Age Appropriate Dress

Started by Louther, March 26, 2025, 04:01:09 PM

Quote from: lurganblue on March 26, 2025, 09:47:00 PMThat gets me onto the white socks with trousers. Still a no no for most people who remember Michael Jackson. Young bucks seem to have no bother with it now.

My 1986 holy communion outfit. Complete with patent leather tie.

SaffronSports

I'm 40 and married with 3 kids. I dress however the buck i like. I'm most comfortable in jogging bottoms, t-shirt and a hoodie or gaa quarter zip type thing. I feel I'm old enough not to care how I look and if I was concerned I'd not be as fat as I am so what I wear is of little consequence to me.

I have to go the office twice a week which is basically a dungeon in Ballymena where I might see the security lads and one or two other folk so just swap my joggers for jeans and no gaa tops on those days.

gerrykeegan

I wear tracksuit bottoms and hoodies all the time. I'm not far off 60. Jeans and a polo top on a night out.
I'll wear them in the old folks home too.
2007  2008 & 2009 Fantasy Golf Winner
(A legitimately held title unlike Dinny's)

The biggest problem most of us have no matter how many times we look in the mirror we don't see what the younger ones see when they look at us. Our brains still tell us that we're younger and when we see someone our age and we look at them and think "Feck they've had a hard paper round" in reality that's how we look too.
I too still wear trackies/skinnies but only for lying about the house or calling down to see the Mammy but like Lurganblue said the Polo shirt is slowly replacing the replica football top now. To flip it the other way a lot of guys my age or dead or a total mess so i'm reasonably happy with my current condition.
I once said to Jimmy Smyth..."Hey Jimmy, I'm in good shape" and his reply back was..."Yeah, round is a shape". Jimmy is never lost for a quick witty reply.

Was never a football jersey kinda man but wear football polo shirts. Tracksuits all the time,  even a pair of skinnies (which given the build of my legs is quite humorous!).  Thing is I'm either on a field or a sports ball 4-5 times a week outside of work or out running myself. Tracksuits are my go to until it's warm enough for shorts every day! 

Have to be smart in work every day so it's always good to relieve the burden!  As for going out I'm still jeans man for a pints night/gigs and smarter for dinner or events. But feck it I'm 50 this year so why grow up now!

Quote from: illdecide on March 27, 2025, 09:23:51 AMThe biggest problem most of us have no matter how many times we look in the mirror we don't see what the younger ones see when they look at us. Our brains still tell us that we're younger and when we see someone our age and we look at them and think "Feck they've had a hard paper round" in reality that's how we look too.
I too still wear trackies/skinnies but only for lying about the house or calling down to see the Mammy but like Lurganblue said the Polo shirt is slowly replacing the replica football top now. To flip it the other way a lot of guys my age or dead or a total mess so i'm reasonably happy with my current condition.
I once said to Jimmy Smyth..."Hey Jimmy, I'm in good shape" and his reply back was..."Yeah, round is a shape". Jimmy is never lost for a quick witty reply.

Rep football tops! Were never a thing, christ I cringe when I see anyone wearing them outside of training, or at least if they are going to a game of said top!
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 27, 2025, 09:47:30 AM
Quote from: illdecide on March 27, 2025, 09:23:51 AMThe biggest problem most of us have no matter how many times we look in the mirror we don't see what the younger ones see when they look at us. Our brains still tell us that we're younger and when we see someone our age and we look at them and think "Feck they've had a hard paper round" in reality that's how we look too.

Rep football tops! Were never a thing, christ I cringe when I see anyone wearing them outside of training, or at least if they are going to a game of said top!

I presume we're talking the likes of a Galway or Dublin or Clare jersey, no? Player fit is a bollox now anyway.

as for the skinnies, I've gotten a lot more involved in the coaching side this year, three teams instead of the one, and the extra two are camogie teams.
My wife is hunting for new tracksuit bottoms for me as she thinks the skinnies are inappropriate  ;)

The skinny tracksuit bottoms always reminds me of this. I still do it though...  ;D  8)

44 and usually a jeans and band tshirt type of guy. Hoodie when it's cold. Track bottoms today tho as I'm getting tattooed.

AustinPowers

Skinny bottoms on  us 40+ lads might not be flattering if there's  a bit of a beer gut. Luckily , I'm lean enough to get away with it. I think so anyway :D

But the skinny  jeans , that's a different story. Seen fellas in their 40's and 50's   in skinny jeans and they look  ridiculous

Quote from: tonto1888 on March 27, 2025, 11:55:55 AM44 and usually a jeans and band tshirt type of guy. Hoodie when it's cold. Track bottoms today tho as I'm getting tattooed.

Right, Armagh top in the bin and new Polo shirt in the basket. BTW does the opinion differ if you're a Townie or a Culchie. I'd imagine if you're from the Country or Tyrone and have the jeans and tan brown boots you could get away with a Replica top no baw but frowned upon if you're maybe a City boy. Asking for a friend...

Quote from: illdecide on March 27, 2025, 02:31:37 PM

Right, Armagh top in the bin and new Polo shirt in the basket. BTW does the opinion differ if you're a Townie or a Culchie. I'd imagine if you're from the Country or Tyrone and have the jeans and tan brown boots you could get away with a Replica top no baw but frowned upon if you're maybe a City boy. Asking for a friend...

As I said, pure cringe for a man of a certain age walking around town with a rep top of any type, tell your mate that  ;)
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: screenexile on March 27, 2025, 12:50:57 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on March 27, 2025, 11:55:55 AM44 and usually a jeans and band tshirt type of guy. Hoodie when it's cold. Track bottoms today tho as I'm getting tattooed.

An uncanny resemblance haha

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 27, 2025, 02:56:05 PM
Quote from: illdecide on March 27, 2025, 02:31:37 PM

As I said, pure cringe for a man of a certain age walking around town with a rep top of any type, tell your mate that  ;)
:)