Armagh v Kerry

Started by illdecide, July 01, 2024, 09:29:34 AM

The Trap

If you watched derry v kerry you would hardly go to this one........Will be the same again.

tiempo

Quote from: The Trap on July 01, 2024, 01:33:40 PMIf you watched derry v kerry you would hardly go to this one........Will be the same again.

That assumes Armagh will play for a low scoring slugfest similar to Derry, while they have been involved in a few of these games I don't think it's Geezers go-to, I think he'll have looked at that yesterday as an opportunity to get tore into Kerry. Armagh need to get the game to boiling point as quickly as possible and keep it there for as long as possible

tyrone08

Quote from: tiempo on July 01, 2024, 02:10:28 PM
Quote from: The Trap on July 01, 2024, 01:33:40 PMIf you watched derry v kerry you would hardly go to this one........Will be the same again.

That assumes Armagh will play for a low scoring slugfest similar to Derry, while they have been involved in a few of these games I don't think it's Geezers go-to, I think he'll have looked at that yesterday as an opportunity to get tore into Kerry. Armagh need to get the game to boiling point as quickly as possible and keep it there for as long as possible

High risk strategy. Armagh might not be as lucky and get away with as much off the ball stuff that derry got away with.

Estimator

Quote from: tyrone08 on July 01, 2024, 02:12:13 PM

High risk strategy. Armagh might not be as lucky and get away with as much off the ball stuff that derry got away with.

Kerry were no angels yesterday in the off the ball stuff. And at times the main instigators. It was definitely like for like from where I was sitting. Prime example was O'Connor, who couldn't wait to get stuck into Derry lads that were in his proximity. Obviously they seen McFaul as a weak link in terms of discipline, he was targeted throughout, late hits, pushing/shoving - usual craic.

But Kerry will hope that this narrative, about the rowdy northerners coming down to rough up St David and St Paudie of Fossa, continues into next week.

There'll be concerted effort from the Kerry lads in the media to highlight the treatment of their players by the dirty lads from the north. Especially when they are going to be up against a bigger, more physical side in Armagh.

Their articles, podcasts and interviews in the next fortnight will be an attempt to sway a referee decision here and there. Might get the ref to spot a little jersey holding in the full forward line, when the ref is standing in midfield.. that sort of stuff.
Ulster League Champions 2009

Which is why Armagh have to keep their discipline. It is 70 minutes with a final at the end of it, so no pointless fouls, no slabbering getting frees moved up etc. Make your point on the scoreboard.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Quote from: Armagh18 on July 01, 2024, 01:23:25 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on July 01, 2024, 01:11:55 PMI'm surprised that they put us on in a double header with Down involved in the curtain raiser. There will be huge traffic issues on the M1 again the next day as I don't see too many from Armagh not travelling up since it's our biggest game in years.
Be some day to be a burglar around Armagh, every orangeman woman and child will be out of the house for one reason or another.

How long will it take you to get from Kerry to Croke Park on Saturday 13th.
Likely to be issues around the trains from Lurgan/Portadown as think there is a big day in Scarva for the other orangemen.

That plus the Down ones travelling too will leave it a shit show.

Quote from: naka on July 01, 2024, 01:32:32 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 01, 2024, 01:25:27 PMAre there not railway line issues going on too?
line closed between belfast and newry on 13th
Buckfast brigade will have to get buses so. ;)

Quote from: joemamas on July 01, 2024, 03:17:32 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on July 01, 2024, 01:23:25 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on July 01, 2024, 01:11:55 PMI'm surprised that they put us on in a double header with Down involved in the curtain raiser. There will be huge traffic issues on the M1 again the next day as I don't see too many from Armagh not travelling up since it's our biggest game in years.
Be some day to be a burglar around Armagh, every orangeman woman and child will be out of the house for one reason or another.

How long will it take you to get from Kerry to Croke Park on Saturday 13th.
Likely to be issues around the trains from Lurgan/Portadown as think there is a big day in Scarva for the other orangemen.

That plus the Down ones travelling too will leave it a shit show.
Stop replying to me you dose of shite.

