Name your three favourite songs by... [Bon Jovi]

Started by AustinPowers, November 30, 2023, 06:08:24 PM

AustinPowers

Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 23, 2025, 07:11:52 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on May 23, 2025, 02:33:28 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 23, 2025, 01:40:46 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on May 23, 2025, 09:13:40 AM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on May 23, 2025, 08:27:14 AMLooking at the first 5 bands on the list, I'd say that also applies to The Pogues, REM, U2 and the Rolling Stones.
As well as most of the others on the list.

You could just name your top 3 songs by The Jam and move on. Or, alternatively, not bother.

Though Austin Powers does play God on this himself so he does deserve some back. Enya and INXS for crying out loud.

I don't see where you're going in that first paragraph. Stones and U2 are among the top 20 best selling musical acts of all time, and have extraordinary longevity. Their music is everywhere in pop culture. The Jam were a cool band for a few years in the late 70s, who regained popularity for a year or two in the 1990s when Weller did his unplugged album.

We are probably running out of "big hitters" to be fair at this point. Some that might be considered (if not done already): Billy Joel, Neil Diamond, Johnny Cash, Garth Brooks, Frank Sinatra, Ed Sheeran, Phil Collins, Adele, Rod Stewart, David Bowie, Paul Simon (inc Garfunkel), Robbie Williams / Take That, Stevie Wonder. Basic criteria for me is a) a catalogue of greatest hits that everyone knows, and b) a back catalogue of album tracks for the music lovers to show off a little.
Same can be said with most of above list. "Ask 10 random people to name 10 of the above bands songs and you'll have 9 people reaching for Google by song 5" 

Lets be honest your head goes wobbly when a band you dont like are listed here. I'm sure its the same for plenty here with the very mention of Adele and Ed Sheeran. 

Good suggestions on Johnny Cash,Phil Collins,Simon and Garfunkel and Neil Diamond though the latter has already fallen on deaf ears for the OP.

The latter was suggested as a wind up , but since  a couple have asked , I'll add... oh crap, it to the list  ::)

Along with the above three
I see Bowie is on the to do list - was he definitely not done previously? How the f**k did Ocean Colour Scene get done before Bowie?!

Also, are we including Genesis in the Phil Collins selection?

Bowie hasn't  been done yet  but he's on the list

OCS hasn't been  done

Phil Collins has a fair collection on his own so  we'll keep him  separate

Duine Inteacht Eile

OCS should be on the list. Indeed, what odds is it? We had Enya ffs, and we moved on.

Anyway, Dire Straits.

Mans not gonna be allowed to forget enya

Nor should he

Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on May 23, 2025, 09:51:09 PMOCS should be on the list. Indeed, what odds is it? We had Enya ffs, and we moved on.

Anyway, Dire Straits.
If we are happy to put any oul shite on then have at it. I'd have Pulp on before OCS.

Duine Inteacht Eile

Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 23, 2025, 10:31:50 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on May 23, 2025, 09:51:09 PMOCS should be on the list. Indeed, what odds is it? We had Enya ffs, and we moved on.

Anyway, Dire Straits.
If we are happy to put any oul shite on then have at it. I'd have Pulp on before OCS.
What is any oul shite though?

I mean, I understand that Buddy Holly is an iconic musician from yesteryear but other than an iconic British Sunday night period drama from the 90s I'd be stretched to know WTF he sang.

Anyway, Dire Straits.

You're fuckin still at it TB! Although to be fair Pulp have spanned 6 decades now, which is wildwood... I'll take the riverboat before Wobbler complains about folks who like music

Quote from: Puckoon on May 24, 2025, 10:44:55 AM

Anyway, Dire Straits.

You're fuckin still at it TB! Although to be fair Pulp have spanned 6 decades now, which is wildwood... I'll take the riverboat before Wobbler complains about folks who like music
Self-appointed Quality Control Inspector.

Anyway, Dire Straits.

Some twats wanted OCS to be on the list to show how cool and indie they still are long after the death of Britpop.

A few more serious lads stepped in and put an end to it.

Dire Straits is a good shout. Duran Duran too if staying in the 80s.

Quote from: gallsman on May 24, 2025, 11:05:02 AM

Anyway, Dire Straits.

Some twats wanted OCS to be on the list to show how cool and indie they still are long after the death of Britpop.

I'll slag off OCS and then ask for Simon Le Bon

Quote from: JoG2 on May 24, 2025, 11:08:22 AM

Anyway, Dire Straits.

You were Spandau Jog weren't you 😋

Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on May 24, 2025, 11:35:29 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on May 24, 2025, 11:08:22 AM

Anyway, Dire Straits.

You were Spandau Jog weren't you 😋

Hell yes... And we made of our love on waaaaaaste laaaaaaaaaand (praying for a dry ride whilst reeking of Tayto cheese 'n onion)

Even reading that turned me on I'm not sure how you could have failed

This year's Electric Picnic line up how many bands would one suggest to add to the list on this thread?

Ronnie

That's a decent line-up.  Wouldn't mind going.  Anyway back to The Jam.  My top 3:

Going Underground
Down in the Tube Station at Midnight
Thick as Thieves