Ulster Championship 2025

Started by Goals_Will_Come, March 25, 2025, 10:16:10 AM

Quote from: An Watcher on May 10, 2025, 09:14:41 PM
Quote from: 5times5times on May 10, 2025, 08:52:14 PMCawley was mostly good, but 2 calls had bearing on game.

1 stopping game cause murphy was cramping. Wtf. Why just for him?
3 donegal players thumping Campbell but yet got done for overcarrying

Excellent game but don't see how point one above had such a massive impact on the game.  It shouldn't have happened, no big deal

The Campbell incident wasn't even a free.  He had nowhere to go so jumped into 3 donegal men.  Move on

Thought armagh looked the slightly fresher team in extra time and should have pushed on when they went a point up.  Think grogan missed a straightforward enough one to go 2 up.  Fine margins

I'd have no issue whatsoever with the ref. If we took our two goal chances in the second half no Armagh person would be talking about that incident

Congrats Donegal, I hope we meet later in the year again for the big one.  Nothing between the teams, I don't think anyone would turn down the chance of another titanic tussle in a few weeks time.  Now for the group of death for the second year in a row.

tyrone08

Quote from: tonto1888 on May 10, 2025, 10:08:52 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on May 10, 2025, 08:55:59 PM
Quote from: Brendan on May 10, 2025, 08:44:03 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on May 10, 2025, 08:12:36 PMhttps://x.com/m_brosnan/status/1921276570745839816?t=s_YvCT13kuaSUqbeca3OMQ&s=19

Donegal player acting the eejit goading Armagh bench, armagh mentor comes on an decks him. Any idea who that Armagh man is?

How ugly could that have got with thousands of fans running onto the pitch, why would your first thought after a win like that be to goad the opposition bench, it wasn't even a bad tempered match

No one has any idea what was said during the match. Simple fact is you teach kids not to react to taunts but you have grown men running on and punching people in the face for it.

Armagh seriously need to grow up, if you can give it you can take it.

Cocaine abuse, eye goughing, sexual assault cases. This current Armagh panel are not exactly innocent and can't point fingers such as "oh he celebrated in front of us"

Take a running jump. p***k

Touched a nerve. Feel free to point out anything I said which was wrong

Well done Donegal, great game of football. Seemed to be one of those days everything went wrong and we still could have won it. Good chance thats the All Ireland final pairing draw dependent.

Quote from: An Watcher on May 10, 2025, 09:14:41 PM
Quote from: 5times5times on May 10, 2025, 08:52:14 PMCawley was mostly good, but 2 calls had bearing on game.

1 stopping game cause murphy was cramping. Wtf. Why just for him?
3 donegal players thumping Campbell but yet got done for overcarrying

Excellent game but don't see how point one above had such a massive impact on the game.  It shouldn't have happened, no big deal

The Campbell incident wasn't even a free.  He had nowhere to go so jumped into 3 donegal men.  Move on

Thought armagh looked the slightly fresher team in extra time and should have pushed on when they went a point up.  Think grogan missed a straightforward enough one to go 2 up.  Fine margins
Haven't seen the Soupy incident back, looked like charging to me but was talking to a friend that was watching the game on tv and he said it was 100% a foul. Stopping to check on St Michaels wee legs was a joke.

Thought we should have had a free the time McGrane was done for a lift ball, Murphy had a good hold of his shorts as he was breaking away.

Having not seen it back my initial thoughts are these. Great performance from Donegal who fully deserved their win. Comfortably the better side. Decent refereeing performance I thought to bar one or two decisions. Nothings changed on my thoughts on the rules but not allowed to voice that.

Langan Murphy Thompson and Morgan were exceptional. Conaty I thought was best player on the pitch.

Armagh very poor first half with McQuillian looking injured and Murnin and Crealy not looking fully fit.

Donegal seemed to change their defence approach compressing the space between their lines of defenders confusing Armagh. Donegal could and probably should have been out of sight by half time. Poor kicking from Patton kept Armagh in the game.

Armagh showed great grit to get back in to the game and should take some heart from how they fought back.

Both teams will have a big say in the All Ireland series particularly if Armagh get more players back.

Soupy charged. Referee got it spot on.

Quote from: RedHand88 on May 10, 2025, 10:21:27 PMSoupy charged. Referee got it spot on.
Fair enough, as I said looked that way to me but i was far enough away.

Sportacus

Quote from: thewobbler on May 10, 2025, 09:16:41 PMThat was in every respect a better game than Down v Derry 1994.

It's a day to love football.

Anyone talking about referees at this point needs their head examined.
No Jimmy Smith today unfortunately.

Great day out, and once again Armagh were close but no cigar. Armagh hit the upright twice in the first 15 minutes and I thought we had lost it when we went 7 points down but fair play to the lads.

I'm now looking forward to the qualifiers.

Harold Disgracey

Am over in Edinburgh at the moment, was watching the game in a bar. A Donegal supporter roared and shouted in my wife's face after the game. He was very apologetic after I had a word with him.

Donegal jersey beside the 16th green at the PGA golf in Philadelphia. To be fair, he didn't goad when Lowry missed his birdie putt 😮

tyrone08

Quote from: Harold Disgracey on May 10, 2025, 10:48:29 PMAm over in Edinburgh at the moment, was watching the game in a bar. A Donegal supporter roared and shouted in my wife's face after the game. He was very apologetic after I had a word with him.

Absolutely no call for that. A bit of banter is great and is all part of it but people shouldn't cross the line.

Harold Disgracey

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 10, 2025, 10:49:24 PMHate pricks like that!
Correct, was sitting beside another Donegal supporter an he was brilliant throughout. Couldn't be happier for him.