Giving up alcohol

Started by Would ye whist, July 24, 2024, 11:48:11 AM

Whitey reckons 50 euro for a few pints 3 or 4 nights a week?   What shop are you drinking in? I need to go there.

Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on August 19, 2024, 05:04:55 PMWhitey reckons 50 euro for a few pints 3 or 4 nights a week?   What shop are you drinking in? I need to go there.

He hasn't a f**king clue that lad. He'll be along in a bit to tell us about some mate that goes out drinking for that 7 nights. A pure spoofer.

Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on August 19, 2024, 05:04:55 PMWhitey reckons 50 euro for a few pints 3 or 4 nights a week?   What shop are you drinking in? I need to go there.
whats a pint now in euro in a country pub? €5 or €5.50?

Could do 2 pints twice a week and 3 pints twice a week, ten pints roughly €50 so hardly an outrageous claim in fairness.

Quote from: Armagh18 on August 19, 2024, 06:02:37 PM
whats a pint now in euro in a country pub? €5 or €5.50?

Could do 2 pints twice a week and 3 pints twice a week, ten pints roughly €50 so hardly an outrageous claim in fairness.

Grand if you live next door to the pub or in it, not grand if paying taxis or for your liver.
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: thebigfella on August 19, 2024, 05:57:28 PM

He hasn't a f**king clue that lad. He'll be along in a bit to tell us about some mate that goes out drinking for that 7 nights. A pure spoofer.

I picked an arbitrary number for a modest drinker-10 pints per week

There's no scientifically correct or incorrect answer

If you wanted to save €100 or €200 per week there's nothing stopping you

samuel maguire

It would be closer to £200 a week easily and that is not an exaggeration.
The time you drink a few pints, maybe a taxi, pay entry into a bar, onto the halfins, a takeaway etc.
Scary really when you think of it like that.
Even a few midweek pints turns into £50 quid by the time you drink 6/7 pints and maybe back a horse or 2.

For any of you who like to hear other people success stories-this guy is absolutely brilliant

https://youtube.com/@stevencurry215?si=WHGkeadpaLO2WggI

Dry January starting on Monday.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2025, 05:03:24 PMDry January starting on Monday.

January is a miserable month to be off it lol! Good luck, friend of mine has been doing Dry January for 15 years

Did it once, hated it, been doing different months these last few years, did sober October there and threw in a diet plan with it, February probably the best month😉
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 04, 2025, 05:12:24 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2025, 05:03:24 PMDry January starting on Monday.

January is a miserable month to be off it lol! Good luck, friend of mine has been doing Dry January for 15 years

Did it once, hated it, been doing different months these last few years, did sober October there and threw in a diet plan with it, February probably the best month😉
It'll be a chore alright but I think I've had 2 nights with no alcohol since finishing work the Friday before Christmas! I'll have more tonight and tomorrow night too  ;D

Almost 2 months alcohol free, something I never thought would ever happen. Was an almost daily social drinker for maybe the last 10 years.

Spontaneously one day just decided it was time for a break. I had a lot of fun for a long time - a great run, but am looking forward to the next chapter. Have no real desire to pick it back up again. There are a lot of great NA options out there if I feel the need socially. Still going to the casino for cards, still going to the bar for pool.

Good luck to anyone doing Dry January and to anyone who feels at all like they are struggling with alcohol in any way at all, there is a great life beyond it.

Thanksgiving and Christmas were the 2 periods I was wondering if I would have a desire. Thanksgiving came and went no issues. Christmas I had been squirrelling away nice wines all year for the holiday and a nice Christmas dinner.

Decided against a traditional Christmas dinner - went out for sushi instead.

Good lad Puck. If you're 2 months in then you'll probably never go back. I think I'd miss a nice wine with a meal or the odd pint at the club. The vast majority of my drinking is in the house so if I get past January I may knock all the house drinking on the head and save it for special occasions. Heading to Cork with some lads in Feb so not the time to be quitting entirely!

Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2025, 05:41:40 PMGood lad Puck. If you're 2 months in then you'll probably never go back. I think I'd miss a nice wine with a meal or the odd pint at the club. The vast majority of my drinking is in the house so if I get past January I may knock all the house drinking on the head and save it for special occasions. Heading to Cork with some lads in Feb so not the time to be quitting entirely!

This was a big concern for me. The thought of not sitting with my Dad for that first pint of stout back home was a hard one to mentally say goodbye to. But that's all it is, is mental.

Good Luck Tony!

The Non alcoholic stuff is great to be fair, I'd some of the 0.0 Guinness, while not the same it does allow you that feeling, the Peroni one is pretty decent too, so the social aspect can still happen..

Oh and if you like Gin, Gordon's non alcoholic was grand too

Mate at our Christmas do had 4 pints of Guinness 0.0, how he could be bothered I'll never know. After a big feed of Turkey & Ham and dessert too, like a days work