Joe McDonagh Cup 2025

Started by G@@, March 18, 2025, 01:18:35 PM

georgedoylesrightleg

lads will ye not get behind yer own for once. give tommy n the lads the year, theyre only in a wet week for the love o god.

Joeythelips

Quote from: The infidel in exile on March 23, 2025, 03:12:03 PMHello all, I thought that I would comment on the state of Laois hurling currently, although some of my fellow contributers may rightly state that, as I no longer live in the country, thus not fully aware of the current state of Laois hurling, I decided to avail of a trip to Belfast a few weeks ago, as the return flight was £27. I went to Corrigan park, and what I witnessed was nothing short of insanity by definition( doing the same thing over and over again, expecting a different result) I watched a Laois team that were outclassed physically, skillfully, intensity and almost all to a man were tired by the 62nd minute.

I watched a team with no clear direction, toothless up front and without identidy.

I stood relatively close to the Laois dugout, and observed the Laois management team and the Antrim one. Whilst the Laois team were scratching their heads and talking to one another, the Antrim dugout were constantly urging and clapping their team, whilst their players headed every word, basically I watched one group work in unison, whilst the other group were almost embarrassed to be there.

I know that I will receive backlash and abuse. But facts don't care about feelings. Now to my final analysis. The Manager is simply not good enough and doesn't have the ability to lead the team, I will go even further and say that if the man who was the original pick, didn't get sick, Laois definitely would be in 1B next season.

When Eddie Brennan was there, he clearly saw that Some of the Laois players were allergic to weight training, and lacked height. He gave them a style of hurling that suited them, the running game, short hand passing off the shoulder, players moving in packs and quick passing.

Laois hurling will NEVER IMPROVE with a local manager. Yes I want a Kilkenny man found. WHY, Because they are class hurlers, and they're Leinster men. I never thought I would see a day when Laois will be in a division with Tyrone, Derry, Donegal. Oh my Lord God. We are a joke

You are of course entitled to your opinion but I think it is a bit ridculous to suggest that Laois hurling will never improve under a local manager. One of our best managers in recent years was a Laois man (Cheddar) and Eddie Brennan benefitted from the work Cheddar had done with the panel.

I would also remind you that we had a Kilkenny manager (Brendan Fennelly) in charge in 2011 when Cork put 10-20 on the scoreboard in one of Laois hurlings darkest days.

The reality is Laois are struggling at underage in recent years at both codes, this week both u-20s teams took bad beatings which is a worry. Our county board need to look at player development squads and see what is going wrong in this regard. Our neighbours Offaly have shown what can be done if we get our act together,  that has not happened overnight but has taken years of effort with everyone pulling in the one direction. Something we need to match.

Despite your criticism of George he has a valid point in the Tommy should be judged on championship, there is rarely much between the likes of Laois, Carlow and Antrim and this year it happened that we came out the wrong end of in both games which cost us badly. Never nice to be relegated but fully expect Laois to bounce back next year in that regard.

Obviously the players and management will be downbeat about the league but not time to feel sorry for ourselves with championship around the corner. That is were they will judged as George suggested. Hopefully all going well we will get a crack at Carlow in the final but as we have seen in the league we can take nothing from granted as I am sure the likes of Westmeath and Down will be eyeing the Laois game as one they can win.

The infidel in exile

Comment taken and respected Joey, in hindsight I was harsh, but my comment was only predicated on what I saw, I agree with you regarding the problem on a perennial basis regarding developing underage Hurling teams. But with the up most respect brother, Laois schools Hurling is by definition slightly stronger than Offaly and Westmeath. We have Haywood, Fergals and mountrath, and Possibly Clonaslee although small. The County town offers nothing. Offaly only have Birr and Banagher, Westmeath only have Mullingar. The population of the County is supposed to be 92.000. but the four biggest towns/areas in the county are all football towns. I am a realist which I suppose comes with age, so I know we won't win an all Ireland in my lifetime. Finally I want to openly say that what I said about Tommy was purely based on what I witnessed in Belfast. Finally my gripe was that we should have doubled up on McNaughton by the 15th minute mark. I sat beside a man from Rathdowney who felt exactly the same, it would al least forced Antrim to change their pattern of play. We probably wouldn't have won, but it definitely would not have been as poor. Happy for the Minor win yesterday and they will hopefully win the group and probably face Westmeath. Roll on the Joe Mc and I hope and pray that we can win

The infidel in exile

Thank you Boy wonder, but sadly certain individuals have little or no understanding of intellectual critical analysis based on facts. I personally don't care less about insults from someone who can't spell, and writes how he speaks. He is clearly young and confuses opinions with insults. Anyway I wish to forget about the past and wish both Tommy Fitzgerald and the panel all the best going forward

georgedoylesrightleg

pology accepted. we drive on behind our man now and walk all over the hoores in our way

County Man

Any word on how preparations are going for the opener against Westmeath on the 19th?

I heard that Westmeath played Antrim in a challenge match last night in which Antrim won by 4 points.

