Aidan O'Mahony = Pathetic

Started by Tankie, August 24, 2008, 05:21:53 PM

In 96 we learned all we ever needed to know about cynical football.  
In 03 we used it to our advantage.  
In 05 we taught the other guys the way we truly believed football should be played.  
What thanks did we get?  and the puke punditry just keeps coming.  
So in 2008 we are determined that we can bring Gaelic Football on that wee bit more
To save it as a spectacle, to eliminate cheating and to show the Kerrys of this world
that winning can be done in a competitve manner by playing football.
Tyrone will play the football - we will leave the puke stuff to the Kerrymen.  
God speed ye Mickey Harte

Very good Puck.

Well how do you do, young Dinky McBride.
D'ye mind if I step here on your thin pink hide?
And rest for a while, me cogs on yer skull -
I've been working all day the Tyrone team to cull.
I see by your bandage, you've only nineteen
Wee cuts in yer head that you want to be seen.
I hope you bleed well and I hope you bleed slow
To make sure you're still bleeding for Marian's show.

Tyrone have been diving and cheating since '96. It was ridiculous the way they tried to sully the name of O'Connell and McDermott back then, two fine players. If I remember rightly they were heaping loads of personalized abuse on those two players back then as well. Thankfully, they got what they deserved that day.

Quote from: Uladh on August 26, 2008, 04:04:27 PM

Dooher: 'diving' in GAA not a problem

By Donnchadh Boyle

Tuesday August 26 2008

TYRONE captain Brian Dooher has denied that 'playacting' and diving is creeping into Gaelic football.

His comments follow Cork's Donnacha O'Connor's dismissal against Kerry in Croke Park on Sunday when Aidan O'Mahony went down dramatically after an altercation between the pair.

And Dooher himself also came in for criticism for his reaction after a clash with Westmeath's Doran Harte which saw the Leinster man receive his marching orders. However, the forward played down the issue.

"It doesn't concern me," he said. "I don't think it is creeping into the game. Things happen but I wouldn't be reading too much into it.

"Nobody wants to see any cheating of any sort," he agreed. "It's up to the referee to deal with it. If he thinks there is something underhand going on then he should get it sorted out there and then."

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/dooher-diving-in-gaa-not-a-problem-1463107.html

:o

QuoteTyrone have been diving and cheating since '96.

Spillane started it all long before that.......

I was just thinking which in itself is a bad thing but

Whatever Pierce O'Neill said or did last Sunday, (maybe a bit of afters from O'Se's Munster Final sending off when O'Neill was again part and parcel of the affair), Darragh O'Se took exception to it on Sunday and lashed out. O'Neill hits the deck and rolls around the ground in "agony" holding his stomach, though the grainy TV images looks like O'Se skelped him in the smig. O'Se gets a red card and accepts his fate and saunters off to rest his weary legs.

What happens next is the Cork crowd (otherwise known to all as the Langers) go into delirium, cheering and applauding the fact that Darragh gets the line again, "Cheerio cheerio cheerio" they sing, I can't do that with a Cork accent but you catch my drift.
To them its 1 Nil to Cork. O'Neill the big langer eventually gets up off the ground and is seen High-Fiving a few of his fellow players, and the message I took from it sitting in my perch up in the Cusack was "job well done....again".

Kieran Donaghy races out to midfield and is pumped up and he gets some of the other Kerry players going, who then grab the game by the balls and get stuck into it big time, to try and win it for Kerry and to right their perceived view of the wrong in O'Se's sending off. Donaghy horses into O'Neill and bates him to most balls, whos the big man now O'Neill. A big cheer goes around the sizable Kerry supporters when Donaghy shoulders O'Neill away at one stage when the ref was throwing up the ball. We are all pumped up for this.

Then what happens only a few minutes later but Aidan O'Mahony and Donnacha O'Connor clash out over be the sideline, swapping tales of handbags and such like, pleasantries are also exchanged on what we must assume are the respective weather situations on either side of the county bounds. O'Connor is none to happy with the fact there is sun shining in Rathmore again while its fecking miserable back in Ballydesmond only a few miles away.

O'Mahony though cant let it pass and then barks out the clincher and asks him if he would show him him his medals (a reasonable question that any modest Kerry man would ask of his neighbour across the border) and poor Donnacha flipped his lid for he had no medals to show, so he slaps O'Mahony across the face in his best Langerette (female langer) imitation, O'Mahony does a quick count around the field (its still 14 to 15) and hits the ground, Red card to O'Connor (which the langer deserved anyway for the slap) , for fecks sake if you are gong to hit someone do it properly. The Kerry crowd (or the Animals as we are known) cheer in orgasmic glee, the score is now 1-1 and its really game on.

Its only afterwards we see O'Mahony's cheap dive on TV which was totally wrong but the view at the time was that Darragh O'Se was provoked by O'Neill and some players probably felt at the time they needed to even up the score, happens in most games, not right but it happens.

Looking ahead to Match 3 next Sunday, Kerry will undoubtedly target Pierce O'Neill while Cork will be gunning for revenge from Aidan O'Mahony, it will be interesting to see the attention both will get off the ball and if there is any skelps thrown their way, will there be any action taken by the officials. If either of the 2 gets sent off I am sure there will also be large amounts of well deserved gloating from the opposite sets of opponents. Maybe Counihan the ball grabber will start O'Neill on the forty then we will have fun.

