

I don't know whats on the agenda for them on Sat night.I've never been in the Plough and Stars but i think they do a lot of live music sessions there. Ireland's 32 is just round the corner on Geary,and the Abbey Tavern is right there as well so I'm sure you will be guided in the right direction. It looks like the rain is staying away for the weekend so that's good

I know, I know I know - its an exhibition game. A holiday for the lads, and a bit of craic and no one, wants to see anyone get hurt. Id like to see Dara O'Se field a ball however.

It was also like watching paint dry at times. The mass exodus at half time makes me feel I wasnt alone.

It just goes to show, that gaelic football without the thump, without the excitement and intensity (for which it is so often riddiculed) isnt an exhibition sport.

Still though, nice to see the lads pitchside having a great time and signing everything and anything that was needed.

Yer men Michael Cussen and Nicholas Murphy must ate a bag of spuds daily themselves. Cussen is massive.

Yea it wasn't exactly edge of seat stuff.... Great chance though to get to hang out and talk to them.
A bit disappointed at the dinner also in the fact that most all of them bar Paddy Bradley and Kevin McCloy
left to go down town at about 11... so didn't get as many photo's as I'd hoped :(
Great night all the same and not too hung over 8)

gortnaleck

It was a bit on the chilly side and most had to go home and get ready for the banquet.It would have been more competitive if the Allstars were playing the All Ireland champions like they used to.They seemed to be a great bunch of lads.The field was in great shape and they say its bigger than Croke Park.It will have to be shrunk a little before Summer especially for 13 aside.The only bad thing was we missed a great Niner victory and we don't have many of them anymore

john mcgill

I was talking to the chairman of SF GAA and he told me that Treasure Island, where the pitch is , is sinking and needs to be underpinned.
Did you guys who attended the banquet in the UICC enjoy the venue?  I was one of the volunteers who worked on it in the 70s.

The field is massive and there was talk in the stands about making the games in the bay 15 a side.

Why would they have undertaken such a huge investment on a field that is sinking? Surely thats a bad bit of foresight?

It was cold, no doubt.

Quote from: john mcgill on December 08, 2008, 07:07:36 PM
I was talking to the chairman of SF GAA and he told me that Treasure Island, where the pitch is , is sinking and needs to be underpinned.
Did you guys who attended the banquet in the UICC enjoy the venue?  I was one of the volunteers who worked on it in the 70s.

Yes it was a great night and fair play to you John for your part in building it....
Tis a fine place no doubt but it's a pity about the old schoolers that run it,
The sooner some new blood is draughted in the better for the Irish community
living here.
I did hear some mumblings yesterday about the pitch sinking alright but she def looks the part anyway.

gortnaleck

I understood it was just the sides of the field that sank not the island and that they were going to take  care of it later on.It was an unusually large crowd at the Banquet and I thought the staff did a great job.The tables were so close you couldn't get in or out too easily

Fear ionad

OK the game wasn't competitive (the scoreline of 8-13 to 4-10 says it all) but it was entertaining enough all the same.  I suppose it depends on what you were expecting from a challenge game on an end-of-year trip.  I was very pleasantly surprised they tried as hard as they did. 

And a star-studded turnout in the middle of San Francisco bay, it would be very churlish to complain.  I brought my 7-year-old and he was riveted by it.  The players were all great with signing autographs.  Conor Gormley even took the trouble to find Justin McNulty & point him out to me when I didn't recognize him (can't recognize any Tyrone players without the beards!).

Quote from: Fear ionad on December 09, 2008, 04:12:25 AM
Conor Gormley even took the trouble to find Justin McNulty & point him out to me when I didn't recognize him (can't recognize any Tyrone players without the beards!).

Fecking defector ;)
BTW, didny know Justy grew a beard

Aghdavoyle

Quote from: Fear ionad on December 09, 2008, 04:12:25 AM

OK the game wasn't competitive (the scoreline of 8-13 to 4-10 says it all) but it was entertaining enough all the same.  I suppose it depends on what you were expecting from a challenge game on an end-of-year trip.  I was very pleasantly surprised they tried as hard as they did. 

And a star-studded turnout in the middle of San Francisco bay, it would be very churlish to complain.  I brought my 7-year-old and he was riveted by it.  The players were all great with signing autographs.  Conor Gormley even took the trouble to find Justin McNulty & point him out to me when I didn't recognize him (can't recognize any Tyrone players without the beards!).

how come justin mcnulty was there?