East wall #Irelandisfull

Started by Truth hurts, January 04, 2023, 11:06:41 AM

Quote from: burdizzo on January 21, 2024, 03:21:43 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on January 21, 2024, 03:12:06 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on January 21, 2024, 02:57:13 PM
Quote from: ThomasMullan on January 21, 2024, 01:13:24 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on January 21, 2024, 01:08:02 PMSo, do you think we should take anyone and everyone? And who should pay for it?

The Irish state will pay for it.

Can any of the anti-refugee crowd on here tell me of one single negative impact that having refugees in Ireland has had on their lives?

So, for you there's no limit? And our tax money can pay for it all?

Yes - it IS harder to get a doctor's appointment, it IS harder to get a dental appointment, longer waiting times in A&E. Hotels are more expensive, schools are under pressure. These things affect me - I don't have anyone looking for a house at the moment, or student accommodation but, in time...

Besides all that, the more that come, the more and more our culture will be changed irrevocably. It has happened in other places, it will happen here, too. You may find it a wonderful thing living among strangers, but most people don't. Most people LIKE the feeling of being among people similar to them - and that includes the immigrants themselves.

You're absolutely delusional, you're nothing like the vast majority of folk on this island. Who would want to be a neighbour of hate filled racists? I can't think of any, well apart from people 'similar to them'.

Ha ha! Your child-like naivety is really sweet. Remember, pal, that the vast majority of people think we've taken is too many refugees already. You're the one who is deluded and, I'm afraid, bleating "racist, racist" to impress your far-left friends won't change that reality.

The hate will eat you up. The internet really isn't the friend you think it is

Eire90

Chainsaw-wielding man jumped out of van and threatened security guards at Dublin 4 building earmarked for migrants
Violence and intimidation outside such buildings in the capital being investigated as 'domestic terror'

Quote from: Armagh18 on January 21, 2024, 03:15:06 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on January 21, 2024, 03:12:06 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on January 21, 2024, 01:08:02 PMSo, do you think we should take anyone and everyone? And who should pay for it?

Can any of the anti-refugee crowd on here tell me of one single negative impact that having refugees in Ireland has had on their lives?

Yes - it IS harder to get a doctor's appointment, it IS harder to get a dental appointment, longer waiting times in A&E. Hotels are more expensive, schools are under pressure. These things affect me - I don't have anyone looking for a house at the moment, or student accommodation but, in time...

Besides all that, the more that come, the more and more our culture will be changed irrevocably. It has happened in other places, it will happen here, too. You may find it a wonderful thing living among strangers, but most people don't. Most people LIKE the feeling of being among people similar to them - and that includes the immigrants themselves.

You're absolutely delusional, you're nothing like the vast majority of folk on this island. Who would want to be a neighbour of hate filled racists? I can't think of any, well apart from people 'similar to them'. 
Is the bolded really that outrageous a statement

I'm struggling to work out what having a prod or taig or a Muslim living besides me has affected my life!

What have I lost out on, am I missing something?

ThomasMullan

How long did you have to wait for your last GP appointment Burdizzo from picking up the telephone? *Tell the truth now*

burdizzo

I see you trying to side-step answering my questions to you?

Oh well. In November I wanted to go to the doctor and I was given a date two weeks away. In the end, I went to another town.

Kidder81

Gareth O'Callaghan: Having concerns about housing asylum seekers is not being far-right

Irish Examiner

Does anyone in Government honestly know what's going on in Ireland anymore —particularly in the small towns where locals feel they are being betrayed by the politicians, and ignored when they ask a question? Or has this bunch of politicians lost the plot?

Just asking for a friend.

These questions came to mind as I watched reports from outside Racket Hall in Roscrea this week. Thosemaintaining an all-night vigil on a
perishing January night in temperatures that plunged below freezing clearly believe that they are not being heard.

