Who will win the 2024 Ulster title

Donegal
27 (56.3%)
Armagh
21 (43.8%)

Total Members Voted: 48

Voting closed: April 27, 2024, 08:54:31 PM

Mikhailov

The dive by Jarly Og was embarrassing to say the least and Armagh get an easy free moved closer after Donegal dispute the referee decision.

Quote from: Mikhailov on May 13, 2024, 01:29:58 PMThe dive by Jarly Og was embarrassing to say the least and Armagh get an easy free moved closer after Donegal dispute the referee decision.

Haven't seen any highlight yet but looked fairly dramatic anyway.

The foul by Rian that he got booked for looked very soft but again would need to see replay.

Quote from: statto on May 13, 2024, 12:55:50 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 13, 2024, 11:51:11 AM
Quote from: general_lee on May 13, 2024, 11:00:56 AMIf there's a silver-lining to yesterday's performance it's that Armagh put on an exhibition on why the attacking mark should be ditched. Such a stupid rule.

Odd take. I think the attacking mark works. I also don't know why you would get rid of it because 2 Armagh players didn't have a shot.
Why does it work? It stops players from taking a man on and the art of 1 v 1 defending in many instances. I think the general concensus would be that the majority would like to see a player take his man on as that is what gets punters off their seats, not someone being able to take a free shot at goal or worse slow down the attack then kick it back. 

It does not stop that, you can still take a man on and many teams do. It does stop a man catching a long ball in and getting swamped by 3 defenders and getting turned over.

Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 13, 2024, 01:18:06 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on May 13, 2024, 10:16:19 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 12, 2024, 06:40:40 PMArmagh fold again on Penalties, Why was Rian O'Neil taken off. Awful way to lose a game. Some Armagh supporters argue that's that a draw! 4 point up with 20 mins to go, Armagh went bck into their shell instead pushing on.
This time Armagh did not fold, good save to win it. Rian couldn't walk at full time, physio was working on him he had run out of gas. Why Oisin doesn't start or come in earlier is a mystery. But Donaghy telling Jarly Og to recycle a mark that was scoreable  points to a mindset that leads to losing games. Twice at least they had the game won and then stopped doing what was working for them. Players running into dead ends and not taking opportunities points to that  same mindset. Something needs to change, if not McGeeney then the back room. They need a change of direction. Some incredible scores yesterday from both teams, fair play Donegal they found a a way.

Folding in penalty shootout not sure about that however game was certainly there to be won by Armagh in normal time and extra time and will look back on that with much regret.

I thought the last two Armagh penalties weren't good ones.  Patton unlucky he didn't save one before he did save one to win the shoot out.  By that stage it was coming down to fellas that didn't want to take penalties.

Fellas that didn't want to take penalties? It was the same people taking them. That's one rule which needs to change

Quote from: Itchy on May 13, 2024, 01:36:59 PM
Quote from: general_lee on May 13, 2024, 11:00:56 AMIf there's a silver-lining to yesterday's performance it's that Armagh put on an exhibition on why the attacking mark should be ditched. Such a stupid rule.

Odd take. I think the attacking mark works. I also don't know why you would get rid of it because 2 Armagh players didn't have a shot.
Why does it work? It stops players from taking a man on and the art of 1 v 1 defending in many instances. I think the general concensus would be that the majority would like to see a player take his man on as that is what gets punters off their seats, not someone being able to take a free shot at goal or worse slow down the attack then kick it back. 

It does not stop that, you can still take a man on and many teams do. It does stop a man catching a long ball in and getting swamped by 3 defenders and getting turned over.

You might well be the only person in Ireland who's in favour of the forward mark.

Yeah, that five penalty takers on repeat rule is ridiculous.

What's the rationale anyway? To be different from soccer?

Then you end up with poor Armagh lad who missed twice against Monaghan last year.

It's cruel sending a lad who already missed up again.

It's a terrible rule. Doesn't encourage high fielding or long kicking. It slows the game down whenever it's used. It's shite.

