Booze at GAA games

Started by Truth hurts, May 12, 2025, 09:50:04 AM

This thread is testament to how short memories are in the average human being.

In the 1990s I was that drunken teen on the hill in Clones. Hazy but brilliant days out with mates, which usually turned into nights out in Lacys.

And one of underlying memories of being a young teenager was that every Fri and Sat night, Sugar Island in Newry around 1am was an open air asylum of men who liked to have a row running into men who could row. There was no coke in Newry then. There was though plenty of aggression.

If a solitary video in a filling station is the only trouble, then our society is doing okay.

Quote from: thewobbler on May 13, 2025, 07:02:58 AMThis thread is testament to how short memories are in the average human being.

In the 1990s I was that drunken teen on the hill in Clones. Hazy but brilliant days out with mates, which usually turned into nights out in Lacys.

And one of underlying memories of being a young teenager was that every Fri and Sat night, Sugar Island in Newry around 1am was an open air asylum of men who liked to have a row running into men who could row. There was no coke in Newry then. There was though plenty of aggression.

If a solitary video in a filling station is the only trouble, then our society is doing okay.
The biggest difference now is that there is a w**ker on hand with a phone recording it.

Honestly never see this type of drunkeness before or during connacht championship matches.
After the match might be a different story, but even then I don't remember ever seeing a fight.
It seems to be part of the "culture" in Ulster championship matches to get tanked up before the match?

Not exclusive to ulster. There was some stuff at meath louth sunday too. The worst I have seen over the years is Meath ones (and I have nothing against Meath).

And we have public sale of tickets and still no trouble.

But then again us Western folks are a civilised breed.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Quote from: Tubberman on May 13, 2025, 07:52:39 AMHonestly never see this type of drunkeness before or during connacht championship matches.
After the match might be a different story, but even then I don't remember ever seeing a fight.
It seems to be part of the "culture" in Ulster championship matches to get tanked up before the match?

Only because connacht people don't want to spend the money!

snoopdog

Quote from: Tubberman on May 13, 2025, 07:52:39 AMHonestly never see this type of drunkeness before or during connacht championship matches.
Most of these drunks at matches it's prob their 1st game of the year. There more for the  booze than the game. Mostly all late teens early 20s,. Ulster council didn't help the matter with a late throw in.
Some counties seem to attract more of these types . Armagh seem to suffer more with the buckfast brigade in Ulster on a big day, but every county has them. Id steer clear of tge terraces if incan just to avoid them. I'm still not over bringing the kids to Clones 2 years ago for Down V Armagh. The behaviour that day was disgusting. Result not much better ;D
But the gaa just need a few games where they don't let them in and it will go a long way.

oakleaflad

In our league game at home to Galway this year I was sitting next to a bus load of about 20-ish young lads who were absolutely on the drink on the way up the road. Now they weren't any bother but they were drinking and some were definitely in the drunk category. So this isn't just an Ulster thing and not just restricted to championship.

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: Franko on May 12, 2025, 01:51:00 PM
Quote from: reddgnhand on May 12, 2025, 01:28:38 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on May 12, 2025, 12:55:11 PM
Quote from: Truth hurts on May 12, 2025, 09:50:04 AMAt the weekend there we seen fights in Clones ad fights on the Hill. What can we do to stop young ones congregating to matches full of Drink and drugs acting like soccer hooligans.
What soccer did to stop it happening there.

Arrests and bans. Expulsion from the association if members.

Is the will there to admit there is a problem and have scenes of riot cops snatching folk from games?

Come on is the problem really that big. Take the weekend if you were to replicate it with England there would be carnage. No segregation in a soccer ground. We really put ourselves down in this country. Hooliganism in England is organised. Do you think the lads fighting yesterday left home with the intent to get involved in a public scrap?

Don't feed the troll lads.

Riot cops  ;D  ;D

There could be an issue if not stamped on quickly though - but all this would take is McGeeney and McGuinness (or a couple of big name players) to do a public interview calling out the knobheads for acting like knobheads

The immediate, and tedious, analogy to soccer was made. Soccer, at least in the FAI area, stopped hooliganism. There are no scraps anymore. Even Rovers and Bohs passes off peacefully these days. Because they took the gloves off.

Even a simple thing like searches on entry. If you know that having a bottle of hooch on you will stop you getting into the game, you won't try and smuggle it in.

If you throw slaps on a crowded terrace it's the POU heavy boys you deal with.

If you bought your ticket through a club you are banned for a period and the club punished.

But are we there? Will the GAA allow the Garda into the solution like soccer did? We all know the answer to that.

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on May 13, 2025, 10:22:11 AM
Quote from: Truth hurts on May 12, 2025, 09:50:04 AMAt the weekend there we seen fights in Clones ad fights on the Hill. What can we do to stop young ones congregating to matches full of Drink and drugs acting like soccer hooligans.

