Name your three favourite songs by... [Blur]

Started by AustinPowers, November 30, 2023, 06:08:24 PM

AustinPowers

I thought a Blur  top 3 would  have had more contributions given the  age demographics on the board

DownFanatic

Quote from: AustinPowers on June 09, 2025, 02:35:35 PMI thought a Blur  top 3 would  have had more contributions given the  age demographics on the board

Speaking of the demographics of the board, it might be worth adding the Stereophonics to the list.

Quote from: AustinPowers on June 09, 2025, 02:35:35 PMI thought a Blur  top 3 would  have had more contributions given the  age demographics on the board

Next 3 will give a good idea of the age demo and psychographics of the board, and whether we're populated by melancholy shoegazing miserabalists, or scuffy lads who liked to drink big durty pints of black porter in O'Donaghues, or even scruffier long haired denim clad air guitarists with repetitive wrist syndrome. Bring it on, Austin.

I get more fun from arguing who to put on the list if I'm being honest

#oceancolourscene

AustinPowers

Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on June 09, 2025, 03:41:43 PMI get more fun from arguing who to put on the list if I'm being honest

#oceancolourscene

Kylie!

Substandard

Quote from: weareros on June 09, 2025, 03:19:59 PM

Next 3 will give a good idea of the age demo and psychographics of the board, and whether we're populated by melancholy shoegazing miserabalists, or scuffy lads who liked to drink big durty pints of black porter in O'Donaghues, or even scruffier long haired denim clad air guitarists with repetitive wrist syndrome. Bring it on, Austin.

Shite,  I would have considered myself cultured, deep and philosophical- instead, I'm a shoegazing miserabalist!!  The only reason the hair is longish is to disguise from the blank area so long as I stay standing!!
And as for OCS, while it's not a hill I'd be willing to die on, it's a slightly inclined area I'd be willing to half-heartedly defend for maybe 4 songs, So low making it worthwhile!!

Quote from: AustinPowers on June 09, 2025, 03:52:29 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on June 09, 2025, 03:41:43 PMI get more fun from arguing who to put on the list if I'm being honest

#oceancolourscene

Kylie!
I have to commend the top job on the admin of keeping the list up to date on page 1. I might not like the content but I doff my cap, regardless!

Quote from: Substandard on June 09, 2025, 04:33:32 PM
Quote from: weareros on June 09, 2025, 03:19:59 PM

Shite,  I would have considered myself cultured, deep and philosophical- instead, I'm a shoegazing miserabalist!!  The only reason the hair is longish is to disguise from the blank area so long as I stay standing!!
And as for OCS, while it's not a hill I'd be willing to die on, it's a slightly inclined area I'd be willing to half-heartedly defend for maybe 4 songs, So low making it worthwhile!!

Go slow, I'm listenin

AustinPowers

Quote from: lurganblue on June 03, 2025, 04:49:54 PMI never liked the whole Blur v Oasis craic.  It's ok to like them both. Top 3 for me...

Coffee & TV
The Universal
Music is my radar

Hyped up by the  tabloids and their record companies to sell  newspapers/records.

Sure didn't Blur and Oasis (Noel, anyway)   take the stage together  once?

PS. Music is my radar is one weird , but  strangely likeable track. Always remember hearing it first on TOTP , and my younger  brother and I laughing  our heads off at it (sounded even weirder performed live). What  is this shite, we thought?  But it  sort of grew on me over time.

Quote from: AustinPowers on June 09, 2025, 06:16:11 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on June 03, 2025, 04:49:54 PMI never liked the whole Blur v Oasis craic.  It's ok to like them both. Top 3 for me...

Coffee & TV
The Universal
Music is my radar

Hyped up by the  tabloids and their record companies to sell  newspapers/records.

Sure didn't Blur and Oasis (Noel, anyway)   take the stage together  once?

PS. Music is my radar is one weird , but  strangely likeable track. Always remember hearing it first on TOTP , and my younger  brother and I laughing  our heads off at it (sounded even weirder performed live). What  is this shite, we thought?  But it  sort of grew on me over time.

Yeah it's a weird one.  Different than most of their stuff but it's one that I find I would seek out if I wanted to hear a bit of Blur, so I had to include it.

AustinPowers

Should we  add The Beach Boys to the list , given  the recent news?

Quote from: AustinPowers on June 12, 2025, 08:19:27 PMShould we  add The Beach Boys to the list , given  the recent news?
Wouldn't it be nice.