Quote from: J70 on May 13, 2024, 01:43:45 PMYeah, that five penalty takers on repeat rule is ridiculous.

Then you end up with poor Armagh lad who missed twice against Monaghan last year.

Yes that's it,  taking one penalty is more than enough for fellas to take. When copying another sport to decide matches it should be copied fully.

Quote from: thewobbler on May 13, 2024, 01:41:49 PM

You might well be the only person in Ireland who's in favour of the forward mark.

I doubt it since it was voted in at Congress. However I do have a mind of my own and i think unfortunately we have a sheep mentality in GAA where everyone is against everything. People forget what it was like before the rule came in.

OakLeaf

Quote from: square_ball on May 13, 2024, 12:50:59 PMThat's both his and Campbells in the one play. Campbell had missed a slightly easier one by a country mile earlier in the 2nd half.

https://x.com/cahairokane1/status/1789950367871947054?s=46

Were either of those marks 20m from the point where the ball was kicked, to where it was caught? I'm not a fan of the forward mark either.

Quote from: J70 on May 13, 2024, 01:43:45 PMYeah, that five penalty takers on repeat rule is ridiculous.

Callum comiskey. Not on the panel this year and I wonder if that had anything to do with it. Not that anyone from Armagh put any blame on him

Armagh hadnt scored in the 15 mins before that. And tbh hadn't had many chances that they missed during that period AFAIR either so makes it even more hard to comprehend why they didn't have a go at one of those.

Quote from: lurganblue on May 13, 2024, 11:57:05 AM
Quote from: yellowcard on May 13, 2024, 11:07:28 AM
Quote from: pbat on May 13, 2024, 10:55:45 AMThe talk of Jarly Og's mark is a red herring, if Jarly was given a bag of O Neills and stood on that spot in Clones till next Sunday he wouldn't have make that kick. Soup should have had a pop at his , but again he had just missed a similar one so he maybe didnt feel good about it. A wild wide and handing back procession to Patton was not the right option. When Conaty dropped short was a turning point I feel,he should have recycled, maybe bit of inexperience but the lad had a great game other than that and his wide at the last.

Very harsh and don't agree with that at all, Jarly Og is well capable of kicking a ball over the bar from 35-40m on the correct side of the pitch given his kicking style. If that was the case he shouldn't have bothered calling the mark in the first instance. I don't particularly like the rule to begin with but it is there to be taken advantage of where spaces in defence are tight in the closing stages of games.

It's a sad indictment of gaelic football that some people think a ball should be recycled backwards from a shooting position inside the 45m line and that they can't trust a player to have a shot at the posts. Playing the low risk percentages might be part of the reason why we can't see out these matches, its a fear mindset.   

I'm not so sure that he is. Jarly óg falls into the category of players we have that IMO are told to not shoot unless it's almost a certainty. You can see it in our build up play.  Quite a few of our lads are not going to attempt to threaten the scoreboard (in certain positions) and I'm sure the opposition know this too.

He's a natural midfielder and was an Allstar nominee 2 years ago along with Soupy. If supporters can't trust top players to take a free kick at goals 35-40 metres out but rather that he kick it backwards then we have simply become conditioned to a risk free, low percentage game. At what point do we roll the dice, when we are 70, 80 or 90% certain of a score. Nobody is criticising Kelly or McPartland this morning for missing big kicks, that's just part of the game. No guts no glory. 

statto

Any player worth their salt that catches the ball within 30/35 yards is going to take a free shot at the posts in the majority of circumstances.  The only reason you maybe wouldn't if chasing a game looking and need a goal. 

Quote from: statto on May 13, 2024, 02:57:55 PM

Any player worth their salt that catches the ball within 30/35 yards is going to take a free shot at the posts in the majority of circumstances.  The only reason you maybe wouldn't if chasing a game looking and need a goal. 
Just watched jarly og and soupys marks back and to be fair I think Jarlys would have been scorable but not easy for a free taker which he certainly is not. My issue with his is why take the mark at all, you've got the ball in a decent postion try to take a man on and work something. Soupys was on the wrong side for a right footed player.