Dublin Vs Meath

Started by Jinxy, April 13, 2008, 09:50:54 PM

I wouldnt disagree with that orangeman.  They have a very good squad.

If they are happy enough winning leinsters, then this management and style of play will achieve the goals.

If they want to win an all ireland, then, thats a different matter altogether.

Quote from: Bensars on April 21, 2008, 01:36:18 PM
I wouldnt disagree with that orangeman.  They have a very good squad.

If they are happy enough winning leinsters, then this management and style of play will achieve the goals.

If they want to win an all ireland, then, thats a different matter altogether.

Most people would have been delighted to have seen Dublin win an AI by this stage, but now most people would begrudge them an AI given their tactics.

Quote from: corn02 on April 21, 2008, 01:16:40 PM
Just seen the highlights on Youtbe, was not exactly the war I was expecting.

One point, how was it done the frontal charge just before Whelan got sent off. That was a red card offence for me.

Seriously though. These confrontations disrupt Dublin alot more than their opposition. Caffery is a tactical idiot in my mind.

Serious point otDub posters, do you think he tells them to get stuck in as such  before a game?
Dublin are no dirtier than Meath, Monaghan, Kerry, Armagh, Tyrone etc.

Yes, we do have a history with Meath and Tyrone so schmozzle's arent uncommon. But its 50/50 - takes two to tango.

Its quite bizarre that even questions like yours come up - which would seem to put the blame on Dublin rather than Meath. But in the end it doesnt matter what I say, most of the eejits on here are just on a wind up or havent a clue what they're talking about.

Quote from: Hound on April 21, 2008, 01:41:47 PM

Yes, we do have a history with Meath and Tyrone so schmozzle's arent uncommon. But its 50/50 - takes two to tango.

Its quite bizarre that even questions like yours come up - which would seem to put the blame on Dublin rather than Meath. But in the end it doesnt matter what I say, most of the eejits on here are just on a wind up or havent a clue what they're talking about.

We don't have a history of all in brawls with each other. It's usually no quarter asked or given but it rarely strays into fight club territory.

One point, how was it done the frontal charge just before Whelan got sent off. That was a red card offence for me.

Seriously though. These confrontations disrupt Dublin alot more than their opposition. Caffery is a tactical idiot in my mind.

Serious point otDub posters, do you think he tells them to get stuck in as such  before a game?

Agree 100% - I find it particularly funny when Armagh and even Tyrone posters see fit to complain about Dublin tactics..

Just read through this thread now, theres some of the most idiotic comments I've ever come across on here throughout the thread, and the likes of "dont matter" should be ashamed of themselves.

But to the game, lets not kid ourselves there were two teams involved and I've read very few comments criticising Meaths part in it all, which says it all really.

No arguments over the 4 sendings off.
Re Whelans, I didnt think he caught him at the time, and taped and replayed it in slow motion last night and it seemed to me at worst he pushed the player, not punched.
Still the rules are the rules and I wont argue with the red, but would like to see the Meath player investigated as he quite clearly took a dive with the intentions of getting a fellow player sent off.

The Meath fan who threw the tea is a disgrace and should never enter a GAA ground again.

The rest of the game involved sporadic petty late hits from both sides, and was dissapointing to see.
Re the actual football, Dubs were the better side by a mile and but for a 3 minute spell late on when the 12 men were knackered, would have won comfortably.

At the end of the day, some lads on here need to get a grip and untwist their knickers over the "brawl". Feck sake, I'm sure many of you who play have been involved in worse over the years but take the moral high ground when talking about the Dubs.

Quote from: orangeman on April 21, 2008, 01:39:33 PM
Most people would have been delighted to have seen Dublin win an AI by this stage, but now most people would begrudge them an AI given their tactics.

They would in their hole have!
;D ;D ;D ;D

Quote from: his holiness nb on April 21, 2008, 01:52:12 PM
Just read through this thread now, theres some of the most idiotic comments I've ever come across on here throughout the thread, and the likes of "dont matter" should be ashamed of themselves.

But to the game, lets not kid ourselves there were two teams involved and I've read very few comments criticising Meaths part in it all, which says it all really.

No arguments over the 4 sendings off.
Re Whelans, I didnt think he caught him at the time, and taped and replayed it in slow motion last night and it seemed to me at worst he pushed the player, not punched.
Still the rules are the rules and I wont argue with the red, but would like to see the Meath player investigated as he quite clearly took a dive with the intentions of getting a fellow player sent off.

The Meath fan who threw the tea is a disgrace and should never enter a GAA ground again.

The rest of the game involved sporadic petty late hits from both sides, and was dissapointing to see.
Re the actual football, Dubs were the better side by a mile and but for a 3 minute spell late on when the 12 men were knackered, would have won comfortably.

At the end of the day, some lads on here need to get a grip and untwist their knickers over the "brawl". Feck sake, I'm sure many of you who play have been involved in worse over the years but take the moral high ground when talking about the Dubs.

Its a bit hard to take the rest of your post seriously after that in fairness. ::)

Come on Hound - what you're saying is that we're all wrong and you're right ! And Pillar had the cheek to come out and say that he hoped the supporter who threw the tea at Whelan was proud of himself ????????

Pillar just CAN'T see that what he is doing is WRONG ! And neither can you ! You've been brainwashed as well, so much so that you're saying that all the non - Dublin posters don't have a clue what they're talking about !  ;)

Something needs to be done about the Dubs, They tried to sort out Meath yesterday, they tried to sort out Monaghan, they tried to sort out Tyrone in Omagh.  They really tend to bring negative publicity not only on themselves but on the teams they are playing. No offence Heffo they are an undisciplined bundle of hoors and they will fail again beacuse of this.  Either Caffrey promotes this or he has lost his team - you tell me.  
On a side- Is there more agression on the terraces this year - I blame the economy perhaps the great unwashed are reclaiming the terraces, but ffS  Id rather have a rich-T with my cuppa than a poor dub.  
Storm in a teacup anyone?  

Quote from: his holiness nb on April 21, 2008, 01:53:05 PM
Quote from: orangeman on April 21, 2008, 01:39:33 PM

They would in their hole have!
;D ;D ;D ;D

I for one would have applauded Dublin but maybe not now - they're trying to kick and box their wat to an AI !

Quote from: Jinxy on April 21, 2008, 01:55:42 PM
Its a bit hard to take the rest of your post seriously after that in fairness. ::)

Jinx, I could be wrong and I admit that, just saying what I personally saw.

I havent seen any footage or pictures to convince me otherwise.

You know I'm not slow to point out when a Dub steps out of line so theres no other motive in my statement.
And for the record I would pick Fennell and Ryan for the championship anyway.

Also interesting is the repeated claims that Dublin try to fight their way to an AI when all the "fights" in the past few years have happened in the league. ???

Like I said earlier, the atmosphere was grand where I was. Plenty of mixing, plenty of shaking hands at the end. How come if this game involved so much malevolence I never had any fear that the Meath players would get abuse when the pitch was invaded at the end? The players shook hands, GG even gave the Church End a little clap and everyone went on their way. From what I heard about the Monaghan game the atmosphere then was way worse.

Watched the highlights on TV last night and if this is anything to go on the referee dealt with the incident and thats it. Whelan was unlucky but because it happened so soon after the handbags it was always likely he would get the line. Watched the Dubs play Armagh last week and it was a good hard match as they always are. My worry for Dublin is that these incidents can create problems for them in the future as referees get influenced by the image created and come down harder on the Dubs than their opponents. Would not have a problem seeing the Dubs win an All Ireland - as long as it is not beating Armagh!