All Ireland Championship 2025.

Started by Blowitupref, April 27, 2025, 06:12:46 PM

Truthsayer

Quote from: Aristo 60 on June 16, 2025, 12:26:34 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on June 16, 2025, 12:20:09 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on June 16, 2025, 10:57:57 AMAh , the old heated  balls on the radiator  worked a treat this morning

The 4 big  guns kept apart. Four inevitable victories  ::)

Dublin by 8+
Kerry by 12+
Donegal by 6+
Galway by 2+
When you're reminded some on the Board haven't a clue. Was two pots with 2nd place teams against 3rd place teams... hence 'kept apart'  ::)

Looking fwd to Austin's response
Should I hide?  :o
Maybe he was being circastic hard to know. Seen so many this morning say it was rigged...

GrandMasterFlash

Are the quarter final permutations known at this point, if Kerry beat Cavan they're playing Armagh??

Quote from: AustinPowers on June 16, 2025, 10:57:57 AMAh , the old heated  balls on the radiator  worked a treat this morning

Dublin by 8+
Kerry by 12+
Donegal by 6+
Galway by 2+
When you're reminded some on the Board haven't a clue. Was two pots with 2nd place teams against 3rd place teams... hence 'kept apart'  ::)

I know. Some f**king idiots parrot posts that others put up the guts of an hour previous too! What f**king goons.

AustinPowers

Dublin by 8+
Kerry by 12+
Donegal by 6+
Galway by 2+

Ah sure I was only  being 'circastic'  ;)

I was aware of the  two pots . Just  disappointing  that  none of the  big 3  (well, two, Ker/Don ) in first  pot  didn't draw the big 1  in other pot (Galway )

From what could have been a  fairly  interesting weekend of football  , it's  all a bit of a formality now

tiempo

Jim in his search for a siege mentality drove the Donegal team past the Hyde on Saturday for an overnight stay before driving back up the road for the game on the Sunday, then complains about the venue - he might be a silver fox but bejaysus he doesn't half talk some serious brown

Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on June 16, 2025, 12:36:35 PMAre the quarter final permutations known at this point, if Kerry beat Cavan they're playing Armagh??

if the games go as expected then yes as we cant play donegal/dublin/galway

McGuinness is a moaney aul bollix

An Watcher

Read that myself this morning about mcguinness.  Yeah, he's trying to work an angle.

Also armagh fans seem to have gone very quiet all of a sudden.  They had a nice wee path sorted to the semi finals until meath fecked it up and now they're realising they're probably going to be playing kerry.  While I expect armagh to beat a kerry team playing 3 weeks on the trot it's funny how the best laid plans can come s cropper

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 16, 2025, 01:00:45 PMMcGuinness is a moaney aul bollix

It's all mind games and siege mentality to get an extra edge with his own players - everybody's against us, even the ones making the fixtures.

Quote from: The Boy Wonder on June 16, 2025, 08:12:54 AM
Quote from: Manning18 on June 16, 2025, 01:01:09 AM
Quote from: The Boy Wonder on June 15, 2025, 09:05:32 PMLike a lot of neutrals I was disappointed to see Mayo exit the championship - they bring so much to the competition.

Fair play to Donegal with the last play leading to the winner.
They could have kicked the play out of play after the hooter knowing they were through.
Had they taken that option it would have left a very sour taste in the Breffni County.

They've been by far the most turgid of the big teams to watch this year. Every one of their championship games has had under the average number of points this year, some of them significantly so.

The only common denominator there is Mayo. The new rules reward clever and classy forward play and that's something they've always struggled with, even back when they were good

My bitter taste comment referred to the choice that the Donegal player had after the hooter sounded :
- kick the ball over sideline and Mayo qualify
- kick the ball over bar and Cavan qualify.

From a Donegal perspective, kick it over the bar and we (a) beat a tough opponent we haven't beaten in years; (b) knock out an opponent who could easily beat us if we were to meet again.

Moore showed massive respect to Mayo by doing what he did.

cavanmaniac

Quote from: Stall the Bailer on June 16, 2025, 09:22:48 AMDo Cavan see themselves as being on par with their neighbours in Meath? Kerry will be wounded but are still vulnerable, if Cavan approach it like the Mayo game you never know.

Cavan might have felt themselves on a par with Meath after the league, but as usual, when the championship started and the heat turned up, they exposed themselves for the paper tigers they are. Eamon McGee's quote from a few years back, assessing Cavan as all noise but soft-centred foldups when you put it up to them, has never rung truer.

statto

Quote from: An Watcher on June 16, 2025, 01:27:09 PMRead that myself this morning about mcguinness.  Yeah, he's trying to work an angle.

Also armagh fans seem to have gone very quiet all of a sudden.  They had a nice wee path sorted to the semi finals until meath fecked it up and now they're realising they're probably going to be playing kerry.  While I expect armagh to beat a kerry team playing 3 weeks on the trot it's funny how the best laid plans can come s cropper
Armagh's quarter final opponent hasn't been confirmed.  While it looks like Kerry at the moment there's not much to talk about it as it has yet to be confirmed.

Quote from: Armamike on June 16, 2025, 01:32:41 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 16, 2025, 01:00:45 PMMcGuinness is a moaney aul bollix

It's all mind games and siege mentality to get an extra edge with his own players - everybody's against us, even the ones making the fixtures.

It helps when the CCCC chairman aka Roscommon CB chairman is making silly comparisons about the distances the respective supporters had to travel!

But yeah, Jim is obviously just looking for an edge.

An Watcher

I know statto, that's why I said probably.  Maybe down will beat galway and armagh will have them in the quarters

statto

Quote from: J70 on June 16, 2025, 01:35:57 PM
Quote from: The Boy Wonder on June 16, 2025, 08:12:54 AM
Quote from: Manning18 on June 16, 2025, 01:01:09 AM
Quote from: The Boy Wonder on June 15, 2025, 09:05:32 PMLike a lot of neutrals I was disappointed to see Mayo exit the championship - they bring so much to the competition.

Fair play to Donegal with the last play leading to the winner.
They could have kicked the play out of play after the hooter knowing they were through.
Had they taken that option it would have left a very sour taste in the Breffni County.

They've been by far the most turgid of the big teams to watch this year. Every one of their championship games has had under the average number of points this year, some of them significantly so.

The only common denominator there is Mayo. The new rules reward clever and classy forward play and that's something they've always struggled with, even back when they were good

My bitter taste comment referred to the choice that the Donegal player had after the hooter sounded :
- kick the ball over sideline and Mayo qualify
- kick the ball over bar and Cavan qualify.

From a Donegal perspective, kick it over the bar and we (a) beat a tough opponent we haven't beaten in years; (b) knock out an opponent who could easily beat us if we were to meet again.

Moore showed massive respect to Mayo by doing what he did.
The new rules are to encourage teams to go and try and win the game, if Moore had just booted the ball out would have loved to have heard Fitzmaurice view on that.  Hooter I thought would be a good addition but in tight games last few minutes are hard watch one team just trying to hold the ball rather than get another score.