Casement Park in line for major overhaul - 40,000 all seater Stadium.

Started by Joxer, October 06, 2010, 02:42:28 PM

Quote from: bannside on February 10, 2025, 12:53:23 PMUlster Championship and Tailteean Cup are two different competitions, legislated by different bodies!

Scaremongering at its finest...

Ulster Council citing Health & Safety as a smokescreen for changing the game. Why not just come out and say they badly need the revenue and at least everyone will understand their real motive. (Which most business people will relate to).

The reality is Armagh will get two thousand tickets approximately for their own usage on the day at Corrigan. Same as Antrim.

Game goes on. Principle upheld. Armagh supporters missing out will still waken up on the Monday morning afterwards, most likely still as favourites for Ulster and bigger days out ahead of them.

Let's call this out for what it is and stop insulting peoples intelligence.

Read the rule book about how the Tailteann Cup or the All-Ireland Series wroks and explain how a team (apart from New York who are explicity named in the rule-book) who hasn't played in a provincial competition gets entry to them.

Quote from: Armaghtothebone on February 10, 2025, 01:15:32 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 09, 2025, 01:43:15 PM
Quote from: Armaghtothebone on February 09, 2025, 11:42:05 AM
Quote from: bannside on February 09, 2025, 10:09:46 AMCan someone tell me why Antrim would want to concede home advantage where they might keep the score down to a respectable level in context of Div 3 team playing All Ireland Champions, never mind facing into it like an away match in front of 15k plus Armagh supporters.

Would be like turkeys voting for Christmas!

Ulster Council need to suck it up because they took eye off the ball and forgot to put that stipulation in place before the draw, and genuine Armagh supporters need to put hand up and say its only fair it's played at Corrigan....and let them watch it on TV for the day if they arnt one of 1780 Armagh season ticket holders (48% of their total)
lucky enough to draw one in an internal Armagh raffle.

Define a genuine Armagh supporter.
I'll take a shot at it.
Someone who never misses a game home or away in the National League Someone who arranges holidays to fit around championship games.
Someone, who, by the time the championship starts will be  £1000 down following Armagh.

Someone who went to Clones year after year to watch Armagh jn the noughties because that's were our games were played to accommodate the crowds. Oh and went to Croke Park to watch Ulster Finals.

Donegal people travelled to Croke Park too for an Ulster Final. No bitching from them.

Wind your necks in Antrim and move the game.

Shoe on other foot, you'll be happy to move?

Absolutely.
Played many games in Clones

You are happy to give up home advantage to Tyrone in the first round of the Ulster Championship, when you already have a home ground? When did this happen?
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 10, 2025, 01:59:18 PMYou are happy to give up home advantage to Tyrone in the first round of the Ulster Championship, when you already have a home ground? When did this happen?

As I said earlier I'm unsure of whether we were forced to switch this match or chose to.  However, there was nothing to stop the playing panel at that time digging their heels in and saying they wanted to play it in Crossmaglen which was a county ground and facilitated our league games during this time.

Of all counties to pick this line of argument with Armagh would be the last.

Yep - we didn't have a fit for purpose county ground for years in the noughties and had to play elsewhere.  League and championship two separate entities.

There must be  conflict going on in the minds of Antrim players at the minute.

These are the lads who've dedicated their young lives into trying to turn around the most underperforming team in Ireland.

Several generations before them have failed in this task and bar the very odd few, have disappeared into obscurity. "I played for Antrim for a few seasons" says he. "Never heard of you. Ah sure they're shite anyhow, a guide dog could make the Antrim team" says yer man back to him. And so on.

Today's panellists were handed a rare nitro boost. A championship match against the reigning AI champions. A place in the spotlight. Except now, none of them will have more than a few club mates in attendance to share in the pride. There'll be no children in attendance, so there's no need to be a role model. There'll be no neutrals in attendance to spread word of those fine young Antrim players. It'll be a small crowd of mostly family members and officials and it'll no more feel like a championship match than that friendly last year when Leitrim popped up for the day.

Some of them will still think they've won a battle by playing this game in Corrigan. But only those who don't understand what they're fighting for.

bannside

Condescending nonsense Wobbler. "Played for Antrim, never heard of him". Away on with you.

No conflict in the panel whatsoever is what's coming across loud and clear. Corrigan or nowhere, no matter what the consequences. Not one player will say anything otherwise so you can nip that in the bud right away.

Antrim players didn't create this problem and they arnt going to get pushed around on it either.

tiempo

Quote from: thewobbler on February 10, 2025, 02:26:06 PMThere must be  conflict going on in the minds of Antrim players at the minute.

These are the lads who've dedicated their young lives into trying to turn around the most underperforming team in Ireland.

Several generations before them have failed in this task and bar the very odd few, have disappeared into obscurity. "I played for Antrim for a few seasons" says he. "Never heard of you. Ah sure they're shite anyhow, a guide dog could make the Antrim team" says yer man back to him. And so on.

