?

?
14 (50%)
?
14 (50%)

Total Members Voted: 28

Glass was injured 15mins in, i be worried he's done knee ligaments, couldn't move well at all.

Brendan who would u give it to in Derry, used to be Derry created good managers, now there nobody, alot of Derry club senior teams have had outside managers in recent years.

Ryan O

Mc Nicholl decision making is absolutely shocking, he can't see the kick out quick enough nevermind be able to implement it. Numerous opportunities to get short direct quick ball to Ethan and Ciaran on particular and he delayed too long until Donegal had it covered. For a member of backroom team to have to go and give him a hat to keep the sun out of his eyes 20mins into 1st half shows the level of goalkeeper preparation he's doing. Sick of hearing, he's not a keeper its not his fault.

Baker 1v1 is a poor of corner back as I've seen in Derry jersey niggling, pulling and dragging then when matters he's caught to far off then can't his feet sorted to actually track a man.

You would love to know what the thinking was taking off Niall Toner for Cahir Mc Monagle right when he was about to take a free. Also he was one of our only hopes in picking up breaking ball around the middle?
Paul Cassidy looks like the player we always though he was a club level, Scoring seems to be least of his worries, actually getting himself wound up long enough to get a shot away is the first hurdle.

And just for another point, Donegal were there for the taking today, we missed about 2-3 in first half and at least 6-8 points in 2nd half.

Brendan

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on April 06, 2025, 06:14:00 PMBrendan who would u give it to in Derry, used to be Derry created good managers, now there nobody, alot of Derry club senior teams have had outside managers in recent years.

Paddy Bradley, Deeks have been successful where theyve went, enda muldoon been involved with alot of these lads from underage, fellas these lads on the panel would have grew up admiring and not another mercenary

Ryan O

Quote from: Brendan on April 06, 2025, 06:25:34 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on April 06, 2025, 06:14:00 PMBrendan who would u give it to in Derry, used to be Derry created good managers, now there nobody, alot of Derry club senior teams have had outside managers in recent years.

Paddy Bradley, Deeks have been successful where theyve went, enda muldoon been involved with alot of these lads from underage, fellas these lads on the panel would have grew up admiring and not another mercenary
2 out of the 3 you mentioned are mercenaries. and don't for one second try selling winning Derry Intermediate championship as being successful enough to get an Inter county job.

I wonder what Ben Mckinless was thinking today. An actual keeper, sitting on the bench behind that performance.
If I was him I'd be asking questions about why he's there.

Players have to take a lot of the responsibility today, but management are just as responsible.
There's only so long you can use the late appointment, new rules, injury excuses. That was not far off our strongest starting line up today. Missing 3 starters.
So we should have been closer than that.

It's soo disappointing how far back we've went. We're now not competitive and not looking like we will be any time soon.
What's the fix?

Stickittotheman

Quote from: Ryan O on April 06, 2025, 06:19:33 PMMc Nicholl decision making is absolutely shocking, he can't see the kick out quick enough nevermind be able to implement it. Numerous opportunities to get short direct quick ball to Ethan and Ciaran on particular and he delayed too long until Donegal had it covered. For a member of backroom team to have to go and give him a hat to keep the sun out of his eyes 20mins into 1st half shows the level of goalkeeper preparation he's doing. Sick of hearing, he's not a keeper its not his fault.

Baker 1v1 is a poor of corner back as I've seen in Derry jersey niggling, pulling and dragging then when matters he's caught to far off then can't his feet sorted to actually track a man.

You would love to know what the thinking was taking off Niall Toner for Cahir Mc Monagle right when he was about to take a free. Also he was one of our only hopes in picking up breaking ball around the middle?
Paul Cassidy looks like the player we always though he was a club level, Scoring seems to be least of his worries, actually getting himself wound up long enough to get a shot away is the first hurdle.

And just for another point, Donegal were there for the taking today, we missed about 2-3 in first half and at least 6-8 points in 2nd half.

You really seem to have an issue with City players. What's wrong, no Ben McCarron to ridicule this week so it's Baker now instead. He is a decent defender but not top class. Far from hopeless as you make out though.

One thing he def not is a man marker, city man or not, am only now starting to appreciate how good Chrissy was at this.

Stickittotheman

Quote from: tbrick18 on April 06, 2025, 06:36:14 PMI wonder what Ben Mckinless was thinking today. An actual keeper, sitting on the bench behind that performance.
If I was him I'd be asking questions about why he's there.

Players have to take a lot of the responsibility today, but management are just as responsible.
There's only so long you can use the late appointment, new rules, injury excuses. That was not far off our strongest starting line up today. Missing 3 starters.
So we should have been closer than that.