The chilling words on a sign hanging from a tree close to the entrance to the hotel also scrawled on placards carried by some of the protestors, are becoming more common: "The Irish Gov Are Traitors". Strong words.

I have to tread carefully here, as I have already been accused of being far-right in comments I made recently.

Trust me, I am far from far-right, probably more just commonly sensible in my views, I like to think — something which those who can only see life from out there on the right will never understand.

Italian political scientist Noberto Bobbio argues that our attitudes towards status, rights, and opportunities are primarily what distinguish left-wing from right-wing on the political wavelength: "The left considers the key inequalities between people to be artificial and negative, which should be overcome by an active state, whereas the right believes that inequalities between people are natural and positive, and should be either defended or left alone by the state."

I neither believe in nor contribute to the theory that inequalities between people are natural or positive; to do so is nothing short of racist and intolerant.

I believe what is happening in Roscrea over this past week will in hindsight be seen as a catalyst for the direction that Government will be forced to take in relation to planning any future direct provision methods. Put another way, it has no choice.

These local protesters made it clear that there's no place outside the entrance to the 18th-century coach house hotel, a familiar landmark on the old Dublin to Limerick road, or anywhere in Roscrea for that matter, for far-right activists.

One group who turned up on Monday night were quickly sent packing.

Local protestor Noel Wright said what many people are afraid to say lest they are branded as far right: "We've already taken more than our share of refugees here in Roscrea, and now we are losing our only hotel."

No one wants to take on more than is manageable, a perfectly reasonable sentiment, and that goes for most towns.

Sadly, we are in danger of being tarred with the same brush if we speak out about situations that leave locals feeling uncomfortable, even fearing for their safety in some cases.

Unfortunately, the Taoiseach appears to be also sending out that message, to the point where if we shout enough is enough, then we are "anti-democratic." That is not the case in most towns around Ireland.

Integration Minister Roderic O'Gorman's refusal to visit Racket Hall to meet local protestors is an unfortunate decision.

If he is so passionate about his plans to house more immigrants, then locals have a right to know where these people are coming from, the reason they have come here, and what positive contributions they can hope to make to the local community once they have integrated.

According to the 2022 census, the population of Roscrea was 5,542.

The arrival of an additional reported 160 international protection applicants (IPAs) due to be housed at Racket Hall is a considerable number for a small town to integrate and care for, considering locals have said this week that they find it difficult to get doctor and dentist appointments.

There are eleven doctors and five dentists based in the town. Roscrea used to have 27 gardaí, now that number is as low as seven — except for last Monday when eight packed Garda vans carrying members of the public order unit arrived escorting a bus transporting 17 IPAs into Racket Hall. Members were "soft cap", meaning they weren't wearing helmets or body armour.

O'Gorman stated this week that his department expects that Ireland will see approximately 15,000 international protection applicants every year.

He said: "It is still a small number compared to the amounts that many other European countries provide asylum to, and it's also a small number in terms of a country of a population of 5m people."

What the minister is failing to acknowledge is that while this geographically beautiful and mostly-welcoming country might only have a population of 5m, local resources are at best stretched to breaking point.

The Taoiseach is now proposing to put together a special package to help areas under pressure because of Government efforts to house more immigrants.

But what about the already-existing pressures that these hard-pushed towns have had to cope with for years, their pleas falling on deaf ears, such as the need for extra schools, teachers, medical care, and support for an ageing population?

Considering the services that many Irish citizens are entitled to access, but find almost impossible to do so, the prospect of 15,000 asylum seekers arriving here every year is a number that our voluntary resource centres and support agencies couldn't imagine coping with in their wildest dreams — a fact that once again highlights the shocking disparity between what this Government believes is realistic, but what local residents and experts know for certain is not.

It's got nothing to do with far-right sentiments to say, in point of fact, that plans to fill our hotels, and other questionably-suitable locations, with almost 100,000 immigrants who will arrive here out of desperation or otherwise over the next five years, is no different to trying to reattach the engine of a passenger jet using Sellotape.