Its not nice to see and I hate it to be honest but that is the tribal parish element within us, we love to gloat in our neighbours misfortune. How many games have you been at where one of the opposition is sent off and you stand up and roar abuse at them when they leave the field while at the same time you roar on your own men as your think you have a great advantage.

An Fhairche Abu

Wow, that is one convoluted story to try and half justify O'Mahony's actions.

JMohan

Don't take this the wrong way Mike ... but that's awful sh*te

O'Se swung and was caught, O'Neill wasn't on the ground long at all - in fact got straight up.

O'Se is a langer for hitting O'Neill in front of the ref
O'Connor is a langer for not hitting O'Mahony hard - especially if he was going to do it at all
And O'Mahony is ... well ... just a langer for that carry-on

The title of the thread says it all perfectly Mikey Boy.

Aidan O'Mahoney = Pathetic

Quote from: muppet on August 26, 2008, 09:29:18 AM
QuoteIsn't diving a yellow card offence?

Armamike, having sent the Cork lad off for a strike he could hardly book the Kerryman for diving. The ref had to call it one way or the other.

The suggestions here of new laws and video evidence are all ok until you consider the processes that will then commence. Decisions will be appealed to the various senile committees until we have new farces to go along with the old ones such as Galvin.

The Gaa has a lot of houses that it should get in order first.

My point is that he should have had enough cop on not to red card the Cork lad in the first instance. Technically the ref may have got it right with the red, but what the Cork lad did was at a very low point on the richter scale of physical aggression.  Referees do have the power in gaelic football to book divers. I don't know why they don't use that power.  Ask yourself the question - would you prefer to watch a game of football refereed by someone who's a stickler for the rulebook or someone who lets the game go a bit and uses his better judgement at times.

reddgnhand

Quote from: Kerry Mike on August 26, 2008, 08:46:12 PM
I was just thinking which in itself is a bad thing but

Whatever Pierce O'Neill said or did last Sunday, (maybe a bit of afters from O'Se's Munster Final sending off when O'Neill was again part and parcel of the affair), Darragh O'Se took exception to it on Sunday and lashed out. O'Neill hits the deck and rolls around the ground in "agony" holding his stomach, though the grainy TV images looks like O'Se skelped him in the smig. O'Se gets a red card and accepts his fate and saunters off to rest his weary legs.

What happens next is the Cork crowd (otherwise known to all as the Langers) go into delirium, cheering and applauding the fact that Darragh gets the line again, "Cheerio cheerio cheerio" they sing, I can't do that with a Cork accent but you catch my drift.
To them its 1 Nil to Cork. O'Neill the big langer eventually gets up off the ground and is seen High-Fiving a few of his fellow players, and the message I took from it sitting in my perch up in the Cusack was "job well done....again".

Kieran Donaghy races out to midfield and is pumped up and he gets some of the other Kerry players going, who then grab the game by the balls and get stuck into it big time, to try and win it for Kerry and to right their perceived view of the wrong in O'Se's sending off. Donaghy horses into O'Neill and bates him to most balls, whos the big man now O'Neill. A big cheer goes around the sizable Kerry supporters when Donaghy shoulders O'Neill away at one stage when the ref was throwing up the ball. We are all pumped up for this.

Then what happens only a few minutes later but Aidan O'Mahony and Donnacha O'Connor clash out over be the sideline, swapping tales of handbags and such like, pleasantries are also exchanged on what we must assume are the respective weather situations on either side of the county bounds. O'Connor is none to happy with the fact there is sun shining in Rathmore again while its fecking miserable back in Ballydesmond only a few miles away.

O'Mahony though cant let it pass and then barks out the clincher and asks him if he would show him him his medals (a reasonable question that any modest Kerry man would ask of his neighbour across the border) and poor Donnacha flipped his lid for he had no medals to show, so he slaps O'Mahony across the face in his best Langerette (female langer) imitation, O'Mahony does a quick count around the field (its still 14 to 15) and hits the ground, Red card to O'Connor (which the langer deserved anyway for the slap) , for fecks sake if you are gong to hit someone do it properly. The Kerry crowd (or the Animals as we are known) cheer in orgasmic glee, the score is now 1-1 and its really game on.

Its only afterwards we see O'Mahony's cheap dive on TV which was totally wrong but the view at the time was that Darragh O'Se was provoked by O'Neill and some players probably felt at the time they needed to even up the score, happens in most games, not right but it happens.

Looking ahead to Match 3 next Sunday, Kerry will undoubtedly target Pierce O'Neill while Cork will be gunning for revenge from Aidan O'Mahony, it will be interesting to see the attention both will get off the ball and if there is any skelps thrown their way, will there be any action taken by the officials. If either of the 2 gets sent off I am sure there will also be large amounts of well deserved gloating from the opposite sets of opponents. Maybe Counihan the ball grabber will start O'Neill on the forty then we will have fun.

Its not nice to see and I hate it to be honest but that is the tribal parish element within us, we love to gloat in our neighbours misfortune. How many games have you been at where one of the opposition is sent off and you stand up and roar abuse at them when they leave the field while at the same time you roar on your own men as your think you have a great advantage.

Amidst all this gloating and bating how did ye end up losing an 8 point lead?

Provocation is not an excuse Mikey. O'Se has been playing years - he should know better.

This thread has hit the dredges of soap, fudge and Readers Digest.

Real men say "fair cop".

Kerry use to have real men, not mitigating circumstances.

In the Onion Bag

Ouch!  where did that runaway train come from?