The 2008 US Election thread

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, January 04, 2008, 02:35:25 AM

Who will win?

Obama
McCain

Jaysus, I remember when Mayo got into the final in '89 a bunch of young fellas were going around lifting flags. There were people calling into Mid West radio giving out mad and The Connaught telegraph was full of letters people rarin up goodo.  Next time you put up a flag, you may want to follow the lead of the guy who kept having his McCain signs lifted down in NC. 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRbrC1f6z8

Its not quite as effective as the guy out in Ohio who opened fire and shot one of the thieves

http://www.azcentral.com/offbeat/articles/2008/10/28/20081028SignShooting28-ON.html

Doubt we'll see Obama get as close to the people as he did during the campaign trail again, he was protected by bulletproof glass either side of him at his acceptance speech the other night...

Looks like he's been banished to the Phantom Zone

We should be thankful the world has been saved from Sarah Palin. The latest news is that she's even more profoundly stupid than we knew. Newsweek has released some material it agreed to hold until after the election that reveals she didn't know South Africa was a country. She didn't know Africa was a continent - thought it was a country and South Africa was the southern part of it. Reportedly she asked the interviewers where it was.

Quote from: Hardy on November 06, 2008, 12:29:33 PM
We should be thankful the world has been saved from Sarah Palin. The latest news is that she's even more profoundly stupid than we knew. Newsweek has released some material it agreed to hold until after the election that reveals she didn't know South Africa was a country. She didn't know Africa was a continent - thought it was a country and South Africa was the southern part of it. Reportedly she asked the interviewers where it was.

This can't be true, can it? :o

Quote from: J70 on November 06, 2008, 01:39:06 PM

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2008/11/05/palin-didnt-know-africa-i_n_141653.html

Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on November 06, 2008, 01:51:07 PM
Quote from: J70 on November 06, 2008, 01:39:06 PM

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2008/11/05/palin-didnt-know-africa-i_n_141653.html

That is from Carl Cameron! Hardly a friend of the Democrats!

FFS lads ye got the result you wanted, Move on!
Is it really any more embarrassing than Obama saying he had been to 57 :o states so far during the primary's
and he thought he had 2 more to go or Biden talking about FDR Briefing America Via Television
during the crash of 1929 :o FDR wasn't president and TV was not a regular occurrence till after the war,
Biden talking about "J o b s" being a 3 letter word ::) at least it was regarding Africa and not America that she stumbled ::)
need i keep going to point out the idiocrisy not to mention the hypocrisy of the shite that has littered this thread.

Mentalman

Quote from: Tyrones own on November 06, 2008, 04:42:39 PM

Is it really any more embarrassing than Obama saying he had been to 57 :o states so far during the primary's
and he thought he had 2 more to go or Biden talking about FDR Briefing America Via Television
during the crash of 1929 :o FDR wasn't president and TV was not a regular occurrence till after the war,
Biden talking about "J o b s" being a 3 letter word ::) at least it was regarding Africa and not America that she stumbled ::)
need i keep going to point out the idiocrisy not to mention the hypocrisy of the shite that has littered this thread.

What about thinking the world is only 6000 years old? ;D

Palin for 2012? Don't think her own party will even countenance that.

Ah in all seriousness...she's a feckin balloon.
"Mr Treehorn treats objects like women man."

Quote from: Tyrones own on November 06, 2008, 04:42:39 PM

Biden's gaffe about FDR, as usual, was certainly cringe-inducing, but Biden is legendary (or notorious) for his gaffes and faux pas at this stage. I wouldn't be too bothered about the "j-o-b-s" gaffe - that could happen to most. I've never seen Obama's 57 states one, but I'd be very surprised if it more than just a slip of the tongue, although I have heard the right-wing conspiracists make some muslim connection. Go ahead and give us more details. That Palin would have to have clarified that Africa is a continent, assuming it is true, is mind-boggling (and again, I do not think she is stupid). The reason it is being discussed is that all of this stuff is just coming out now, post-election. I'm sure there will be juicy details from behind the scenes of the Democratic campaign also.

Obama's gaffe:

"It is wonderful to be back in Oregon," Obama said. "Over the last 15 months, we've traveled to every corner of the United States. I've now been in 57 states? I think one left to go. Alaska and Hawaii, I was not allowed to go to even though I really wanted to visit, but my staff would not justify it."

Leaving out Alaska and Hawaii, where he says he wasn't going to be allowed to go, and the one remaining unidentified state, he clearly meant 47. Big deal. But maybe it was a freudian slip and he really is a muslim like those right wing blogs say.

Mentalman

57 states is a verbal slip. Not knowing South Africa is a country, and Africa is a continent, and having to be put right by a journalist seems to suggest a lack of knowledge on behalf of someone who could end up leading the world last remaining super power. However on the other hand perhpas she mixed up Africa with Ireland or something, who's to know? Why would she need to know about Africa, one of the cradles of civilisation, especially if you don't even believe in evolution in the first place.
"Mr Treehorn treats objects like women man."

She couldn't come up with the name of one newspaper when asked (well, okay ambushed with the question) "which newspapers inform your world view?". 

(paraphrasing):
- Well, any 'em ... all of 'em .. whatever

"Name one, specifically"
- Well ... ehhh. any of 'em, whatever's to hand ...

But yeah - Obama, former editor of Harvard Law Review is probably just as thick.  ::)

Quote from: Hardy on November 06, 2008, 05:22:07 PM
She couldn't come up with the name of one newspaper when asked (well, okay ambushed with the question) "which newspapers inform your world view?". 

(paraphrasing):
- Well, any 'em ... all of 'em .. whatever

"Name one, specifically"
- Well ... ehhh. any of 'em, whatever's to hand ...

But yeah - Obama, former editor of Harvard Law Review is probably just as thick.  ::)

To be fair to her, I think she saw that question as kind of a "gotcha" question, and was basically trying to avoid the issue. Most newspapers in the US, as anywhere, tend to be split down partisan lines in terms of which are reputable and which aren't. No matter what answer she gave, she was going to get grief for it.