FRC Feedback - poll on new rules - which do you like least?

Started by onefineday, February 17, 2025, 12:11:57 AM

Which of the new rule enhancements did you like least?

1v1 throw-in to start the game
12 (12%)
40 metre scoring arc and new scoring system
31 (31%)
Kick-outs
12 (12%)
Solo and Go
5 (5%)
Advanced mark
17 (17%)
Limits on passing to the goalkeeper
11 (11%)
3 Up/Back
12 (12%)

Total Members Voted: 100

Truthsayer

Quote from: on the sideline on March 09, 2025, 04:51:38 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on March 09, 2025, 03:37:31 PM
Quote from: GTP on March 09, 2025, 03:08:47 PMYou don't have to be opposed to change to be against some of the rule changes, how they have been implemented, the number of rule changes and that some of the rules are being fundamentally changed as the season progresses.
I watched a challenge match today my understanding is that tomorrow the rules will change and the version of Gaelic football I saw today will never be repeated that cannot be a positive for any sport. The league has been treated as an expirement and club competition at all age groups appear an afterthought.
Don't totally disagree with what you're saying but there are ones want NO change whatsoever. Seriously deluded.
As for league used as an experiment, that lies with the GPA who opposed pre-season competition.
There are pre-league club competitions.. in Tyrone anyway.
Football was watchable during the league albeit is more tweaks needed.
I'm a long time watching football and never seen game in such a bad state as recent years. Horrendous

Serious question - what did you think of the Tyrone Senior championship last year?
Was good games and poor games. Went to loads league games.. times I lost the will to live.
College football awful
County championship horrible. Nodded off twice on sofa first half All Ireland final and that's not a lie.

I know this has been touched on before, but I do have to laugh at managers giving out. The game they are coaching is not the football that has been played for decades and not the one that most of us fell in love with.

The skills of Gaelic football were being watered down and something had to be done. Now, I do think there is too much at once - but 3 up top, tap and go, anything to encourage long kickouts is good in my humble opinion.

I think it was Robbie Brennan who mentioned tuning in and it was 17-0 and fans won't watch it...well guess what lads? A county manager has to have some idea of an attacking plan. Too many spoofers just sit lads back and then don't know what to do without it.

Giving out about keepers allowing the ball to go back and forth as it's a bad thing. But, it's that lateral play is the very thing that most county managers have been coaching for years. So, are they admitting it was muck?!

I have been to all but one Kildare match and I have to say they are far better craic. It's much more chaotic, breaking balls are there to be won. Teams let the ball in earlier too.

Kids grow up with it at Go Games in terms of holding positions too, so it's not an alien thing. Let it rip I say!

Mad Mentor

If scoring points from 40m out is so easy, why for the last ten years were teams taking 10 minutes a time playing the ball over and back trying to get someone on the ball 20m out to have a shot?

Smokin Joe

Quote from: Mad Mentor on March 10, 2025, 07:29:27 AMIf scoring points from 40m out is so easy, why for the last ten years were teams taking 10 minutes a time playing the ball over and back trying to get someone on the ball 20m out to have a shot?
Because over the last 10 years you got the same reward for scoring from 40m as you did from 20m.  Today it is worth double, so a very different risk / reward scenario than there was previously.

FWIW, I wouldn't say it is easy to score from 40m in Open Play.  Conversion rate has been way below 40% in Div 1 so far this year.
But likewise, teams aren't converting at 80% once they are inside the arc either.

EoinW

Quote from: Smokin Joe on March 10, 2025, 07:46:58 AM
Quote from: Mad Mentor on March 10, 2025, 07:29:27 AMIf scoring points from 40m out is so easy, why for the last ten years were teams taking 10 minutes a time playing the ball over and back trying to get someone on the ball 20m out to have a shot?
Because over the last 10 years you got the same reward for scoring from 40m as you did from 20m.  Today it is worth double, so a very different risk / reward scenario than there was previously.

FWIW, I wouldn't say it is easy to score from 40m in Open Play.  Conversion rate has been way below 40% in Div 1 so far this year.
But likewise, teams aren't converting at 80% once they are inside the arc either.

If the FRC retain the 2 pointer, teams will begin to train "snipers" whose main role will be to hit 2 pointers. It's possible that in a few years the entire offensive game will revolve around the 2 point shot.

Enjoy Damien Comer this year.  He might be the last of the dinosaurs.