Laoisred

Preparations going ok I'm hearing. Decent workout versus Cork 2nd Team midweek, down in Pairc UI Chaoimh. Cork still  quite strong Mark Coleman, Jack O'Connor, Luke Meade, Tommy O'Connell all playing and they won by 8. Almost all the lads that are on the Laois panel are available as far as I know. Aaron Dunphy struggling with an injury. Momentum is key in Joe McDonagh. Really need to start well and beat Westmeath at home.

LaoisforSam

Some positive news with the Laois Minors going in the right direction. I think Infidels point about an outsider is correct to a point.Look at Clough Ballacolla who certainly used outsiders to bring them on.I really hope Tommy Fitz does well but it's a big step to be an Inter County Manager especially since Laois are struggling so much. Portlaoise badly need help or are We waiting another 30 years for them to win a Minor A Final.Look at Ross Munnelly learning the ropes from Justin Mc Nulty.I think if Tommy had a few years over a Roscommon or Meath first or one of the top clubs in the Country. I Hope I'm wrong but Infidel has made some valid points. Either way We are all behind Tommy & the lads & I hope He proves us wrong & wins Joe Mc Donagh.

Laois man

Joe mcdonagh tomorrow tough game ahead have to get a win to kick off the year we are good enough but it won't be easy🙏

Voice of tReason

Best of luck to Tommy and the lads this afternoon. All the players are speaking very highly of the set-up so hopefully we can get championship off to a great start.

georgedoylesrightleg

Quote from: LaoisforSam on April 14, 2025, 10:30:52 AMSome positive news with the Laois Minors going in the right direction. I think Infidels point about an outsider is correct to a point.Look at Clough Ballacolla who certainly used outsiders to bring them on.I really hope Tommy Fitz does well but it's a big step to be an Inter County Manager especially since Laois are struggling so much. Portlaoise badly need help or are We waiting another 30 years for them to win a Minor A Final.Look at Ross Munnelly learning the ropes from Justin Mc Nulty.I think if Tommy had a few years over a Roscommon or Meath first or one of the top clubs in the Country. I Hope I'm wrong but Infidel has made some valid points. Either way We are all behind Tommy & the lads & I hope He proves us wrong & wins Joe Mc Donagh.

Tommy was wit Thomass  in Galway n Eddie in Laois. Jaysus lads ye have a fierce inferiority complex, no wonder we'll do f**k all wit that attitude

Voice of tReason

Nervous at the start but by far the better team throughout. Brilliant stuff.

georgedoylesrightleg

Jaysus we motored well today. Dooley is some boyo. Clear mopped up. Cha was a divil n de full forward line did unfold. Mighty. Hon Tommy

County Man

Great to get the 2 points v Westmeath and start the McDonagh on the front foot. After a jittery first 20 minutes, we settled well.

Our full forward line was excellent on the day especially Mossy Keyes. He took his goal brilliantly after a fantastic hook from Lee Cleere with the Westmeath player baring down on goal 30 seconds earlier. A big moment in the game.

Once we got the 2nd goal, the game was over as a contest. David Dooley put in a really good shift.

Down away next Saturday in Ballycran. Not to be taken for granted but would be hopeful of getting another win there. Carlow scored 6 goals against them in round 1.

The infidel in exile

Firstly I am over the moon for Tommy Fitzgerald, the management team, and of course the Team as a whole. Listened to it on radio 3, and got a friend to download the match, so I got to watch it yesterday. We were slow out of the block's but when Lee Cleere made that outrageous block, and Mosey scored that phenomenal goal 20 seconds later, the whole team seemed to react as though their lives depended on it.

As iv gotten older, humility comes a little easier for me, so I say with absolute integrity and honesty that I am very proud to say that I jumped to certain conclusions after the game in Belfast, that in hindsight were reactionary.

As human beings, we tend to forget about the bigger picture and thus live in the moment. What I witnessed in Belfast was accurate, but as a man who went to his first Laois senior match with his father in Rathdowney in 1979, it's fair to say that in 46 years of supporting this great little County, I have witnessed the Good the bad and the ugly of Laois Gaa for almost half a century.

As for the game on Saturday, I thought that the Goalie and all seven backs ( Mulaney for Walsh ) were on the money. I know that I mentioned young Dooley before, but he has the strength ability and skills to walk on to most County Hurling teams. Purcell defies age and logic, Corby works tirelessly and Mosey has it all. Young Quinlan is starting to fill out and can only get better. I still firmly believe that Aaron Dunphy must start when fit, as he is one of our best forwards in the last four years. Delighted for Ben Conroy simply because anyone who knows Laois Hurling, Ben has sometimes flattered to decieve, but on Saturday he was excellent, I'm not surprised because years ago when I was involved in underage Hurling, Ben was second only to Zane Keenan although Ben is younger, he was at under 14,16 level, the standout performer. Finally unless something out of the ordinary happens, It will be a Laois v Carlow final. I'm actually glad that Carlow absolutely destroyed Down, simply because they will be understandably badly low on confidence, and will start to remember when we put SEVEN past them a couple of years back.

P.S I know that the Minor Hurlers have only beaten Carlow and Kildare although comprehensively and will beat Kerry. Has anyone watched them and have they any hope of progressing to a Leinster semi final. I'm asking because I have a friend from Wexford over here and he was saying that this years Wexford minor hurlers are supposed to be very poor.