Ice baths? do they work?

Started by INDIANA, May 01, 2008, 12:29:06 PM

youngfella

http://www.etills.com/acatalog/Outside_Storage.html, these kind of things would do the job. Make sure you have a fecking good ice maker tho
Pull hard and early

fred the red

that last picture looks like a group of he-shes

What the hell are they all smiling about? Tis bound to be freezing?

You're all a fecking laugh, if they were out langered drunk after winning a game ye'd all take a lash at them safe in the knowledge you'd get yer holes!!!!!

Our club actually built an ice bath in the showers there recently, with an ice machine attached to it.  It can sit 5 in it at a time and is easily maintained.

JohnDenver

A mortar tub is as handy as any to use.  Fit a release tap towards the bottom of one side and it does the job.  A lot cheaper than the craic you'd buy of them websites i would think.

i have a cold bath after long marathon training runs, always works, by that i mean i can walk with no pain the day after, skip the bath and i can see a big difference.

Glensman

That horse box thing at Julianstown and the hydrotherapy sheep dip thing in Burren.

How far on your body can you sit/stand in those. I have a groin injury and wouldn't mind giving the one in Burren a rattle. Now I've been down to it before but I can't remember how far the water is allowed up on your body. Can it go to waist height or is that too high?

I recall the wee fella that runs it sayin it can stop any organs it comes into contact with...

I've sold a rake of mortar bins to football clubs in the last 18 months for use as ice baths

North Longford

QuoteThat horse box thing at Julianstown and the hydrotherapy sheep dip thing in Burren.

We had 3 lads from the club in Julianstowm last year. All with Hamstrings so probably get groins as well. One guy lost the feeling in his thighs for a few months afterwards though!!!! Didn't actually stop him playing.

the horsebaths make ice baths appear warm. you stay in it for 10 mins. it works but by jesus is it cold.

Quote from: Glensman on June 27, 2008, 10:23:03 AM
That horse box thing at Julianstown and the hydrotherapy sheep dip thing in Burren.

How far on your body can you sit/stand in those. I have a groin injury and wouldn't mind giving the one in Burren a rattle. Now I've been down to it before but I can't remember how far the water is allowed up on your body. Can it go to waist height or is that too high?

I recall the wee fella that runs it sayin it can stop any organs it comes into contact with...

Goes just above the waist AFAIK
You normally stay in it for 10/15 mins
If it does go above the waist you and the Mrs will have a good night ;)

Iarmhí Abú

Ice baths have been used by track and field athletes for years.  They are excellent just after a very hard training session to aid recovery.  In terms of injury rehabilitation they are generally similar to using ice on the area. No miracle cure but no harm either.  The cryotherapy chamber in Poland has been used by athletes for years, even if the IRFU et al only cottoned on in the last few years.  It is slightly different to the ice bath and is used as a prehabilitation measure during heavy training.  It is also used by endurance athletes as recovery after gruelling events.  There is anecdotal  evidence that it's useful in treating injury.

The other issue is the level of immersion.  There is no real benefit to lowering your whole body into it.  This simply adds to discomfort and freezes tissue that, lets face it, doesn't require that kind of (mis)treatment.  It also ensures that you cannot bear to stay in long enough to get the maximum benefit.  I remember the documentary about the Dubs where ice baths were used.  There was a clip of Paul Casey shivering in the tub and someone poured water over his head.  The water over his head only served to give him a thumping headache and he would have been far better off if he was standing with the water up to his upper thighs.  This would have allowed him spend longer in the water and target his leg muscles.

As an aside I am acquainted with a multiple Olympian who put rubber gloves on the feet when entering the bath to ensure the feet were protected and allow longer exposure to the soothing effects of the ice water.

SuperHans

we used ice baths after our early january and february slogs in the mud and it definitely helped your post training recovery.i dunno if they wud be of much use after a training in mild weather on the firm ground tho