Started by general_lee, September 16, 2024, 11:37:31 AM

statto

Quote from: Armagh18 on November 18, 2024, 08:42:36 AM
Quote from: statto on November 18, 2024, 08:29:45 AM
Quote from: ONeill on November 17, 2024, 10:39:47 PMCE will beat EC
KC will beat ST

KC will beat CE.
CE v Errigal was very much a 50/50 game for me but the 5 lads being away in Miami to me has tipped the scales in favour of Errigal. Kilcoo will be looking to put right the defeat to Scotstown last year really a toss of a coin that one. 
Irrelevant. Still toss of a coin.

It's a distraction CE could have done without.  Partying for a week, poor sleep, poor nutrition, focus elsewhere, jet lag I think it is relevant. Who will be better prepared for the match Errigals top 5 players or Clann Eireanns?  I still think it will be close and would have fancied CE to edge it if the game was  next week, in these games small margins can be decisive. 

Saw them in a photo and was a bit surprised myself. They'll hardly be on the lash but still not great prep. Home yesterday?

Quote from: AustinPowers on November 17, 2024, 11:50:38 PM
Quote from: Rois on November 17, 2024, 10:23:33 PMClann Eireann ladies won Ulster today. Has a double ever been done?

Slaughtneil did the  treble, hurling football and camogs
Hurling is easy though. If you're unlucky you might have to play a semifinal.

They'll be looking after themselves and get a couple of training sessions in. Not ideal obviously but they were never going to miss a holiday like that.

Quote from: statto on November 18, 2024, 08:49:33 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 18, 2024, 08:42:36 AM
Quote from: statto on November 18, 2024, 08:29:45 AM
Quote from: ONeill on November 17, 2024, 10:39:47 PMCE will beat EC
KC will beat ST

KC will beat CE.
CE v Errigal was very much a 50/50 game for me but the 5 lads being away in Miami to me has tipped the scales in favour of Errigal. Kilcoo will be looking to put right the defeat to Scotstown last year really a toss of a coin that one. 
Irrelevant. Still toss of a coin.

It's a distraction CE could have done without.  Partying for a week, poor sleep, poor nutrition, focus elsewhere, jet lag I think it is relevant. Who will be better prepared for the match Errigals top 5 players or Clann Eireanns?  I still think it will be close and would have fancied CE to edge it if the game was  next week, in these games small margins can be decisive. 
I agree it's fine margins at this level and even something as minor as being away from the rest of your club mates for a week's training ahead of an Ulster semifinal is far from helpful.

One or two players is manageable but a third of the starting team... I'm sure it's difficult to adjust training when 5 of your big hitters are away on a jolly. You'd imagine whatever prep work for EC the management had planned for training was basically redundant until they came back.

I think this swings things ever so slightly in EC's favour.

WT4E

Quote from: Armagh18 on November 18, 2024, 09:50:30 AMThey'll be looking after themselves and get a couple of training sessions in. Not ideal obviously but they were never going to miss a holiday like that.

I remember back in the noughties when Tyrone had a good few trips away after winning AI that there was a cash equivalent on offer for anyone who didn't go. I Know some availed of it due to club commitments. Not saying that's the right thing but wondering is it an option? I say this from a perspective that football has gotten too serious and players should enjoy themselves more so fair play to them for going.

Quote from: WT4E on November 18, 2024, 09:59:10 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 18, 2024, 09:50:30 AMThey'll be looking after themselves and get a couple of training sessions in. Not ideal obviously but they were never going to miss a holiday like that.

I remember back in the noughties when Tyrone had a good few trips away after winning AI that there was a cash equivalent on offer for anyone who didn't go. I Know some availed of it due to club commitments. Not saying that's the right thing but wondering is it an option? I say this from a perspective that football has gotten too serious and players should enjoy themselves more so fair play to them for going.

as a CE man id rather they didnt go but at the same time I dont begrudge them. If that makes sesne

Quote from: tonto1888 on November 18, 2024, 10:50:34 AM

as a CE man id rather they didnt go but at the same time I dont begrudge them. If that makes sesne

Could they have went after their involvement? Not that i'd be against what they did, but 5 lads going from the one club would have been decent craic anyways without the rest at a later time
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Does surely.  Hampers preparation of course, but you know these lads will be fully focused on the day. It would have been a shame for them to lose out. I'm glad they were able to make it work.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 18, 2024, 11:58:55 AM

Could they have went after their involvement? Not that i'd be against what they did, but 5 lads going from the one club would have been decent craic anyways without the rest at a later time

no idea. I dont think Andy Murnin went at all

Quote from: lurganblue on November 18, 2024, 12:22:01 PM

Does surely.  Hampers preparation of course, but you know these lads will be fully focused on the day. It would have been a shame for them to lose out. I'm glad they were able to make it work.

hard to prep with a third of the team missing

Quote from: tonto1888 on November 18, 2024, 12:37:48 PM

Heard that was not through want of going, but you know what Lurgan is like for rumours. Unfortunate for the lad, if true.

Quote from: lurganblue on November 18, 2024, 12:50:54 PM

Heard that was not through want of going, but you know what Lurgan is like for rumours. Unfortunate for the lad, if true.

aye, 2 rumours for every story ffs. Definitely unfortunate for him

Quote from: tonto1888 on November 18, 2024, 02:31:13 PM

Yeah i heard the cub didn't make it thru border control. I'm sure Armagh will give him an alternative.
If the 5 players were back yesterday then they've all week to prepare and get any crap outta their systems. Be grand hi.

You cant begrudge them their holidays and always put yourself in their shoes to which very few would turn that down, it's the same scenario when guys go to Australia/America or when County players can't play for their clubs there is always someone to ridicule them.

ElJeffe

Quote from: illdecide on November 18, 2024, 07:46:17 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on November 18, 2024, 02:31:13 PM

Yeah i heard the cub didn't make it thru border control. I'm sure Armagh will give him an alternative.
If the 5 players were back yesterday then they've all week to prepare and get any crap outta their systems. Be grand hi.

You cant begrudge them their holidays and always put yourself in their shoes to which very few would turn that down, it's the same scenario when guys go to Australia/America or when County players can't play for their clubs there is always someone to ridicule them.

What happened ? Has he a prior conviction ?