Kneecap...

Started by Captain Scarlet, August 17, 2024, 04:22:09 PM

Lads I am in a minority thinking these lads are just good marketing? Or just me unable to warm to them...

The songs are grand with lots of English lyrics.

They have a lot of fans in my work who are middle class types who also love Blindboy...

Like any younger lads here or lads with kids who are into them?

Not sure if there has been a thread before...

Bogman

Tomorrow is not guaranteed

Quote from: Captain Scarlet on August 17, 2024, 04:22:09 PMLads I am in a minority thinking these lads are just good marketing? Or just me unable to warm to them...

The songs are grand with lots of English lyrics.

They have a lot of fans in my work who are middle class types who also love Blindboy...

Like any younger lads here or lads with kids who are into them?

Not sure if there has been a thread before...
Honestly haven't listened to their stuff, but they're promoting Irish language and learning about our history etc which can only be a good thing. The film is meant to be excellent as well so fair play to them.

THey're a bit hit and miss, but the good stuff is really good.

They're superb. And the film is excellent

Some of the songs are very cleverly done, both lyrically and musically. Not sure they'll ever win too many awards or be massively commercially successful, but doubt they care either.

They come across very well in any interviews I've ever seen with them. They're no dopes.

Fair play to them.

Going to watch the movie next week. Was never much into rap so I'll leave comments on the music to others but as the man above said fair play to them.

Brendan

Listen to Radio 1 quite alot and they get alot of plays on there considering the very niche genre. They pissed off the tories which is good also

Harold Disgracey

I'm in my fifties and I think they're great. The film is excellent too.

Quote from: Harold Disgracey on August 17, 2024, 08:40:43 PMI'm in my fifties and I think they're great. The film is excellent too.

Not quite as old but I agree. Roll on December 21st

Truthsayer

Most exciting and innovative Irish group since Horslips.

Dag Dog

Have these boyos jumped the shark?
I don't think they'll last much longer with their cheering of Hamas and Hezbollah.
The Israelis usually get their man!

Quote from: Dag Dog on April 26, 2025, 01:32:46 PMHave these boyos jumped the shark?
I don't think they'll last much longer with their cheering of Hamas and Hezbollah.

No confirmation that their visas have been revoked as yet.

All their gigs are sold out too so might be a while yet before they jump the shark. They could have pulled back on the rhetoric given the risks involved but they're sticking with it.

Will be interesting ti see how it all plays out. The outrage over what Israel are doing seems to have died down and is fading into the background so fair play to them making it front and centre again!

I just don't get it.

Quote from: Dag Dog on April 26, 2025, 01:32:46 PMHave these boyos jumped the shark?

Fair play to them calling out Israel, but doing it in the US isn't ideal for career longevity.