Quote from: whitey on January 21, 2024, 03:04:43 PM

Interesting question

How would you define the "anti refugee crowd"?

If someone wants immigration laws as they stand to be rigorously enforced are they "anti refugee"?

If someone thinks that applicants who have their Asylum claims denied should be deported....are they "anti refugee"?

Are you "anti refugee" if you live in a small village and hundreds of people are landed in on top of you with no consultation or additional resources ? (Keep in mind, if you had to apply for planning for a lot of these facilities, you'd be laughed out the door by the planning authorities!

Saying your own questions are interesting doesn't make them interesting.

I live in a small town that had 100 refugees "landed in on top of us". They were welcomed, encouraged to integrate, joined our sports club and some are working in our hotel and other budinesses. Only the "usual" moaning fucks, who would moan about something else if there were no refugees, complained. All 5 of them. Same 5 have never lifted a finger to do anything in the community, ever. By the way, in the south there are council grants for community improvements directly aimed at towns that are taking the brunt. Our local family resource centre also go more funding to help. You just don't have a clue if the reality of what's happening on the ground.

Here's an interesting question, what did the yanks think when a Paddy like you landed on their shores as an illegal emigrant?

ThomasMullan

Quote from: burdizzo on January 21, 2024, 06:23:09 PMI see you trying to side-step answering my questions to you?

Oh well. In November I wanted to go to the doctor and I was given a date two weeks away. In the end, I went to another town.

And are you putting your wait down to refugees in the area? Were there no refugees in the other town?

burdizzo

Quote from: ThomasMullan on January 21, 2024, 07:49:07 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on January 21, 2024, 06:23:09 PMI see you trying to side-step answering my questions to you?

And are you putting your wait down to refugees in the area? Were there no refugees in the other town?

Are you going to answer the questions I asked?

Quote from: Itchy on January 21, 2024, 07:06:03 PM
Quote from: whitey on January 21, 2024, 03:04:43 PM

Interesting question

How would you define the "anti refugee crowd"?

If someone wants immigration laws as they stand to be rigorously enforced are they "anti refugee"?

If someone thinks that applicants who have their Asylum claims denied should be deported....are they "anti refugee"?

Are you "anti refugee" if you live in a small village and hundreds of people are landed in on top of you with no consultation or additional resources ? (Keep in mind, if you had to apply for planning for a lot of these facilities, you'd be laughed out the door by the planning authorities!

Saying your own questions are interesting doesn't make them interesting.

I live in a small town that had 100 refugees "landed in on top of us". They were welcomed, encouraged to integrate, joined our sports club and some are working in our hotel and other budinesses. Only the "usual" moaning fucks, who would moan about something else if there were no refugees, complained. All 5 of them. Same 5 have never lifted a finger to do anything in the community, ever. By the way, in the south there are council grants for community improvements directly aimed at towns that are taking the brunt. Our local family resource centre also go more funding to help. You just don't have a clue if the reality of what's happening on the ground.

Here's an interesting question, what did the yanks think when a Paddy like you landed on their shores as an illegal emigrant?

I said HIS question was interesting not mine

(Been legal since day 1-background check, letter guaranteeing a job and believe it or not in the early 90s you needed an AIDS test in addition to chest X-rays to prove you didn't have TB. And the "Yanks" I was landed to were my second cousins and live in a metro area with close to 9,000,000 residents)

So anyone not in favor of open borders and in favor of enforcing the law  is "anti refugee" by your book. Fair enough

Think he said a Paddy like you, as I've said I know a few illegals there..

Hopefully you don't rat them out ;) 

What's that Yank blubbering about "open borders"?

ThomasMullan

Are there no women in Donegal or what's the story?

This lad needs 'the ride' and he needs it yesterday.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=bcuB225ALxI

Eire90

i think he has a wife and kids so i persume hes riding