It's soo disappointing how far back we've went. We're now not competitive and not looking like we will be any time soon.
What's the fix?

Tally still has some mitigating factors but every game we are getting battered. 8-12 point defeats being an almost regular occurrence. Most of the issues are coming from kick outs. His persistence with McNicholl could well cost him his job if this keeps up.

There are a good few weeks until start of the Round Robin. There needs to be a hell of a lot of work done between now and then. Some players like McGuigan, McEvoy, Ethan Doherty need to start showing why they are so highly regarded.

Roarty was decent for Donegal, did struggle on Murray awhile. I remember watching that lad in the U17 league 2 yrs ago. Derry had 5/6 players better than him, but he's where he's at. When does the U20 championship end? Donegal probably missing 3/4 starters do.  Not gonna watch the match bck, couldn't stomach it. How did Donegal have men free for the long rang kick outs? Do we not bother to man mark at all on Kickouts? Donegal man mark us.

Stickittotheman

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on April 06, 2025, 06:48:01 PMOne thing he def not is a man marker, city man or not, am only now starting to appreciate how good Chrissy was at this.

Really? Chrissy was the best man marker in the game. An unbelievable man on man marker. Baker is a decent defender. The worst corner back seen in a Derry jersey. I mean that's just a ridiculous statement.

Ryan O

Quote from: Stickittotheman on April 06, 2025, 06:44:17 PM
Quote from: Ryan O on April 06, 2025, 06:19:33 PMMc Nicholl decision making is absolutely shocking, he can't see the kick out quick enough nevermind be able to implement it. Numerous opportunities to get short direct quick ball to Ethan and Ciaran on particular and he delayed too long until Donegal had it covered. For a member of backroom team to have to go and give him a hat to keep the sun out of his eyes 20mins into 1st half shows the level of goalkeeper preparation he's doing. Sick of hearing, he's not a keeper its not his fault.

You really seem to have an issue with City players. What's wrong, no Ben McCarron to ridicule this week so it's Baker now instead. He is a decent defender but not top class. Far from hopeless as you make out though.

If he's good enough a don't care where he is from. The new rules have completely threw him into the fire, he's no protection and runners coming at him he has no idea how to position himself.
Don't throw your own city insecurities at me. Paul Cassidy not good enough either at the min! is it ok to mention that?

Stickittotheman

Quote from: Ryan O on April 06, 2025, 07:10:24 PM

If he's good enough a don't care where he is from. The new rules have completely threw him into the fire, he's no keeper and runners coming at him he has no idea how to position himself.
Don't throw your own city insecurities at me. Paul Cassidy not good enough either at the min! is it ok to mention that?

No one is playing well at the minute. I agree the new rules have exposed Baker a bit but he is still a decent defender. You were saying he is one of the worst corner backs you have seen in a Derry jersey. That's really harsh.

Something doesn't seem right with the team at the minute. Not a lot of intensity. Leaders of the team going hiding. An intermediate midfielder playing nets at county level which everyone bar Tally can see is an unmitigated disaster. Baker is the least of our problems.

Ryan O

Quote from: Stickittotheman on April 06, 2025, 07:19:20 PM
Quote from: Ryan O on April 06, 2025, 07:10:24 PM

If he's good enough a don't care where he is from. The new rules have completely threw him into the fire, he's no keeper and runners coming at him he has no idea how to position himself.

No one is playing well at the minute. I agree the new rules have exposed Baker a bit but he is still a decent defender. You were saying he is one of the worst corner backs you have seen in a Derry jersey. That's really harsh.

Something doesn't seem right with the team at the minute. Not a lot of intensity. Leaders of the team going hiding. An intermediate midfielder playing nets at county level which everyone bar Tally can see is an unmitigated disaster. Baker is the least of our problems.

Agree with intensity, Baker was there when Gallagher was manager and was used sparingly. Personally believe that was a good role for him. Paudi Mc Grogan doesn't currently have the fitness to play half back, scored good point today but I'm fully of opinion half back line are wary that full back line are weak/new and need protection. Paudi in there makes a difference. Then leaves the question of who has to move. Bradley is big/strong and better man marker, doesn't have Bakers speed but he is new and still settling in so I would go with him. If we think he is good enough put him to RHB and let him go forward, he appears to want to do that more than defend, also not as isolated.

uimhr ocht

Tally full of excuses beforehand talking about next year ffs,liable for that goalkeeper  and kick out strategy no progress at all,in eight matches,might not  win a match this season,he's a journey man collecting the money, that Tyrone man not hurting or annoyed tonight I'm sure,if he doesn't win a match this year  should he stay?