Is the will there to admit there is a problem and have scenes of riot cops snatching folk from games?

Come on is the problem really that big. Take the weekend if you were to replicate it with England there would be carnage. No segregation in a soccer ground. We really put ourselves down in this country. Hooliganism in England is organised. Do you think the lads fighting yesterday left home with the intent to get involved in a public scrap?

Riot cops  ;D  ;D

There could be an issue if not stamped on quickly though - but all this would take is McGeeney and McGuinness (or a couple of big name players) to do a public interview calling out the knobheads for acting like knobheads

The immediate, and tedious, analogy to soccer was made. Soccer, at least in the FAI area, stopped hooliganism. There are no scraps anymore. Even Rovers and Bohs passes off peacefully these days. Because they took the gloves off.

Even a simple thing like searches on entry. If you know that having a bottle of hooch on you will stop you getting into the game, you won't try and smuggle it in.

If you bought your ticket through a club you are banned for a period and the club punished.

But are we there? Will the GAA allow the Garda into the solution like soccer did? We all know the answer to that.

Lol at the bit in bold

By 'any more' - do you mean the past 10 months?   ;D  ;D

https://www.donegaldaily.com/2024/07/13/national-three-arrested-after-football-match-brawl/

The GAA won't bring the Garda in because they don't need to

No matter how much the soccer thugs would will it

STFU clown

AustinPowers

It really is  simple to police.

Drunk - you're not getting in

Carry out/bottles - leave them at the gate or  you're not getting in

You might still have  some behaving like  dicks while inside, but  at least they're  not getting any drunker.

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: Franko on May 13, 2025, 10:28:55 AM

Riot cops  ;D  ;D

Lol at the bit in bold

https://www.donegaldaily.com/2024/07/13/national-three-arrested-after-football-match-brawl/

STFU clown

Fair enough. You went back a year and found an incident. An incident involving arrests and bans. Which is my point.

Dundalk 'didn't need' to bring the Gardai into it. But they did. And as I said, there is still a cute hoor, boys will be boys attitude to violence in the GAA. Sneering at soccer when there is a valid argument we are worse is infantile

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on May 13, 2025, 12:29:05 PM

Riot cops  ;D  ;D

Lol at the bit in bold

STFU clown

Fair enough. You went back a year and found an incident. An incident involving arrests and bans. Which is my point.

Dundalk 'didn't need' to bring the Gardai into it. But they did. And as I said, there is still a cute hoor, boys will be boys attitude to violence in the GAA. Sneering at soccer when there is a valid argument we are worse is infantile

'Worse' says the clown

https://www.limerickleader.ie/news/national-news/1618761/teen-arrested-as-massive-brawl-between-football-fans-spills-on-to-major-dublin-road.html

(I can keep going if you want me to)

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: Franko on May 13, 2025, 12:40:58 PM

Riot cops  ;D  ;D

Lol at the bit in bold

STFU clown

'Worse' says the clown

https://www.limerickleader.ie/news/national-news/1618761/teen-arrested-as-massive-brawl-between-football-fans-spills-on-to-major-dublin-road.html

Please do. Because every one of those stories has the word 'arrest'. Because my point remains. They have no tolerance. You do.

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on May 13, 2025, 01:06:57 PM
Quote from: Franko on May 13, 2025, 12:40:58 PM

Riot cops  ;D  ;D

Lol at the bit in bold

STFU clown

'Worse' says the clown

Please do. Because every one of those stories has the word 'arrest'. Because my point remains. They have no tolerance. You do.

We've had this debate before and I see you still haven't learned your lesson

We all know why these stories have the word arrest

Because every bloody game involves a huge garda operation c/w fan segregation / searches / pub opening hour restrictions / riot cops etc etc.

All to keep the scum from battering the heads off each other.

And, with all that, they STILL can't manage to stop soccer thugs from being soccer thugs.

STILL they find a way to engage in constant mass brawls - because it's what they came for

In the GAA that simply doesn't happen - and much as it pains you, massive garda operations just aren't necessary

Rival fans congregate in pubs beforehand TOGETHER and sit in the stands beside each other

There's an odd incident (which there will be when you mix testosterone, drink/drugs and sporting rivalry)

Then clowns like yourself pounce upon it and start with the straw man arguments

And just to finish off - here's a cracker from 2018 in the Dublin SCHOOLBOY leagues where they had to abandon seven games in six weeks due to brawls, quite a few of which involved adults striking children

https://www.independent.ie/regionals/herald/players-as-young-as-11-caught-up-in-violence/37496333.html

'Worse' he says  ;D

Now please stop making a fool of yourself