Rugby Player murdered

Started by Dinny Breen, November 09, 2008, 07:01:46 PM

Quote from: full back on November 10, 2008, 10:16:09 AM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on November 10, 2008, 10:11:19 AM
Quote from: full back on November 10, 2008, 10:08:31 AM
What if the person is innocent?
I think there are enough instances of innocent people being blamed for crimes they didnt commit.
How would you rectify this?
I know, if the cops/garda suspect someone, lock them up, fcuk the trial  ::)

I think the law/judges needs to be looked at before blaming the lawyers
My comments only apply to scumbags fullback

So if someone is viewed as a sc**bag, they are guilty?

reminds me of that film, twelve angry men, with henry fonda.

What is the thread about fullback?  ::)

Quote from: ardmhachaabu on November 10, 2008, 10:19:47 AM

In fairness - it was a ridiculous comment.

Quote from: ardmhachaabu on November 10, 2008, 10:19:47 AM

The thread is about a rugby player who was murdered....

You then said "Personally, I blame smart-arse lawyers for getting scumbags off with crimes such as this."
So, tell me again what the thread is about ::)

Quote from: magickingdom on November 09, 2008, 09:30:09 PM
absolute scumbags, they respect nothing. if ever the law gets serious with these fockers there might be some hope. imaging if they catch these guys and convict them of murder (no easy trick in ireland) they wont spend 10 years in the slammer! unreal. a chain gang is too good for them
Quote from: milltown row on November 09, 2008, 09:36:05 PM
The victims are the only ones that keep suffering, take a life and get convicted they should do life!!!
Quote from: nrico2006 on November 10, 2008, 09:07:01 AM

I don't understand how murder does not result in life behinds bars.  This craic of getting 10 or 14 years is a joke.

Just to help you out fullback, there is 3 comments made before I replied and I replied in the same vein as the other posters.

What exactly is your problem with what I said?

Or are you getting personal?

Of course he's not getting personal - he's merely pointing out that your comment was ludicrous, others including myself agree.

How the fcuk am I getting personal ::)
Paranoia methinks.....

Anyway,  the comments you made were directed against lawyers, no-one else
Other posters have criticised the law & the length of prison sentences
So your post isnt in the same vein

The problem I have is that you seem to be blaming lawyers for this ???

bignifanatic

The lawyers work within the confines of the law.

Everyone is entitled to put on a defense, even scumbags.

The laws of the land would be a joke if not for the fact that innocent people are being killed and their murderers are getting off either scott free or they get mickey mouse sentences.

The laws need to be a direct reflection of the severity of the crime. If you kill someone in cold blood you should never see the light of day again. End of.

The yanks take a lot of stick on this board but I tell you what, they know how to pass down a sentence, death penalty states aside of course. ;)

Yeh - that must be why the homicide rate in the US is so much lower than in the rest of the world.

QuoteThe yanks take a lot of stick on this board but I tell you what, they know how to pass down a sentence,

Especially if you happen to be black.

Quote from: bignifanatic on November 10, 2008, 02:11:56 PM
The laws need to be a direct reflection of the severity of the crime. If you kill someone in cold blood you should never see the light of day again. End of.
Any evidence to support that this makes a good penal code.

I wonder how the prisons system would be able to handle inmates with no release date and no hope of a release date ever.

dublinfella

Quote from: Main Street on November 10, 2008, 02:44:44 PM
Quote from: bignifanatic on November 10, 2008, 02:11:56 PM
Any evidence to support that this makes a good penal code.

I wonder how the prisons system would be able to handle inmates with no release date and no hope of a release date ever.

Interestingly, lawyers are quite united in their objection to the current mandatory sentence of 20 years for murder on the basis that judges cannot give harsher sentences. Put another way, Irish sentencing takes no account of how serious a murder(s) is/are, not to say there are trivial ones, but a serial killer or hitman gets the same sentence as the guy who gets in a fight with someone with a weak skull in a pub and there is no reason for anyone to plead guilty/ help the authorities.

Put another way, you get 20 years if you lose your temper and punch and kill someone, are genuinely contrite and plead guilty. You get 20 years if you kidnap and kill 20 kids, plead not guilty and dont tell anyone where the bodies are.

Quote from: dublinfella on November 10, 2008, 03:37:14 PM
Interestingly, lawyers are quite united in their objection to the current mandatory sentence of 20 years for murder on the basis that judges cannot give harsher sentences
Everything I have read is that the lawyers are objecting because the judges can not give more lenient sentence
That there needs to be more tiers on the downward scale of sentencing.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/frontpage/2008/0129/1201501665039.html

'The law on homicide in Ireland is divided into murder and manslaughter. The first charge arises if a person intends to kill or cause serious injury to another person, who dies as a result. It carries a mandatory life sentence, whether the murder is carefully planned and executed by someone like a contract killer, or happens on the spur of the moment among people who knew each other well. The commission believes sentencing should reflect these variables'.

full back, Ok, I am blaming lawyers for situations where criminals get low sentences for heinous crimes or even let off altogether.  I am sure you know the sort of thing I am talking about

Lawyers manipulate the law on a lot of occasions when their clients should have went to jail for a VERY long time.  Some of them are even close to breaking the law but the system works for them because they know it intimately.  So, in essence,  the law probably needs changed to prevent smart lawyers from getting away with it, in practice however, scumbags will still get off with ridiculous sentences, such as 3 1/2 years for stabbing someone to death.

Judges are hampered by legislation in terms of sentencing, as far as I understand the situation, so the blame doesn't lie with them. 

To bignifanatic, yes, lawyers within the confines of the law, mostly

Quote from: ardmhachaabu on November 10, 2008, 06:07:01 PM
full back, Ok, I am blaming lawyers for situations where criminals get low sentences for heinous crimes or even let off altogether.  I am sure you know the sort of thing I am talking about

Lawyers manipulate the law on a lot of occasions when their clients should have went to jail for a VERY long time.  Some of them are even close to breaking the law but the system works for them because they know it intimately.  So, in essence,  the law probably needs changed to prevent smart lawyers from getting away with it, in practice however, scumbags will still get off with ridiculous sentences, such as 3 1/2 years for stabbing someone to death.

Judges are hampered by legislation in terms of sentencing, as far as I understand the situation, so the blame doesn't lie with them. 

To bignifanatic, yes, lawyers within the confines of the law, mostly

Jesus Ardmhacha is getting an unfair touch here lads.