5times5times

Any word on tickets yet?

Quote from: Estimator on July 01, 2024, 02:54:08 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on July 01, 2024, 02:12:13 PM

Kerry were no angels yesterday in the off the ball stuff. And at times the main instigators. It was definitely like for like from where I was sitting. Prime example was O'Connor, who couldn't wait to get stuck into Derry lads that were in his proximity. Obviously they seen McFaul as a weak link in terms of discipline, he was targeted throughout, late hits, pushing/shoving - usual craic.

But Kerry will hope that this narrative, about the rowdy northerners coming down to rough up St David and St Paudie of Fossa, continues into next week.

There'll be concerted effort from the Kerry lads in the media to highlight the treatment of their players by the dirty lads from the north. Especially when they are going to be up against a bigger, more physical side in Armagh.

Their articles, podcasts and interviews in the next fortnight will be an attempt to sway a referee decision here and there. Might get the ref to spot a little jersey holding in the full forward line, when the ref is standing in midfield.. that sort of stuff.

There is a lot of sanctimony involved with Kerry media and fans. The thought that a 6 foot 2 95 kilos David Clifford is getting a bit of roughhouse treatment off the ball is comical. He is no stranger to a bit of needle himself but they think that opponents should just roll over and have their tummies tickled. Its part of the reason why I think Donaghy might step aside for 2 weeks because we have to be ready to go to war with them in order to have a chance and I'm not sure he can bring that while coming up against his ex team mates. 

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 01, 2024, 10:18:16 AMKerry only broke away from a very poor Derry and over reliant on one player to get scores..

Is it a confidence thing or man for man Kerry have a better team?

Clifford was fairly held for most of that game, barring a great mark he wasn't great

Armagh have opened teams up plenty this year, just grow a set and go for it, this hanging in there to keep the score down is brutal to watch

Kerry overreliant on one player?
Kerry have had about 15 different scorers from play in the last 4 games with no one player scoring more than 10% of that total.

tyrone08

Kerry are no angel's but that's the way they are portrayed in the media. I did think watching it that derry were the offenders the majority of the time. Dropping the knees into clifford, mcfaul couldnt walk past a kerry player withour pushing or mouthing at them et etc.

Armaghs reputation rightly or wrongly wouldnt be the best. They will need to keep their heads and avoid any early yellow cards

Quote from: tyrone08 on July 01, 2024, 03:34:08 PMKerry are no angel's but that's the way they are portrayed in the media. I did think watching it that derry were the offenders the majority of the time. Dropping the knees into clifford, mcfaul couldnt walk past a kerry player withour pushing or mouthing at them et etc.

Armaghs reputation rightly or wrongly wouldnt be the best. They will need to keep their heads and avoid any early yellow cards
Yeah it wouldnt be the best and we obviously don't help ourselves with getting involved in the handbags shit from a few years ago and like Tyrone we'll not take a step back if that starts.

Kerry are every bit as bad though no matter what the media would tell you!

Quote from: Armagh18 on July 01, 2024, 03:48:58 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on July 01, 2024, 03:34:08 PMKerry are no angel's but that's the way they are portrayed in the media. I did think watching it that derry were the offenders the majority of the time. Dropping the knees into clifford, mcfaul couldnt walk past a kerry player withour pushing or mouthing at them et etc.

Yeah it wouldnt be the best and we obviously don't help ourselves with getting involved in the handbags shit from a few years ago and like Tyrone we'll not take a step back if that starts.

If you have a reputation as an early riser then you can stay in bed until noon. The last couple of years the Armagh discipline has been as good as everyone else, but people recall Kelly getting stuck into Galway or the rumble after the Tyrone game three years ago.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Quote from: armaghniac on July 01, 2024, 04:01:18 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on July 01, 2024, 03:48:58 PM

If you have a reputation as an early riser then you can stay in bed until noon. The last couple of years the Armagh discipline has been as good as everyone else, but people recall Kelly getting stuck into Galway or the rumble after the Tyrone game three years ago.
Absolutely. But not a word about the Kerry boys rowing with Louth!