Quote from: Rossfan on March 11, 2025, 10:59:29 AMLet the whinging begin.....

https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2025/0311/1501368-gaa-approves-all-frc-changes-including-to-3v3-rule/

So I ran with a game at the weekend with those proposals I explained that the players can unintentionally step over the line, provided they didn't interfere with play that be ok, but the moment they touched the ball it would be called, the amount of times I'm looking over my shoulder to the calls coming from teams is too much, and even when I explained there is no infraction it still was not heard, both keepers stayed in their goals also which helps.

The hooter isn't a thing at club games so now that it is tweaked a bit and for all divisions that's a good thing

There will still be some level of confusion when the keeper does decide to venture up front and when there is a black/red card involved

As I see it there must always be 4 in defence and 3 up front?
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Knock Yer Mucker In

We went with the rules in our game, the most obvious change was the mark at mf, where the catcher who claimed the mark could go four metres without being touched, we must have got four pts from the mf who made the mark being tackled inside the 4 metre rule. That is going to take some getting used to, never mind they can have a advantage and if no score comes from the advantage the ball is taken back to where the original mark was taken. :o
local expert is as sick as a dog, ate to many mc dollars

A player who claims a kick-out mark can play on immediately and not be challenged for four metres. If the player is challenged in that space, a free kick shall be awarded 50 metres more advantageous to that player up to the opposition's 13m line. The player can also bring it back to outside the 40m arc for a two-point score.

An advantage has accrued if a point or a goal is scored. If no advantage has accrued to the team of the player awarded the mark, the referee will signal "no advantage gained" and the ball will be taken back to the points of the mark.

Not sure how this is worked out

With the Mark, a player was always given 4 steps or meters before being tackled IF  he didn't claim the mark..

If he was challenged (impeded) before the 4 steps the originally the play would have been brought forward 13m, now its 50m or free from the 40m arc or 13 meters.

Now is the advantage still just when arm up for 5 seconds (unless its an advantage Mark, from ball played outside the 45 into the 21 then its unlimited? ;D  stay with me ) on anywhere on the pitch or is it now unlimited time?   
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

statto

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 11, 2025, 11:54:21 AMA player who claims a kick-out mark can play on immediately and not be challenged for four metres. If the player is challenged in that space, a free kick shall be awarded 50 metres more advantageous to that player up to the opposition's 13m line. The player can also bring it back to outside the 40m arc for a two-point score.

An advantage has accrued if a point or a goal is scored. If no advantage has accrued to the team of the player awarded the mark, the referee will signal "no advantage gained" and the ball will be taken back to the points of the mark.

Not sure how this is worked out

With the Mark, a player was always given 4 steps or meters before being tackled IF  he didn't claim the mark..

If he was challenged (impeded) before the 4 steps the originally the play would have been brought forward 13m, now its 50m or free from the 40m arc or 13 meters.

Now is the advantage still just when arm up for 5 seconds (unless its an advantage Mark, from ball played outside the 45 into the 21 then its unlimited? ;D  stay with me ) on anywhere on the pitch or is it now unlimited time?   
This rule will cause alot of frustration I would expect.  With the short kickout off the table, there will be alot of bodies around the kickout round the middle particularly on smaller club fields and the natural instinct won't be to retreat 4 yards. Punishment doesn't fit the crime as can cost the team two points.  I really don't like the being able to take a free out for 2 points rule. 

One question on the new hooter rule...
Team A get a free out on their 20, hooter goes....
Is free to be taken and play on till ball next goes out of play no matter how long it takes?
Or
Does Ref say ball is out of play, ye have no chance of scoring from the free, so game over?

BrendanAntrim

Hooter required for all games this weekend, which includes some crunch relegation / promotion games in lower divisions where hooter has not featured until now. Hope that doesn't increase the potential for controversy.

Quote from: BrendanAntrim on March 11, 2025, 12:45:45 PMHooter required for all games this weekend, which includes some crunch relegation / promotion games in lower divisions where hooter has not featured until now. Hope that doesn't increase the potential for controversy.

Who is in charge of the hooter? Home team? Ref?

BrendanAntrim

Quote from: NAG1 on March 11, 2025, 12:56:59 PM
Quote from: BrendanAntrim on March 11, 2025, 12:45:45 PMHooter required for all games this weekend, which includes some crunch relegation / promotion games in lower divisions where hooter has not featured until now. Hope that doesn't increase the potential for controversy.

RTE report says hooter in use for all games from this weekend, but that's not the case. Only to be used in Div 3 and 4 finals not regular league games.

Quote from: NAG1 on March 11, 2025, 12:56:59 PM

4th official and no fourth official no hooter. The ref signals stop clock, the ref signals start clock, teh fourth official will do that and sound the hooter..

Free membership of Hooters if you get it correct