Today's panellists were handed a rare nitro boost. A championship match against the reigning AI champions. A place in the spotlight. Except now, none of them will have more than a few club mates in attendance to share in the pride. There'll be no children in attendance, so there's no need to be a role model. There'll be no neutrals in attendance to spread word of those fine young Antrim players. It'll be a small crowd of mostly family members and officials and it'll no more feel like a championship match than that friendly last year when Leitrim popped up for the day.

Some of them will still think they've won a battle by playing this game in Corrigan. But only those who don't understand what they're fighting for.

Thank you for making me laugh this Monday afternoon

Spiderlegs

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 10, 2025, 12:46:25 PM
Quote from: mackers on February 10, 2025, 11:50:34 AMJesus....you'd turn anything into a row.  You're making my point for me.  At least Kildare dug their heels in over a fixture that they were going to be competitive in.

I don't think its difficult to understand, Antrim were pulled out of the draw first, they get the home venue which seems ok for league fixtures both Div 1 hurling and Div 3 football, but now the Ulster council says its not going to allow it, due to other issues, not of Antrim's making.

So why did the Ulster council in the first place not have a rule in place for the likes of Antrim that if drawn first they will have to play in a neutral venue, as its been this way since the Ulster council fucked up Casement..

The Ulster council just can't mid stream start moving the goalposts, completely making things up as they go along, but sure it's only Antrim, they aint competitive and they'll do what they are told

They do, it's in the GAA rulebook

AustinPowers

Quote from: thewobbler on February 10, 2025, 02:26:06 PMThere must be  conflict going on in the minds of Antrim players at the minute.

How many neutrals  would go to championship  matches these days? (Some might go to  big games, provincial finals , AI series etc). 

It's expensive enough following your own county 

Quote from: mackers on February 10, 2025, 02:10:42 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 10, 2025, 01:59:18 PMYou are happy to give up home advantage to Tyrone in the first round of the Ulster Championship, when you already have a home ground? When did this happen?

As I said earlier I'm unsure of whether we were forced to switch this match or chose to.  However, there was nothing to stop the playing panel at that time digging their heels in and saying they wanted to play it in Crossmaglen which was a county ground and facilitated our league games during this time.

Yes, both the original game and the replay were played in Clones, despite Armagh being the home team. This is because Armagh did not have adequate facilities at the time. Didn't stop them winning the All Ireland.

Next time they had a home game was 2005, both the Ulster preliminary and quarter final. Both played in Clones, a mile away from the Fermanagh border who were one of their opponents!

Antrim have backed themselves into a corner, completely unnecessarily.

ClubScene13

Quote from: Armaghtothebone on February 10, 2025, 01:21:47 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on February 09, 2025, 02:26:39 PM
Quote from: Armaghtothebone on February 09, 2025, 02:22:46 PM
Quote from: bannside on February 09, 2025, 01:57:23 PMGive me one single reason Antrim management or players would even contemplate playing this game if its not at Corrigan?

So that people who never miss a single Armagh game all year can get to see it.
Hard to bate a bandwagon crowd. No word of half of them a few years ago

As others seem to be using the BS term I'll use it too.
Was I and many other season  ticket holders jumping on a bandwagon last year  in Carlow ( look it up if you don't know what I'm talking about)

Not much bandwagon  in Cork either for a dead rubber at the end of the league but we were there.
Same faces at every game.

If they want to cut out the ba bandwagon jumpers then allocate the tickets starting with those who have held their season tickets longest. Not a chance the GAA will do anything as sensible as that.

How can I be like you?

There are few whinier people out there than Armagh season ticket holders.
Just play the game in Corrigan.

Sportacus

Quote from: RedHand88 on February 10, 2025, 03:22:38 PM
Quote from: mackers on February 10, 2025, 02:10:42 PM

Yes, both the original game and the replay were played in Clones, despite Armagh being the home team. This is because Armagh did not have adequate facilities at the time. Didn't stop them winning the All Ireland.

Next time they had a home game was 2005, both the Ulster preliminary and quarter final. Both played in Clones, a mile away from the Fermanagh border who were one of their opponents!

Antrim have backed themselves into a corner, completely unnecessarily.
I'd think they're very content in their corner, and having a fair laugh at all the whinging. 

Gaelic man

Ulster council are making it clear that money means more than the game worried about a few quid if Antrim where playing Fermanagh cavan etc.. the game would be played no issue if it was a problem before the draw why didn't they make it clear Antrim would play away from home before anyone was drew out of the hat.

Sportacus

Quote from: Gealic man on February 10, 2025, 04:06:37 PMUlster council are making it clear that money means more than the game worried about a few quid if Antrim where playing Fermanagh cavan etc.. the game would be played no issue if it was a problem before the draw why didn't they make it clear Antrim would play away from home before anyone was drew out of the hat.
The absolute fundamental point in the whole saga. Staggering incompetence again from the Ulster Council.